We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It didn't fail my expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.555 Fengqi Road, Xiachang District, Hangzhou 310006, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1,900 Hotels in Hangzhou
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“It didn't fail my expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was my first experience with a Wyndham Hotel. And it didn't fail my expectations.
Overall the service was very well, at reception, roomservice, in the restaurants and so on. The only hickup was during our arrival. I was driven from the trainstation to the Hotel with a private chauffeur. And at the entrance they really made our life very difficult in wanting us not even to stop for 10 minutes to just be able to get out and get the luggage. We had almost to bribe the parking boy to let us use one of the free parking spots. And then when finally parked, there was nobidy to help us with the luggage. I mentioned this to the deputy manager at reception, just to be sure. We had no more problems afterwards. reception was swift and professional, I got a nice room, no upgrade though.
The room is very nice, quite big, very good matrass, good linen, bath and seperate shower, good quality products. Also a good quality internet line, which is sometimes not so easy in China.
Breakfast was good, a nice selection of both chinese and european dishes. Roomservice was also well prepared and swift, quicker then announced. I didn't go to any of the onsite restaurants, so I can't comment on that.
So overall my stay was pleasant. I have a difficult time now choosing between the Wyndham and the Hyatt just a couple of 100 meters further. I think its going to be the price that will decide that next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    102
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
56
86
28
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were greeted by excellent service throughout our stay here in Hangzhou. The staff was courteous and even the bellboy gave us great recommendations on attractions and restaurants in Hangzhou. The hotel concierge was very forthcoming in making our trip a fulfilling one; they helped us booked our tickets to Impression Westlake and helped us in our taxi bookings.

The gym in the hotel was spacious with many equipment. Room was spacious and I had a view of Baochu Pagoda.

Location was fantastic. We were spoiled for dinner choices at Wulin Street which was located besides the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I really do not know where to start with this hotel. It was flawless from the minute I walked in. Having travelled in China for a number of years, I know that it is sometimes hard to get good customer service when your struggling with the local language, but the staff at this hotel go out of there way to speak english with you and are looking for opportunity to assist you. Even though they have a number of european born staff that seem to be mentoring and coaching the locals, it is good to see that they all seem to really enjoy their jobs there. I even enjoyed interacting with all of the housekeeping staff which I seldom do. Rooms are clean, breakfasts are well provisioned, with great fresh juices. Rooms are a nice size and the location is brilliant. Hangzhou is a magical place and I actually recommend you visit the place in the off season because you see more, and the ambiance is better with a little rain or fog around.

My only issue, which is not the hotel's concern is the rental bikes. They are definitely designed for locals in mind and quite uncomfortable to ride for longer periods of time. The hotel will use one of their cards to unlock the bike for a couple hours free use for their customers. I will do some more research next time and find other suppliers to get a decent bike because the city is definitely bike friendly and most attractions can be accessed in a short ride.

Room Tip: Try get a room facing Westlake and a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have been four days in Wyndham for holidays last month and I would like to say it was amazing!The hotel was huge and I got a spacious room with nice view. Moreover the location was perfect, near to the west lake and at only one hour by train to Shanghai. Most of the staff are very nice and speak English fluently, which make me feel really comfortable, especially Antony from the front office is so helpful and friendly. The Cafe Royal restaurant was tasty, specially for breakfast and the Thai restaurant was amazing. From my personal opinion, I highly recommend to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I had a great time at the hotel.
Service is super super super.
Cleaniness, excellent and very clean.

And best of all the friedly staff whom i met there.
Marco was so friendly and helpful as well as Eva HE. i felt my self honestly at home.

Thank you very much for making my stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: If you are wondering where to book at Hangzhou, the real best place is Wyndham Grand. spaciaous room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights and the service was first class. The Buffett was very tasty with loads of choice and the service was second to none. What a fantastic location too with a 5 minute walk to the fountain show and the lakeside bars.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We booked this hotel after viewing it online. It's appearance is different, but I really liked that difference nice we got there. Not top of the top in terms of hotels but really quite nice. My room had a great view across towards West Lake and the temple on the hill in the sunset. Close to e lake for a boat trip, tea house and walking around the lake.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou

Address: No.555 Fengqi Road, Xiachang District, Hangzhou 310006, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#1 Family Hotel in Hangzhou
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hangzhou
#128 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is adjacent to the breathtaking West Lake, a recent addition to UNESCOS WORLD HERITAGE list, facing the provincial government offices and administration, within walking distance of Wulin Street, and close to Hangzhou Tower and Intime department store. 301 various well-appointed guestrooms such as lakeview rooms, cityview room, suites, and rooms specially designed for ladies, outfitted with balconies, independent bathroom with separate bathtub and shower, 37-inch LCD TVs and high-speed wireless internet access.Western, Chinese and Thai restaurants can always match your taste.7 well-equipped conference rooms seating from 20 to 500 guests. The large Royale Ballroom with a unique window view of the West Lake hill, is the only ballroom in Hangzhou providing this feature!It’s the perfect place to create long-lasting memories for your business, conference or leisure trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Hotel.de, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou Hotel Hangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.