We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will stay here one more time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Century Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added New Century Grand Hotel to your Saves list
New Century Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.818 Shixin Middle Road, Xiaoshan District, Hangzhou 311202, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 1,914 Hotels in Hangzhou
Muhltal, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I will stay here one more time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

It is a real great hotel, I had a very comfortable room.It took me about 2 minutes to check in. The staffs are very good trained, from the valet to the receptin desk. They make bed every evening before I went to sleep without my request.The most thing which impress me is the bathroom. The shower and bath tub are seperate, in the shower they have two shower attachment, one is like the rain, and another can massage.There is a glass screen between the bathroom and bedroom, I can sit in the bath tub and watch TV. The TV programm is also very nice.The bed is very comfortable. Breakfast is not bad, only the bread and croissant tastes not very good. There are few restaurants, I tried one chinese and a western restaurant. The chinese one is not bad, it is also not very expensive, but the western food in the lobby is horrible,even if it has a very good interior decoration and atmosphere. The swimming pool is also not bad, but remember to take a swimming cap of your own with you, otherwise you have to buy one in the hotel it is overprised.
It is far from every sightseeing in this city,but now they are building up a subway in front of the hotel.It will be convenient to get to anywhere you like in the future. There are a lot of restaurants around this hotel, just across the street is a big supermarkt, I bought my fruits there.
After all this is the best hotel in Hangzhou for me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny x, Manager at New Century Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for choosing our hotel. New Century Grand Hotel Hangzhou is located in Xiaoshan CBD, Hangzhou.The hotel is the five-star hotel closest to the international airport. And the hotel is within 30-minute drive to the West Lake and other famous tourist attractions in Hangzhou, so it is a good residence for travelling or business trip. The hotel has been trying to bring guests a stay experience of more care and convenience, so that guests can feel the care of New Century and the meticulously services provided by New Century. We hope every guest to the hotel can feel the warmth of home and get a beautiful memory. Thank you for your valuable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    347
    26
    6
    1
See reviews for
3
4
2
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linz, Austria
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

first of all:: for people looking for a hotel in Hangzhou city - this one here a bit of a misnomer.

The New Century is NOT in Hangzhou city proper
but in Xiaoshan which is kind of a suburb town which belongs to the Greater Hangzhou Area district.

the distance from the hotel is roughly 30-40 km to Hangzhou downtown (!!) depending on the road you take - with the bad trafic in HZ that means a drive of anything between 30/40mins - 1 hour
so if you are looking for a hotel in Hangzhou proper you can already stop reading reviews of this hotel now and go check out the next one in the list.

for people who want to stay in Xiaoshan the New Century is still an option, though that this one is rated 7th on the list of HZ-hotels on tripadviser is dazzling. i would know at least 7 hotels in Hangzhou that are clearly better ...... and there will plenty more i havenot stayed at which are better than the Grand New Century Xiaoshan.

overall:
its a bit aged already, a massive (700 rooms) New Century (= Kai Yuan).
New Century is a chinese 5-star hotel chain mainly with properties in Zhejiang province.
the rooms and amenities are similar to western 5-stars, comparable to Crown Plaza, Marriott or Hilton properties, for about half to 2/3 the pricetag.

The difference to western brand 5-stars are mainly:
- poorer Food & Beverage quality, especially if you want to eat western food, you are more likely to be dissapointed in a New Century.
- as New Century hotels mainly are frequented by chinese clientele and international guests make up only a very low percentage (my estimate is about 2-3%) not all the staff can be communicated with trouble-free in english. this varies though from property to property.
- cleanliness is poorer in some properties

a quick category-breakdown:

LOCATION: NOT in Hangzhou proper (!), good if you need to stay in Xiaoshan, its close to the Xiaoshan (Hangzhou Nan) trainstation

ROOMS: good, New Century standard. a bit aged though and as this is mostly frequented by chinese who smoke everywhere regardless of no-smoking signs, the rooms are a bit smelly, even more so are corridors, the elevators etc. slight cleanliness issues.

AMBIENCE: the typical gradnious chinese style - huge layout. lots of marble, everything is beige and brown.

SLEEPING-QUALITY: comfortable bed and quiet, but the air in the room is quite musky. if you cant stand the cigarette/smoking smell in rooms better think twice about staying there.

PRICE/VALUE: average. 100 Eur incl taxes, incl. breakfast for the standard room.

FOOD & BEVERAGE: poor, eat outside if you can. the breakfast is below average.


Note: for some inexplicable reason the hotel charges for parking the car in the hotel carpark, even for guests..............

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny x, Manager at New Century Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for choosing our hotel. We are sorry to having not given you a happy stay experience. New Century Grand Hotel Hangzhou is located in Xiaoshan CBD, Hangzhou.The hotel is the five-star hotel closest to the international airport. And the hotel is within 30-minute drive to the West Lake and other famous tourist attractions in Hangzhou, so it is a good residence for travelling or business trip. The hotel has been adhering to the philosophy to “Provide guests with services perfectly fusing oriental culture and international standards”. Every month, Mediterranean café on the first floor provides new characteristic gourmet month, to give guests more choices; the 29th, 38th and 39th floors of the hotel are non-smoking floors,. to meet the needs of the guests. Car guides are newly equipped for the hotel parking, to provide you with one-stop service, including guide for car parking and leading guests to the lobby. The hotel has been trying to bring guests a stay experience of more care and convenience, so that guests can feel the care of New Century and the meticulously services provided by New Century. We hope every guest to the hotel can feel the warmth of home and get a beautiful memory. Thank you for your valuable time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Location: this is a plus and minus thus the 4-ranking. Our flight in was at 1.30am thus we needed a good hotel not too far from the airport. This worked out well with an easy 10 min drive. On the other hand, the touristy part of the city (and the train station) is a good 40+ mins away. Its broad streets all the way - one day we were lucky with the traffic, the other day not. Overall it wasn't that big a deal as the hotel is super and had a huge number of superb restaurants all around it.

Great lobby and atrium etc - grand style!

Rooms: Of all the hotels we stayed at, this one was the best. Fantastic beds, marble bathtubs plus a super shower and overall bathroom. Large rooms with sofs, big flat screen TV, great views - all in all a super stay!

Breakfast: An amazingly spread of all kinds of food you could ask for and excellent quality

Pool: This was a delight. Its on the sauna/shopping floor and a great pool. Large pool on an overhanging ledge so you see the city from the glass walls. Perfect temperature, great Jacuzzi, great changing rooms and our boys had a blast when it was raining outside.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floor rooms facing the front side - you get excellent views from there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
159 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Hotel is about an 30 to 40 min drive east of Hangzhou airport and it is easy to reach.

The rooms are quite large and have a walk in shower and a bathtub. You can see from the room into the bathroom though a glass window.

Electric plugs are next to the bed and desk - good.

TV has some English channels, I think I saw CNN, HBO and some others.

Beds are comfortable.

Breakfast is OK, a few western dishes, guess enough, but nothing really great. Had also dinner in the hotel, which was standard Chinese food, typical "food temple" style, meaning nicely prepared, but not too much taste and "elegant" sitting.

Internet is LAN based, cable is in the room in a drawer. Speed is actually quite good. VPN, Skype and FaceTime are working well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Great view. Opulent, but breakfast is mediocre at best. The waiter took away my coffee and without even asking my permission. What else, they serve duck in the morning. There is not a good variety of Western food other than a Pizza Hut located a block away. Nevertheless, it's a landmark hotel for in Xiaoshan.

Did not have time to use any amenities, but it would be great if the hotel offers free-wifi in addition to the coverage at the lobby. Otherwise, your smart device would render unless in your room unless you have subscription with a local telecom service or BYO wireless AP.

Stayed in a non-smoking room, and it did not have any trace of cigarette smell during the stay.

Nevertheless, it's clean, quiet, and the stay was satisfactory.

Room Tip: Request for high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

As part of an organized group tour, unfortunately we only spent one night in this hotel. As such, we didn't get to use all the facilities, so we will concentrate on the lobby and room.
The lobby was spectacular, with tasteful decor and artwork.
We were in a one bedroom, one & half bath suite, 4 telephones, 2 large flat screen TVs with impeccable cleanliness. 2 bottles of drinking water/day supplied free of charge, pay mini bar.
Firm bed, duvet cover w/o sheet. Fussy thermostat, had trouble adjusting
Beautiful restaurant for breakfast which was a combination chinese and western fare with very good variety and surprising good coffee!
If you need to communicate, there is always someone that does speak English.
Easy check out.
Did not mind the distance from attractions, since we didn't have to do it ourselves, it was all organized for us.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny x, Manager at New Century Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for your stay with us and for sharing your detailed feedback with us, We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future and to show you further enhanced service improvements!
Warm regards,
Jenny Xia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

- large and quite room. large windows, stylish bathroom
- neighbourhood: nothing special in that city.
- a supermarket is just across the hotel, pizza hut and some tea houses next door
- approx. 30 min drive by car to the west lake

- breakfast: great variety of asian dishes and some continental style breakfast, fresh juices. not so good: mostly canned fruit salad

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny x, Manager at New Century Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
We are very pleased to hear about your excellent experience and appreciate you share that with us.
We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future and to show you further enhanced service improvements!
Warm regards,
Jenny Xia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Century Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Century Grand Hotel

Address: No.818 Shixin Middle Road, Xiaoshan District, Hangzhou 311202, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#84 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New Century Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 699
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Short DescriptionThe five-star Hotel in a height of 218 meters is the tallest tower in Hangzhou. The hotel is located in Xiaoshan Central Business District The hotel has 700 rooms.Detail DescriptionNew Century Grand Hotel Hangzhou is located in Xiaoshan Central Business District only 23 Kilometers drive to Xiaoshan International Airport and a stone’s throw at the express way. The hotel is within 30-minute drive to the West Lake, 44 kilometers to the historic city Shaoxing, and 150-minute drive to the metropolitan Shanghai and the port city Ningbo.The hotel has 700 luxury guestrooms of various types. The toilets in all the guestrooms adopt French glass window. You can watch TV directly in the toilets. With Rain Forest sprinkler and Hansgrohe bathroom facilities, the updated guestroom articles will provide you a comfortable stay. Besides, an office area is specially set up in the guestroom with office desk, fax machine, broadband access and various office supplies for the convenience of your business activities.There are all kinds of restaurants and bars such as four seasons, Café Mediterranean, montarcino grills, I ma ri qi janpanese suchi, rose garden bar, lounge bar, cook fun restaurant and clubhouse in the hotel.The famous kitchen chefs always offer our guest variable gastronomies such as hang cuisine, canton cuisine, royal palace bird’s nest, shark fin and abalone and different country style western foods as well.Fitness Center which offers a superior array of outdoor and indoor sports and leisure activities with our exceptional service.It is equipped with the world top-grade LIFEFITNESS fitness facilities and provided with various fitness items like aerobics, strength exercise, free weight lifting, etc. Location: 3Fonderful Times Club boasts items deluxe KTV boxes, show bar, and reflexology room, perfect for your relaxation, therapy, and indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Ctrip DaoDao, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your New Century Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Century Grand Hangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Century Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.