We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern & contemp hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orange Hotel-Hangzhou Moganshan Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Orange Hotel-Hangzhou Moganshan Road to your Saves list
Orange Hotel-Hangzhou Moganshan Road
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.252 Moganshan Road,Gongshu District,Hangzhou, Hangzhou 350000, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 1,960 Hotels in Hangzhou
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Modern & contemp hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

As a lot of the reviewers have mentioned, the hotel (which is a chain) is not close to the West Lake, which is the main attraction in Hangzhou. You can rent a bicycle from the hotel for RMB5 for the day (the 1st 2 hrs was free). It's about 5-6km from the lake. The room was big enough, we had a King Deluxe. Just note that the bathroom has a clear glass that can see out to the room, & vice versa. Privacy is not great in that sense. The good news is there is a blind you can draw in the bathroom so you get the privacy. Other reviewers have also mentioned that the wi-fi that was supposed to be accessible in the room is not great. We found a way around this: ask a technician to come check it out, & if that still doesn't work, ask to borrow a router/modem that they can help you set it up in your room. There was no charge for this. The room appeared clean enough. Unfortunately the hotel does not give out any maps of Hangzhou, you will have to pay a couple of yuans to get a map of just their public transport system. They were lovely enough to help us get a cab upon check-out. Generally, their service is not what you would get in a Western country. The staff are polite enough, but they have a tendency to multi-task, which means they could be talking to you one minute, & then responding to someone else the next.

If you're in the mood for dumplings, there was a dumpling place almost across the road from the hotel. It has quite a home-made feel to it, but cheap food.

If you're prepared to splurge a bit, there is Orange Crystal Hotel that's pretty much next to the Lake. Of course, the price will be higher. It's value enough for money with this Orange Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    276
    43
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
10
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Has been a nice surprise when after checkin in i have got a bag with some fruits inside, for this price, more or less 50$, i wasn't expecting presents!
i took the elevator to the room wich was nice and big and brand new, perhaps for this reason still very clean (better specify travelling in china....).
the wifi is free but in my room the signal sucks...ask for a room with closer wifi router if you need fast internet.
anyway, the only thing that disappointed me, since i didn't need a fast internet but only a comfortable bed, was that in that bag, despite the name, there were a banana and an apple but no oranges.
perhaps is the wrong season to get oranges but even the next day, during the "breakfast" (wich is 1$ but is worthed 2) i have got no orange or oragne juice but a milk and rise and other stuff hot soup, wich was not bad apart from the 40 degrees outside that were melting me.
anyway,if needed, ask the lady at the door to help you stop a TAXI, you can make it by yourself but it takes longer.

Room Tip: not view on the main street to avoid noise, close to wifi antenna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Very nice small hotel in Hangzhou! Staff is very nice and accommodating to your needs! You will get a couple of oranges for each night that you stay there!

Room Tip: The bed is a little firm to my liking but was okay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Location is a bit off the West Lake in a quiet location. Front desk attendants are attentive and pleasant. Nice, simple and clean room, comfortable bed and linen. Wifi available at lobby but too weak inside guest room, wheras broadband internet connection is also free inside room. USD30+ - good value.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Most reviews are correct: this is a great choice of hotel in Hangzhou. Elegant, contemporary, and trendy. Hardwood floors, quality bed, sleek furnishing, great selection of television stations, good air control. The staff speaks some English and are willing to help always. And the details! The Orange Hotel clothing/shopping complimentary bag with your own apple! The little fish in the mini-fish tank!

The only problem might be for some tourists since the hotel is not that close to the lake and most attractions. But it is not that far either. If you want to be at a walking distance to the lake then this hotel is not for you. If you want to enjoy quality at a great price and don't mind taking a taxi or even a bus (it will take time; traffic is heavy), then Orange hotel is the right choice in Hangzhou. The quality of the hotel makes this a most worthy choice. A real find in HZ.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

The hotel appears to have no bell-hop and the staff do not help you carry your luggage (regardless if you have many pieces) to and from your room. We took the Junior Suite and there was no lift access to our floor (2nd) so we had to lug all our stuff by ourselves up the stairs. Despite the fact we were carrying quite abit of luggage, we were not informed of this and the staff also did not bother to change our rooms (perhaps all junior suites have no lift access, Im not sure).

The room is spacious, clean and comfortable. Only thing is that there is no safe in the room so do take note if you are carrying valuables! The wi-fi signal can be a bit dodgy but passable.

Location-wise, there are some eateries nearby. We managed to walk to the nearest "wai po jia" (granny's house restaurant) within 10mins or so. The cafe that the hotel operates is very small and I think you might be able to find better food outside.

The hotel also offers use of their bicycles for 2 hours free for their guests, available on a first come first serve basis as they only have 4 bicycles for loan.

Given the price, this hotel gives good value.

Room Tip: Double check that there is lift access to your room, not all rooms have lift access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in April 2011 whilst making a quick trip back to our old home. The hotel is quite new and the rooms were very clean. All the staff we met were very helpful and friendly. I especially liked the details in the room like the little goldfish. The location of the hotel isn't bad. It is not extremely close to the biggest tourism spots and would be a 40 minute walk to the West Lake from here (depeding on your pace). As with anywhere in HZ getting a taxi can be tricky, although we did manage every morning even when pouring with rain. Just allow yourselves 30 mins to find one and you will be fine.

The price for the condition of the room was very good, for effectively £10 a night more it is far superior than Motel 168s in the city which have quickly become tired-looking and dirty.

As long as being somewhat in the North is not an issue, I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orange Hotel-Hangzhou Moganshan Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Hotel-Hangzhou Moganshan Road

Address: No.252 Moganshan Road,Gongshu District,Hangzhou, Hangzhou 350000, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 1,960 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Orange Hotel-Hangzhou Moganshan Road 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Ctrip DaoDao so you can book your Orange Hotel-Hangzhou Moganshan Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orange Hotel-Hangzhou Moganshan Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.