We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential Aman Experience in Picturesque Tea Village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amanfayun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amanfayun to your Saves list
Amanfayun
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   No.22 Fayun Alley, Xihujiedao, Xihufengjingmingshen District, Hangzhou 310013, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 1,963 Hotels in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 143 Reviews
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quintessential Aman Experience in Picturesque Tea Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Amanfayun is like no other "hotel" you have ever experienced. First, the lodging is spread throughout a picturesque valley that is surrounded by temples, local village people, and tea fields. Second, the resort's buildings fit in with the landscape and are designed fit organically with the history and environment of the area--many of their buildings are original and have been historically remodeled. Third, when you arrive in your suite you are transported to a different time period but maintain 21st century luxury and technology. Fourth, the dining options are not your standard high-end hotel restaurants. The resort has a partnership with local independent food providers that have distinct and delicious restaurants all along the valley. The food they provide is exceptional. Finally, the personal butler service they offer is the best I've ever experienced--the St. Regis properties could learn something from Aman Resorts. Overall, Amanfayun is one of my favorite resorts in the world.

Room Tip: Make sure to have tea on the second floor lounge room in the Fayun Place building. As for a specific...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    41
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
20
44
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I absolutely loved this resort. The village has literally been converted into rooms, restaurants and a spa - it is so beautiful, a bolt hole from the hustle and bustle of China and a unique property that I feel privileged to have stayed in.
We were greeted by the manager Monika and her husband Lukasz and made to feel very welcome from the off. We were given details of the local temples and hikes and when my husband went out to do a couple of hours' hike they very kindly insisted he take one of the hotels cell phones in case he got lost and needed to call for help! The pool area is tranquil - lying by the pool with the smell of incense and the sounds of the nearby temples drifting across was an experience I will never forget. We ate lunch at the western restaurant and had a couple of pre and post dinner drinks there and we also ate at the Steam House which was very good. We had treatments at the Spa which were wonderful.
With regard to criticisms mentioned in previous reviews I would say - yes, the rooms are dark but I found it added to the atmosphere; yes, you have the public walking down the 'main street' but I didn't find that intrusive; and yes, service of the rooms is a bit an issue when you don't speak chinese and housekeeping want to know if/when they can come in.
This was our first stay at an Aman and whilst I don't know that I'm going to become an Amanjunkie, I would definitely like to visit some of the other properties if this is representative of the atmosphere of their resorts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is an exceptional property in the true Aman tradition. The old village that makes up the hotel is really beautiful, a complete haven. The rooms are delightful if a little dark. The restaurants are good and a beautiful secluded warm swimming pool. All this within several hundred yards of teaming masses in the nearby temples. The Aman organises trips by their boat on the West Lake, a must. Also the light show in the evening on the lake is beautiful

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in many Aman's so have certain expectations. This location is unique again due to the fact that they used houses of an old local town and turned it into an Aman villa resort. We felt blessed that we could stay in something unique like this and of course noticed that even Aman struggled a bit with the challenges of running a "village". We loved every minute of it.

We got assigned a butler (Raphael Park) who also became our tour guide and was availble for anything. Great guy with lot's of focus on the details and taking best care of us, really nice touch and also smart interface with some perhaps English skilled team members. We were lucky it was quite so were often alone at the pool and had great service from the team.

We had dinner in all restaurants on the property and loved them all ! Not too complicated, village style suitable and of great quality. If I had to make one remark it would be that the villa's, in their orginal style, are quite dark. We really struggled at times and wanted one bigger light for just some minutes - like during packing.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Hard to pin point but this isn't up to the Aman label. It's partly because the hotel is more of a campus with lots of other tourists milling about. It's partly because frankly there isn't much to see in Hangzhou. The rooms are sparse as in all Aman resorts but not edgy. The food is great with lots of options. Service is very good. Glad I went but wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

There can be no better way to explore Hangzhou than from the amazing Amanfayun. Peaceful, serene and beautiful. The rooms, restaurants and hotel facilities provide everything you could imagine - truly a fantastic destination.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I can not say enough about my stay at Amanfayun. You must know that while choosing Aman - anywhere in the world - it is the " experience " !!! take in where you are, an ancient Chinese village surrounded by Buddhist temples - monks walking to their studies , peaceful walkways , ancient carvings in caves thousands of years old right outside your beautiful villa!!! ( except your floors are heated and you have a cozy luxurious bed , with a beautiful Rain shower in your bathroom and all the amenities Aman has to offer, yet still giving you the experience of where you really physically are. ) The bones of the structure are the same. Peaceful, simple. Beautiful.
Do not miss the dinner prepared by the Buddhist monks !! It is amazing!!! The Western Restaurant Is fabulous , room service exceptional , if anything I would skip hounghou house - ( maybe I was just tired of " real Chinese " food??? )
The spa -omg! You have to do the traditional Chinese bath . !!! Believe me - you will be so relaxed ! It is private and luxurious ! Candles, ginger scrub... Like I said, omg!!!
My tip- if you like wine ( like I do ) bring your own, keep it outside ( whites) - if it's cold , red - inside.
The service will not disappoint - Aman is the best of the best-
Don't get distracted by stupid stuff - ( the lighting - I LOVED it - because it authenticated what it was probably like 900 years ago!!!) embrace the EXPERIENCE!!!!
Amanfayun was the BEST part of my experience in China. ( the only place that didn't have the artificial perfume smell - ( top hotels in Shanghai) and my most memorable positive memory of my visit to China.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amanfayun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanfayun

Address: No.22 Fayun Alley, Xihujiedao, Xihufengjingmingshen District, Hangzhou 310013, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hangzhou
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#137 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanfayun 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amanfayun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanfayun Hotel Hangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amanfayun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.