We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Hushu South Road, Gongshu District, Hangzhou 310006, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #5 of 1,968 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed for three nights in a very nice and extremely spacious Executive room at this very good hotel. The staff in the Executive Lounge were very efficient and helpful. Both our room and the lounge had a good view towards West Lake and the attractive scenery beyond.

The new metro has a station very close to the hotel. The metro was due to open on the day we arrived and would have been very useful but the opening was put back, so we had to walk or rely on taxis. We had no problems with this. No doubt the metro will soon open and provide a new way of reaching West Lake.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    74
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
25
7
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here 3 nights and it was very good. Rooms are nice and comfortable. The one think which I found best, are The people working there; they all offer great service!
For that, I would book this hotel again.

Breakfastbuffet is excellent with lots of choice and Freek food.
Diner buffet is good, but I found it à bit overpriced.
The gym is good with à good sauna and steambath which are open until 23.00

I would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for three nights here for business and was disappointed with this hotel. The rooms are very comfortable, although slightly tired compared to some of the other big chains I've stayed at in China. There are no services in the hotel (ATM, Sundries store etc). You need to leave the hotel and walk around to the back. As a female traveler I did not feel comfortable doing that at night. Also, no security, just a lot of staff milling around looking busy doing nothing.
The Steak and Seafood restaurant ran out of shrimp and lobster and we had to ask several times for bread. The lobby bar (as well as the Steak and Seafood restaurant) did not know how to make a vodka martini. Unless the drink was on the fruity martini menu they looked dumbstruck as to how to make it. The coffee shop served basic food which was fine, the service, if you order a la carte, was very, very slow. The staff tried their best, but really, it's a three star hotel, not a 5 star as proclaimed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

J.W Marriott is a well known hotel chain in Hangzhou the hotel went one step ahead of other western hotels in China by offering the business travel a full western experience with almost no touch of local culture, architecture and food.
It hosts one of the best restaurants in Hangzhou with an exclusive menu of gourmet dishes.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was my third time staying at the JW Marriott in Hangzhou. It is a great experience all around. The staff is excellent and caters to any of your needs. The club lounge is nice with a great selection of food and drinks along with a great staff. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. They even noticed my birthday while I was there and provided a complimentary bottle of wine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Nothing but good things to report here. Hotel was excellent. Service was excellent. Gym was big and new. Room was great. Dinner at Asia Bistro was nice. This was my first visit to HZ so I cannot compare to any other hotels in city but you will not go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Harwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in September 2012 and was very impressed. The rooms are large and bright and exeptionaly clean. Tv has some English film channels as well as the usual news channels. We were in a luxury room which had remote controlled curtains and bathroom blinds. The beds were extremely comfortable. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou

Address: 28 Hushu South Road, Gongshu District, Hangzhou 310006, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 1,968 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Hangzhou offers unmatched luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms are tastefully designed and appointed with guests’ utmost comfort in mind. Deluxe rooms, executive rooms and spacious suites are available to meet every discerning taste. The executive lounge overlooks West Lake with spectacular view of downtown, serves a full breakfast, choice refreshments and delicate snacks throughout the rest of the day. In the evening, cocktails and selected wines are served along with a variety of appetizers, international and local favorite dishes by our culinary team. Three world-class restaurants offer unforgettable culinary experiences. On-site amenities are catered to your home away from home needs such as a relaxing swim at our indoor pool; pamper yourself in our serene Spa or working off your fatigue at our well-equipped fitness center. Our friendly and attentive staff is delighted to serve and will strive to make your stay at Hangzhou an enjoyable and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.