We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“golden ball” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hangzhou

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Hangzhou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2 East Jiefang Road, Hangzhou 310016, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 1,900 Hotels in Hangzhou
Shanghai, China
1 review
“golden ball”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Impressed of hotel appearance and it's easy to find if you the first time go to hotel. Nice facilities and service. Guestrooms are with good city view, but it's no easy to have taxi and a little bit far to city center.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacky_Zhuang, Manager at InterContinental Hangzhou, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Jud,

Thank you so much for having taken the time to share your experience, I’m delighted to know you liked our service and facility which encourages our team to contribute their utmost effort in driving continuous quality improvement.

We aware that pickup a TAXI takes time occasionally, therefore a Cruising TAXI System is in place to make the thing easier, place your order with our concierge before you go will be very much shorten your waiting time.

Once again, thank you so much patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Jacky Zhuang
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    56
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
14
4
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just returned from a five night stay. The staff could not be nicer but the hotel is run very badly. It is located in what they call the new section of this area. There is nothing in walking distance from this hotel. The food in the hotel is about a three from 1-10. The rooms some smell from water damage. They don't keep the heat on high enough so make sure you bring your coat to diner. I highly recommend not staying here. In fact I am shocked that the Intercontinental would run a hotel like with such low standards. It is run for the Chinese traveler not others.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hangzhou, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Susan40057,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am pleased you liked our staff. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. Please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the overall condition of the hotel. We give utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

While I understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, I hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

to people who havenot been to Hangzhou before:
The Intercontinental is located in a building which essentially looks like a supersized Ferrero Rocher - a gigantic golden ball - on the banks of the river that flows south of Hangzhou.

there is the story going that the major of Hangzhou commisioned this as the new majors office, but when than chinese prime minister Wen Jiabao came to Hangzhou on a visit he told the major to knock it off as the golden ball looks too outragously lavish to house a communist local govermnent
so than they went and arranged for the Intercontinental hotel to move in - it indeed looks and feels more like a megalomaniac politicians wet dream than a hotel.

enough curious stories - the hotel is actually quite good. wonderful, spacious rooms, and of course the ambience "inside the golden ball" is unique, something you wont ever forget.
it would be a top3 hotel in Hangzhou .... if it were located anywhere near the Westlake or in the downtown. The location in the "new development" (= far out of city-center) distract is the achilles heel of the property the hotel cant overcome


+++++ AMBIENCE: absolutely grandious, spectacular. Should be the setting of a James Bond movie.

+++ ROOMS: really really good. the rooms layout is big and given this property is still very new, everything still looks spotless. great interiour design. walk-in wardrobe. big bathtub, great water-pressure. comfortable kingsize bed, a really useful large and comfy couch, espresso-machine with complimentary capsules ......

+++ SLEEPING QUALITY: great soundproofing, cant hear a whisper from the neighbors, the corridor or outside. good A/C. comfy bed.

+++ GYM/POOL: the pool and the gym on the highest floor look awesome and you have it for yourself most of the time.

+ SERVICE: mostly good.

+ VALUE FOR MONEY: not bad, its not cheap - but i would say for what you get the pricetag is fair enough.

- LONG WAYS: thats the first major downside that comes with the grandious layout of the hotel, you have to really march once you enter the hotel to reach the lobby, and also to get from the lobby to your room is taking minutes.

------ LOCATION: lets put it this way: its in the middle of nowhere. even though this is supposed to become to new city-center of Hangzhou, but if Hangzhou has a city-planning department, they messed this up big time. this area is a deserted wasteland.
to get anywhere you need your own car or a taxi. there is 0 there at a "pedestrian level" - and i do mean REALLY NOTHING, not even small shops or food-stalls..
within a 1km radius are a few office-towers and the Hangzhou-citizen-center with the library.
another 1 km or 2 east is a big shopping-mall, but i guess neither of those are reasons to come to Hangzhou.
To the Westlake/city-center its an estimated 20-30 minutes ride depending on the traffic, and unfortunately in Hangzhou is often very bad, so one likely gets stuck on the road.

That might be the reason, why the property despite the hotel doing a good job looked 3/4 empty when i stayed there. If you need to be in this area, the Intercontinental is a great hotel - if you came to Hangzhou to enjoy a tourist-routine you are much better off staying at a place close to the Westlake, where everything is walkable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Large rooms, great facilities, excellent breakfast. The staff is spot-on, always friendly and helpful. Even the guy flagging down a taxi for me took time to ask about my stay and say he hoped to talk more tomorrow. You can't really overstate how helpful touches like that are when you're traveling. Overall a great stay for the price. If there's anything against this place it's the distance from tourist activities. Dinner by West Lake wasn't too bad though, maybe a 15 minute ride or so. Just depends on your preferences. If you want to be in the middle of all that then the Intercon may not be the best choice. But if you prefer a quiet, comfortable place to retreat to and escape the tourists after fighting through them all day, then you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu,
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The total facilities are quite good, from lobby to room.

and the view will be great if you chose the room facing to the river.

Breakfast is good with massive choices, only problem is the place is too small to afford much people.

The pool is on the top of the hotel, good design but the length is too short.

The location is not that convinience, hard to take a taxi.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I moved from the Hyatt to the Inercon when it opened last year.The hotel is very unsual being a sphere but it makes for a dramatic looking hotel inside and out.
If you are going to Hangzhou for pleasure i wouldnt recommend the location as it is a good 20 or 30 mins to the west lake in traffice,but if you are coming on business then definately a great place to stay.Rooms are lovely and are very well appointed.Great pool and gym.
One of the best breakfast buffets i have seen in china and the other restaurants are all good.
I stay in an exec room and they have a lovely exec lounge although and a great place to work and have a drink in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Big rooms, great service and no expense spared. Great venue for a conference.
IT helpdesk on the ball and very helpful.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at a mid level, they are a little larger than top/bottom levels, and preferably c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hangzhou

Address: No.2 East Jiefang Road, Hangzhou 310016, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Hangzhou
#11 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#129 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hangzhou 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip DaoDao, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hangzhou Hotel Hangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.