We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Orange Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Crystal Orange Hotel to your Saves list
Crystal Orange Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.122 Qingbo Street, Nanshan Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 311703, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 1,967 Hotels in Hangzhou
Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We arrived at Hangzhou airport close to 11pm. The taxi ride to Crystal took approximately 30 minutes (and RMB110). Traffic at that time was pretty smooth and we enjoyed the night scenes of Hangzhou as the taxi easily weaved through the night traffic.

Checking in was fast, the front counter staff were friendly and the lobby was clean. My young son scored a “welcome to our hotel toy” from one of the front counter staff, so he was chuffed.

We had a corner deluxe room facing the main entry to the hotel (which was a busy road) but the street noise was tolerable. The room was large enough for my husband, child and I. My son declared that he “loved the room” the minute he saw it. The room was clean and everything appeared fairly new – and well maintained. I especially liked the floorboards (instead of carpets).

The room had the usual coffee/tea /slippers /toiletries / towels supplied. We had a large private balcony connected to the room which overlooked the front of the hotel, which made the room seem larger than it was. The bed was firm but clean. We also had a flat screen TV & sound system in the bedroom which automatically turned on each time we walked into the room.

I was a bit apprehensive prior to our stay because of a couple of things. First – I wasn’t thrilled about a glass wall in the bathroom. I figured it must be a Chinese (exhibitionist?) trend as I noticed that quite a few hotels in China seem to have glass bathroom walls. I am glad to report that there are blinds that will provide the conservative, adequate privacy.

Secondly, there were some negative comments posted on Tripadvisor regarding the communication problems they had with the hotel staff before our stay which concerned me. I am pleased to say that the worry was unnecessary because I found the service to be of good standard. The front counter staff were all very helpful and the concierge was super quick to get us a taxi and very-efficient in loading our luggage to the trunk without expecting a tip! In fact, we had to call him back for a tip!

We only stayed for a couple of nights before heading off to Shanghai but for a 3 star hotel, it certainly lived up to this rating and more ++. I think this is one of the better Chinese hotels and I would not hesitate to recommend the Crystal Orange Hotel. You do get value for your money.

PROs:
=====
• Clean room/bathroom (lovely rain forest showerhead)
• Friendly, efficient & helpful staff
• No problems with communication (Some staff spoke basic English)
• Good value for money (AUD$90 per night)
• Free, stable Wi-fi connection in the bedroom (but many websites are blocked in China)
• Easy access to taxis
• Close to the West Lake
• Close to the train station (to Shanghai) – around 10 -15 minutes by taxi (depending on traffic)
• Approximately 30-35 minutes from airport (around RM110 one way)

CONs:
=====
• No decent restaurants in immediate surroundings
• Off a busy street (travellers with young children need to be careful as the traffic stops for no one!)
• Be wary of “private taxi” peddlers just outside the hotel who try to sell you a “good fare” to your destination. My advice is – keep walking until you see a licenced taxi (which is often cheaper)
• Corridors, elevators are all smoking zones – cigarette smoke will hit you the minute you walk out of your room.
• Radio automatically turns on at a high volume the minute you enter your room (you will have to make a quick dash to turn it off). This not really a bad thing – but can be annoying.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    443
    77
    5
    7
See reviews for
41
69
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Decided to try because of a pleasantly surprising stay at the Beijing namesake. Again, a reasonably modern "boutique" appearance and feel but offering quite good value and location near West Lake. To me it didn't matter not being in the main downtown area. The peace and quiet of this southern part of the lake is just fine and the hotel bicycles (in need of upgrading) are good if you want to get out and about with the locals. Dining is not great in the area. Rooms are more sparse than in Beijing and the electronic controls were confusing and not totally working. Service was fine and on asking for a room away from the main front street, a change was made without hassle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

- Above average location. On edge of West Lake (Xi Hu) but at the remote end away from the main activity.
- Hotel entrance is just behind Nanshan Road (Nanshan Luo), so the first time you try to find it may be difficult. Therefore, don't try to take a bus the first time.
- Must bring your address printed out in Chinese, or else taxi drivers will not know it.
- Two or three bus lines pass by but not always convenient. Taxis are however easy to flag.
- Service not great - typically only one person at front desk at any one time can speak broken English. They do try though.
- Only queen beds and/or two singles (no king).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

recommended by my China friends. Stayed for 6 nights. The hotel lobby is nicely decorated with colourful pictures on the wall. The check-in was fast and efficient.
Unfortunately, the first night was bad as our room was facing the main road. There was road works going on till 5am. The next day, we requested for a room change and the staff helped to arrange a quieter room for us. The toilet is small but clean. The room is a little stuffy. We had to open the windows to let the cool air in. The hotel is quite close to the West Lake, about 10 min walk. There is a fruit stall, convenience store and a bakery store opposite the hotel. I requested the hotel for a map of Hangzhou and was told it caused 5RMB. I was a little surprised as I would have expected the hotel to give it out for free given the hotel room charge is comparatively high.
Overall, it was a pleasant stay. However, I would probably try other hotels in my next stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very good location as just a walk away from West Lake. We were there for one night stay hence the cleanliness was utmost important. Was a little disturbed by the busy road outside, but was alright by the time we get to bed. I was wondering why there we hangers on the wall, and later realized there was no closet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel was chosen by our tour agent. In China for 3 weeks, stayed in 2 western hotels and 3 Chinese hotels.Happy to be so near West Lake. Check in was easy and English minimal but friendly. This "boutique" hotel was quirky but tired. Room looked out over a busy street with a small balcony but the glass was very good at muffling street noises. The lights were a little funky to control, the goldfish was cute (Alice), the Pergola floor was lifting up, there was very little storage for clothes (we were there for a week), and everything was in black. Nowhere comfortable to sit in the room. Biggest problem was no restaurant, only a set, very limited breakfast. Had to go out for all other meals. Inconvenient for older travelers as our Chinese is minimal. Hard bed, able to get extra comforter to sleep on. Non smoking room but musty smell. Internet in room unreliable. Lobby had comfy chairs and good Internet. Help in getting taxis.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking Nanshan Rd, looking out into treetops nice. We had a little balcony on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Efficient check in and nice lobby with glass elevator. Staff spoke English and were helpful. Two very large screen apple computers in the lobby for guests to use as well as free in room wifi. Our room was on the top floor overlooking trees with opening windows. Room as advised by other reviewers has quirky features such as curtains that open by remote and in room music (of the cheesey variety!) that starts as soon as you insert your room card. We were able to put our i phone in the docking station and play our own music which was good. Room lacked essentials such as a safe and a hairdryer (but had a hotwater bottle and a small fish in a vase). We didn't have breakfast at the hotel. Looked at the room where breakfast was served and it didn't look very appetising. Bus stops just across the road from hotel and several restaurant options nearby. You can also rent bikes a few minutes walk away. Would have rated this hotel higher if it had not been for the terrible smokey smell when we used the airconditioning in what was supposedly our non smoking room. We arrived in Hangzhou by train from Shanghai. Be prepared for a long queue for taxis if you are arriving by train.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Orange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Orange Hotel

Address: No.122 Qingbo Street, Nanshan Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 311703, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#123 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Orange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Ctrip TA so you can book your Crystal Orange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crystal Orange
Crystal Orange Hangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Orange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.