We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My No.1 hotel so far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amanfayun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amanfayun to your Saves list
Amanfayun
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   No.22 Fayun Alley, Xihujiedao, Xihufengjingmingshen District, Hangzhou 310013, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 1,968 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Lafayette
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“My No.1 hotel so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great place! Right beside the famous Lingyin Temple. A little bit far away from the city center, but a perfectly quiet place. Just go and feel the ancient China. They have great food but limited choices. Spa was not good as I imagined.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    42
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
20
47
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Connecticut
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

China is a fascinating country to visit but it is very crowded with both Chinese and foreign tourists and the real old China that many of us are looking for is almost non existent. Aman has done a superlative job of accurately restoring a 700 year old Chinese village into a luxury resort set in a tranquil area adjacent to a lovely complex of seven beautiful bhuddist temples. The amenities of the resort are exceptional and the restaurants (two of which are locally run) serve by far the best food that we had in China. The suites are very spacious (albeit a bit dimly lit for authenticity). The grounds are lovely and truly transport you to a different era. The spa is luxurious and expertly staffed and even offers a bath in a real antique wooden Chinse tub. The pool is delightful.

The best thing about the resort is warm, welcoming and helpful staff that overlooks no detail in ensuring a pleasant stay. The general manager, Lucas Prendke and his wife Monica make sure the place runs like a Swiss watch and made us feel like honored guests in their own home.

The resort is near the town of Hangzhou, known for the beautiful West Lake which is well worth visiting but only if it is not mobbed by tourists. The evening performance of "Remembrances of West Lake" is not to be missed. The town of Hangzhou and the market there should be avoided as it is a crowded area with shops selling mostly tourist trinkets of minimazl interest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Amanfayun quickly redeemed itself from 4 to 5-star if not more by quickly acknowledging its early 'mistakes' of being slightly disconnected with not-so-perfect internal communication expected from our usual Aman stay (this is our 7th stay in an Aman resort in other countries).

We stayed for 4 nights 5 days in this serene, beautiful, near-heavenly place nestled in mountains & green where we saw not a single tall concrete buildings. The main purpose was to celebrate my 79-yr old father's birthday on our 4th night. However, their Western restaurant got mixed up on the date to be our 2nd night with birthday cake prepared. Aman apologized repeatedly & gave us free car-rides & little gift with extra attention to details.

What I like about Amanfayun:
1. Crisp, clear fresh air blessed with good Feng Shui (obvious with major temples surrounding Aman) that earned a rare raving comment from my father on how well he slept the first time in many years!

2. Outstanding service of the Spa in opening their yoga studio for us as an exception at 5:30 am instead of their usual opening time at 7 am for 3 days in a row. Further, we'r given ginger tea in a delicate tea pot set whereby the tea was readily heated by a long-lasting candle throughout our yoga practice. Their Bath House is also worth checking out.

3. In terms of dining experience, is the Linyin Vegetarian which serves delicacy food made by Lingyin Temple Monks serving set menu in two different price: 500 & 800 yuan. Each dish is an art itself.

4 Next favorite is Steam House which serves outstanding simple basic dishes like as fresh home-made soy milk, steam vegetable buns & steamed brown rice. The best deep fried dough or you tiao (油条)can be found here. We even came back to Steam House after a highly disappointing lunch at the Four Seasons Hangzhou where we experienced terrible salad & bread with poor service. We went there purely to check out if they deserve the good ranking & we'r glad to confirm Amanfayun was far better in food, service & especially surprised to see the 4-Seasons Hotel much 'loud & tacky' interior decor.

5. Security is excellent. There're a few cases whereby our rooms were locked immediately after we left forgotten about locking our door.

The only thing we did not like is the western Restaurant in Amanfayun: expensive & little vegetarian options (except Lingyin restaurant which offers only fixed menu). The Aman salad was overly diced with much cheese. The pesto & tomato pasta were disappointing, greasy & oily.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Don't think anyone could've done a better job to transform a Chinese village into a luxury resort. Naturally set in bamboo mountains, tea plantations and a stream of river with two Buddhist temples adjacent to the other end of the resort, this place is like a Chinese painting. You instantly feel a sense of calm and relaxation from the moment the driver hit the private road leading to the resort. Manager Lukas and his PA Janet are wonderful and very helpful. We had two rooms to share a court yard, very spacious and well appointed with all high tech facilities as Aman would do. Although some laid-out design a bit out of usual distance but you can understand they tried to preserve the old houses and utilise the space. The restaurants are all very good with Eastern or western food. Spa treatments are very good. The library is my favorite space of the whole resort, definitely spend a hour or two there if you can. An don't miss the Chinese musicians in the library every afternoon.
We had a very knowledgeable tour guide for the temple excursion, she speaks fluent English too! Will definitely go back soon!

Room Tip: Take rooms which share a court yard if you are in a group or with kids. More space and a nice way to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The restoration of this village set in a mountain glen and integrated with nearby monasteries and temples was perfect. But perhaps too perfect because the rooms, which could have been light-filled retreats with views and private courts, have been held hostage to exterior preservation. They are dark and oppressive with a very poor lighting strategy. The food in the several outlets we tried was OK. The outdoor swimming pool was excellent but the spa felt claustrophobic and completely separated from nature. Service was very nice. All in all, mere preservation is sterile.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were so fortunate to attend an event held at Amanfayun. The place is LOVELY. Serene, lodge-like yet high end & sophisticated. The service was impeccable from the manager & her husband, to checkin, waitstaff in the restaurants & our event held in the western restaurant, to the men monitoring along the walkways on property. I didn't get to partake in the spa, but it looked divine. Photos could not do this resort justice.

Just outside the gate is the most wonderful park with hiking trails to Buddhist temples. There are statues carved in the stone. Across the road, behind the parking lot is a Bamboo Walk that is really like a bamboo forest, breathtaking. There are trails along the mountain ridge to the right where you could walk for an hour to four or five if we had provisions. Highly recommended. Take the fast train from Shanghai if you have a few extra days. I wish we had more time to spend in Hangzhou. On the drive out it looked like there were many more beautiful parks and hikes to see. Somewhat of a secret to westerners.

Room Tip: We were in room 46, very private and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

A wonderful place in the mountains very close to temples and monasteries. The resort is a old village where now every house became a guest room. The distances between reception, rooms and facilities feel like going over to the neighbors place. The style is very authentic, no kitschy additions, mainly white walls, wood, stone and vegetation. Lovely furniture, very organic design. The service is wonderful, security is now easier but efficient. It's not a culinary hot spot, the restaurants are beautiful but average in taste. The spa is good, again beautiful settings, therapists are ok. Great fitness club with engaged and competent trainer. You need a weekend to refresh and resource? Then this is your place!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amanfayun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanfayun

Address: No.22 Fayun Alley, Xihujiedao, Xihufengjingmingshen District, Hangzhou 310013, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hangzhou
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#21 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#118 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanfayun 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amanfayun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanfayun Hotel Hangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amanfayun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.