We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience in a Chinese tea Village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amanfayun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amanfayun to your Saves list
Amanfayun
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   No.22 Fayun Alley, Xihujiedao, Xihufengjingmingshen District, Hangzhou 310013, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 1,962 Hotels in Hangzhou
Annecy, France
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A unique experience in a Chinese tea Village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Located in a typical Hangzhou valley at the door of one of the most famous and well known Buddhist temple The “Ling yin Temple”. The resort is well located to explore the surrounding Hangzhou Hills and temples as well as some of the best longJin tea plantation. The accommodation in a farm style of bungalows are well appointed but lacking of large windows and are quite dark inside. The simplicity of the interior is refreshing.
The 2 restaurants run by the resort (one western and one Chinese) are of good quality but the wine list is overprice.
The service is good and friendly.
An excellent experience but the prices are slightly too high.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    41
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
20
44
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

living in Shanghai, Hangzhou is an easy weekend getaway - and I've been hankering after staying at this amazing property for a long time - but put off by the extremely high price. I finally stayed there last month, and the property is exceptional. It's a converted hamlet of old wooden buildings scattered along a stone pathway that leads up to the temple area. So each 'room' is actually more like a little house, each one unique and sympathetically converted - made comfortable without destroying their original charm. There are a few communal buildings - the reception area, the different restaurants, a central large two storey house which houses a tea room and quiet reflective lounge area, the spa. The pathway through the village is public access, so you do get monks and other people wandering up and down - but not so many that it destroys the sense of specialness. Having such intimate access to the temples (which are totally public access, so as soon as you go through that gate it suddenly becomes very busy if it's a weekend or holiday), but having that proximity felt like a privilege. I stayed there over a holiday weekend - which meant that HZ was jam-packed - but the resort still felt peaceful. In fact, almost too peaceful. Even though there are communal areas, it didn't feel at all social.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Amanfayun is like no other "hotel" you have ever experienced. First, the lodging is spread throughout a picturesque valley that is surrounded by temples, local village people, and tea fields. Second, the resort's buildings fit in with the landscape and are designed fit organically with the history and environment of the area--many of their buildings are original and have been historically remodeled. Third, when you arrive in your suite you are transported to a different time period but maintain 21st century luxury and technology. Fourth, the dining options are not your standard high-end hotel restaurants. The resort has a partnership with local independent food providers that have distinct and delicious restaurants all along the valley. The food they provide is exceptional. Finally, the personal butler service they offer is the best I've ever experienced--the St. Regis properties could learn something from Aman Resorts. Overall, Amanfayun is one of my favorite resorts in the world.

Room Tip: Make sure to have tea on the second floor lounge room in the Fayun Place building. As for a specific...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I absolutely loved this resort. The village has literally been converted into rooms, restaurants and a spa - it is so beautiful, a bolt hole from the hustle and bustle of China and a unique property that I feel privileged to have stayed in.
We were greeted by the manager Monika and her husband Lukasz and made to feel very welcome from the off. We were given details of the local temples and hikes and when my husband went out to do a couple of hours' hike they very kindly insisted he take one of the hotels cell phones in case he got lost and needed to call for help! The pool area is tranquil - lying by the pool with the smell of incense and the sounds of the nearby temples drifting across was an experience I will never forget. We ate lunch at the western restaurant and had a couple of pre and post dinner drinks there and we also ate at the Steam House which was very good. We had treatments at the Spa which were wonderful.
With regard to criticisms mentioned in previous reviews I would say - yes, the rooms are dark but I found it added to the atmosphere; yes, you have the public walking down the 'main street' but I didn't find that intrusive; and yes, service of the rooms is a bit an issue when you don't speak chinese and housekeeping want to know if/when they can come in.
This was our first stay at an Aman and whilst I don't know that I'm going to become an Amanjunkie, I would definitely like to visit some of the other properties if this is representative of the atmosphere of their resorts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is an exceptional property in the true Aman tradition. The old village that makes up the hotel is really beautiful, a complete haven. The rooms are delightful if a little dark. The restaurants are good and a beautiful secluded warm swimming pool. All this within several hundred yards of teaming masses in the nearby temples. The Aman organises trips by their boat on the West Lake, a must. Also the light show in the evening on the lake is beautiful

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in many Aman's so have certain expectations. This location is unique again due to the fact that they used houses of an old local town and turned it into an Aman villa resort. We felt blessed that we could stay in something unique like this and of course noticed that even Aman struggled a bit with the challenges of running a "village". We loved every minute of it.

We got assigned a butler (Raphael Park) who also became our tour guide and was availble for anything. Great guy with lot's of focus on the details and taking best care of us, really nice touch and also smart interface with some perhaps English skilled team members. We were lucky it was quite so were often alone at the pool and had great service from the team.

We had dinner in all restaurants on the property and loved them all ! Not too complicated, village style suitable and of great quality. If I had to make one remark it would be that the villa's, in their orginal style, are quite dark. We really struggled at times and wanted one bigger light for just some minutes - like during packing.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Hard to pin point but this isn't up to the Aman label. It's partly because the hotel is more of a campus with lots of other tourists milling about. It's partly because frankly there isn't much to see in Hangzhou. The rooms are sparse as in all Aman resorts but not edgy. The food is great with lots of options. Service is very good. Glad I went but wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amanfayun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanfayun

Address: No.22 Fayun Alley, Xihujiedao, Xihufengjingmingshen District, Hangzhou 310013, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hangzhou
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#136 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanfayun 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amanfayun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanfayun Hotel Hangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amanfayun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.