We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, Location and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.5 Lingyin Road, Hangzhou 310013, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Getaway Package
Ranked #2 of 1,962 Hotels in Hangzhou
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic Hotel, Location and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I went to the Four Seasons three times last year (which probably tells you everything you need to know!) and its facilities and service are truly outstanding. I have never stayed in a better hotel. Great experience from the team there with lots of professional, friendly but not intrusive service. My only slight negative is the gym which is a little small considering the scale and quality of every other facility in the hotel. The restaurants, gardens, swimming pools etc are fantastic. It is also a great base to explore the lakes and hills around the hotel by car, walking and especially by bike which we could hire from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alleen W, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your wonderful comments to our hotel's location, facilities and service. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    36
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
46
93
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

My family and I have the please of spending three days in Hangzhou over the holidays 2012 at the Four Seasons Hangzhou. Without question,  it was a wonderful experience and contributed to make our time in Hangzhou as special as the city of Hangzhou. I'll touch on our stay, our room, the staff, the concierge staff, the  food and amenities.

Our time in Hangzhou was very special. It was amazing to all of us that a city of 7 million people could be as beautiful and scenic. The Hangzhou people are extremely nice and put a tremendous emphasis on their lakes and outdoor activities and even when we arrived with the temperatures of -2 to -5 degrees or lower with freezing rain and sleet they thought of walking hand in hand around the lakes. Our days were full as I arranged a full day and half day private tour for us and we were able to catch the most unique sites in Hangzhou that were all very special.  Our actives were board and diverse, but seeing Impressions of Westlake, visiting the Green Tea fields and taking a boat across Westlake were among many great things we did.

The hotel is a unique property as much care was done in building creating a building that was fit in with it's setting on Westlake. Corridors had water on both sides without rooms and the views of the surroundings were wonderful. We had a wonderful suite that seemed to be floating on water. It was wonderful.

The entire hotel staff was terrific. They were courteous to a fault,  knew our names, knew where we were from and could not of been more attentive. The concierge staff could not of been more attentive and service orientated and we used them extensively. I had them arrange a 1\2 day tour, which was terrific with our guide Forrest Gump (yes, true), our tickets to Impressions at Westlake, and our New Years Eve night for dinner and into town. Nothing was to small for the staff and we especially appreciated XXXXX who could not of been more charming.

We took advantage of the hotel restaurant quite a bit and were glad we did.  The breakfast package every day was great as combined both Western food adn Eastern food and all was delicious. wait staff was terrific. Lunch and dinner when ate there were also very tasty. 

The hotel amenities as to what I could see were terrific. I took advantage of the spa and fitness center and each was beautiful. I'm not a pool person, but the pool seemed enormous and is indoor/outdoor with a huge deci and set of amenities.  I used the fitness center and locker room every day I was there. Fitness center was more than adequate for size of property and locker room was very nice. 

All in all our time in Hangzhou could not of been better and correspondingly at the Four Seasons. Its a charming place and if you can fit into your plans strongly recommend that you figure out a way to visit.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alleen W, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,our upmost gratitude towards your liking of our hotel's garden,facilities and service.The flowing water,grassy land and subtly-composed rockeries creates an elegant atmosphere revealing an intimate lakeside eden that allows all hotel guests to get convenient access to the beautiful scenery of the garden while keeping their privacy undisturbed.We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us.Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience and we sincerely anticipate your next return to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Still missing the days staying in the resort.
The room, the grounds, the location, the catering, the service are unbeatable.
I myself love the indoor swimming pool and its associated spa facilities so much, that I had to schedule it as one of the attraction to be visited among numerous attractions in Hangzhou.
Keep the good work.....and I'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alleen W, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear guest, our upmost gratitude towards your liking of our hotel’s spa. The style environment of The SPA includes traditional Jiang Nan elements of natural materials, water and soft lighting carefully placed in a harmonious design, making sure that guest enjoys optimum pampering and relaxation. All the treatments have been custom-designed exclusively for our hotel and guests can be awe by the selection. We sincerely anticipate your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed at Banyan Tree, Hyatt and Shangrila in Hangzhou before. The service here really impressed me. I expected some service slip ups - which has been my experience in China, but not here. All staff went above and beyond what we expected.

The breakfast selection was alright, I guess with not many rooms it's not practical to have a wide selection. It was adequate.

Slightly off the West Lake compared to Hyatt and Shangrila, but still walkable.

The quality of the Chinese restaurant surprised me - in a good way.

Would highly recommend it over Banyan Tree.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alleen W, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear guest, our upmost gratitude towards your liking of our hotel. Located along the shores of West Lake, guest can get to enjoy a small private garden and picturesque views of the West Lake from the guestroom. It is our pleasure to provide you with a memorable stay and personalized service in our hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Missing Hangzhou and West Lake would be a terrible mistake if you are in Shanghai and staying at the Four Seasons was just incredible. The trip is so easy on the bullet train, and you will be transported to one of the most beautiful spots ever. Hangzhou, is a big city, but West Lake is heavenly and you feel like you've found a little bit of old China. The Four Seasons is one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed. The staff was as wonderful as the beautiful grounds. We treated ourselves to a spa day and it was as lovely as everything else at this outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alleen W, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your positive feedback towards our hotel. Our hotel is conveniently located at the hub of Hangzhou, which is easily accessible from cities like Shanghai. The traditional regional style known as Jiang Nan style is adopted to create a fine balance between modern luxuries and design commingle with traditional architecture and timeless natural beauty to form a majestic and magical Chinese dreamscape. We are most delighted to know that you have had a wonderful time with us. We sincerely anticipate your next return to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

This is by far the best and most beautiful hotel I have stayed in. Prior to the trip, I was considering between Four Seasons, Banyan Tree or Aman Resort. I am glad I chose this.
The vast and beautiful garden in Chinese Jiangnan style make the property itself a tourist sight to roam and spend your day relaxing and taking photos. Every angle you snap makes a beautiful postcard. It gives you the impression you are in the imperial royal retreat the Qing emperors stayed in during their tour to Jiangnan hundreds of years ago.
Location wise, the hotel is located by the west lake. Exiting the hotel by the east door, it will bring you to one of the 10 famous sights of west lake and impression west lake show in a few minutes. A morning stroll out to the lake is relaxing and all other sights by the lake are easily accessible by foot, tram or boat. The hotel also provide bicycle for use. Starbucks and KFC are also right outside the hotel if you need a bite.
We took the grand primer room and it was beyond words. Perhaps they could have done better by preparing the room for 3 before our arrival. However, it was quickly rectify with a call to the housekeeping. Service is always prompt and with a smile. The bed is extremely comfortable too.
Perhaps it was off peak, we hardly see other guests along the corridor to our room. It was very private and quiet. Visiting Hangzhou in December is peaceful and serene.
The spa is stunning and therapist is attentive and professional.
The food in Jin sha is worth a try too, great presentation and tasty.
All in all, the stay in four seasons perfect our visit to this beautiful city.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alleen W, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear guest, our upmost gratitude towards your liking of our hotel’s garden, facilities and service. The flowing water, grassy land and subtly-composed rockeries creates an elegant atmosphere revealing an intimate lakeside Eden that allows all hotel guests to get convenient access to the beautiful scenery of the garden while keeping their privacy undisturbed. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Once again, thank you for taking your precious time to share your wonderful experience and we sincerely anticipate your next return to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This has to be the most amazing hotel ever, better (although admittedly different) than Florence or Hualalai...). I did not know that West Lake is the most sought after domestic Chinese destination. The hotel is on the lake surrounded by the most beautiful grounds. It is one giant postcard...

The staff is so eager to practice their English, they will be disappointing if you don't ask them anything. Everyone is extremely friendly and attentive. The Chinese restaurant is simply breathtaking. We were a small group and were given a private dining room on the lake. A must.

One travel tip: get a direct fly to the Hangzhou airport and take the high speed train to shanghai or Beijing. This is what we did and well worth it.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views, but ask for one closest to the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alleen W, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guest, we are grateful for your positive comments towards our hotel. Situated along the enchanting West Lake, Jin Sha restaurant presents a modern culinary vision of authentic local, Shanghainese and Cantonese dishes, providing guests with a unique and unforgettable dining experience. We are most delighted to know that you have had a wonderful time at our restaurant. We sincerely look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake

Address: No.5 Lingyin Road, Hangzhou 310013, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hangzhou
#1 Spa Hotel in Hangzhou
#2 Family Hotel in Hangzhou
#2 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#131 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In China’s most picturesque setting, Four Seasons reveals an intimate lakeside village, melding centuries of tradition with chic contemporary style. Convenient to business and shopping, discover a tranquil enclave, woven with ponds, streams and lagoons. Experience the gentle spirit of Chinese hospitality in exclusive private dining rooms and resort-style recreation, including two swimming pools and a cutting-edge designer spa. Deftly sophisticated Four Seasons care instills confidence and delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Hangzhou At West Lake Hotel Hangzhou
4 Seasons Hangzhou At West Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.