We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, ok location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Century Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added New Century Grand Hotel to your Saves list
New Century Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.818 Shixin Middle Road, Xiaoshan District, Hangzhou 311202, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 1,963 Hotels in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 630 Reviews
Birkenshaw
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great hotel, ok location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

I stayed in this hotel recently on a business trip. No complaints with the quality of the hotel (think I was on the Executive floor) with a very grand bedroom and bathroom.

Staff were very friendly and the cocktails were pretty good and the food was good, although I would recommend going into Hangzhou to eat.

Only gripe would be the location as although this says its in Hangzhou its probably 15 minute drive to the city centre. That said I would still recommend the hotel as I got the room for £60 a night which was great value for money.....

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    349
    26
    6
    1
See reviews for
4
4
2
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bay area, ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

My first visit to this hotel was in March 2009. I was very hurried and only had a one night stay. Consequently, I left my Sonicare toothbrush in the hotel. I accepted that it was just gone. However, in early April I again stayed in this hotel, and to my surprise, they still had my toothbrush ($150 value), and returned it to me the first day. They also returned a bottle of bourbon that I had forgotten that I left!
I travel six months a year, and this was the best service I have ever encountered.
Thank you, New Century.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

The new century grand hotel was perfect for our recent business trip. The rooms and facilities were clean, food was not spectacular but acceptable, the rate was perfect for business travel. The service and staff were amazing, I lost my luggage during this trip, and the concierge extraordinaire, Mr. Frankie Qu, actually did the impossible of tracking down my luggage in the nick of time. Just that kind of service is out of this world. The hotel is located at a business district and not that close to westlake.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2007

Beware this Hotel is a long way from Hangzhou attractions like Westlakes and location is not clear in sites like expedia. Promoted by the hotel as 30 mins away but took us longer on every occasion over 3 days.

We booked a non smoking high floor suite for 3 adults, our son is 15. We got the 13th flloor (smoke permeated the floor) and we later read the 41 first floor was smoke free in the hotel info sheet. We were asked for an additional 400 yuan for a roll away which we refused to pay for as we chose a suite and our booking was clearly for 3 adults. In the end we negotiated the cigarette smoke and low floor for the price of the roll away. the receptionist i negotiated with was rational and sophisticated problem solver but had to defer to unseen management.

Overall impressions are : New hotel of extensive marble. Suites were nice, large with quality fittings, firmish bed but not bad for china! Staff - at times it was quite surprising to find in such new hotel, staff that were clearly well trained and experienced, an adequate mix appeared to exist with those that appeared to have had little or no training / experience. somehow the qualified staff never seemed too far away. Food - we had dinner once in the buffet dinning area next to the japenese rest. All you can eat buffet was not inspiring at all. after avoiding the buffet a number of dishes we ordered turned out not to be available and the food we did order was fair to poor. hainan chicken rice was disappointing, using chicken breast pieces that seemed to be flavoured for another dish entirely. the hamburgers had a greasiness and rather unpleasant 'animal meat fat' nuance I really wondered how this was achieved with what appeared to be a well ground and nicely cooked patty. The burger buns were petite dinner rolls dressed in sad lettuce and came with ok french fries. the food seem to come from a kitchen that did not care and or did not know. the waitress was very pleasant and attentative though.when we finished our meal we were later 'chased' by cash register staff to verify our room number and guest status. (one of the poor trained staff?)

We stayed during the may holiday week and the hotel seemed to be quite busy despite being nowhere near a tourist attraction and i wondered if this was a result of a promotional pricing campaign. i observed some of the guests had taken to spitting on the marble floors in public areas in the hotel.

overall if i needed to be in this part of hangzhou for some reason i would stay here again on the basis that with low expectations, things could only improve from such a low baseline, with good key staff (except kitchen) and nice physical facilities.

management might want to be a bit more accessable to clients if they want to improve guest experiences here.

  • Liked — marble everywhere
  • Disliked — food and location
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2006

Stayed at this hotel a few months after it opened. Was very pleased with the appearance and the style of the guest rooms. THe hotel contained all the restaurants and shops that you would expect in a 5 star hotel. Will stay here again the next time travel to Xianshan/Hangzhou is scheduled.

Stayed October 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Century Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Century Grand Hotel

Address: No.818 Shixin Middle Road, Xiaoshan District, Hangzhou 311202, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#78 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New Century Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 699
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Short DescriptionThe five-star Hotel in a height of 218 meters is the tallest tower in Hangzhou. The hotel is located in Xiaoshan Central Business District The hotel has 700 rooms.Detail DescriptionNew Century Grand Hotel Hangzhou is located in Xiaoshan Central Business District only 23 Kilometers drive to Xiaoshan International Airport and a stone’s throw at the express way. The hotel is within 30-minute drive to the West Lake, 44 kilometers to the historic city Shaoxing, and 150-minute drive to the metropolitan Shanghai and the port city Ningbo.The hotel has 700 luxury guestrooms of various types. The toilets in all the guestrooms adopt French glass window. You can watch TV directly in the toilets. With Rain Forest sprinkler and Hansgrohe bathroom facilities, the updated guestroom articles will provide you a comfortable stay. Besides, an office area is specially set up in the guestroom with office desk, fax machine, broadband access and various office supplies for the convenience of your business activities.There are all kinds of restaurants and bars such as four seasons, Café Mediterranean, montarcino grills, I ma ri qi janpanese suchi, rose garden bar, lounge bar, cook fun restaurant and clubhouse in the hotel.The famous kitchen chefs always offer our guest variable gastronomies such as hang cuisine, canton cuisine, royal palace bird’s nest, shark fin and abalone and different country style western foods as well.Fitness Center which offers a superior array of outdoor and indoor sports and leisure activities with our exceptional service.It is equipped with the world top-grade LIFEFITNESS fitness facilities and provided with various fitness items like aerobics, strength exercise, free weight lifting, etc. Location: 3Fonderful Times Club boasts items deluxe KTV boxes, show bar, and reflexology room, perfect for your relaxation, therapy, and indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your New Century Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Century Grand Hangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Century Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.