We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renhe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Renhe Hotel to your Saves list
Renhe Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.86 Youdian Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310006, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 1,975 Hotels in Hangzhou
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The location is really good, specially if you want to walk around the West Lake. I think the staff was really good, friendly, they provided a good service but their English is not so great, I could talk to them because I speak Chinese.
I wasn't so comfortable with the rooms but I must admit that before I stayed in a 5-star hotel in Shanghai so maybe compare both hotels isn't Ok. Anyway, I had a good rest, in silence and comfortable.
The (-): I didn't like the breakfast. It is obviously prepared for Chinese guests. If you are a foreigner I don't reccomend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    86
    11
    0
    3
See reviews for
18
13
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

the location was pretty great, seeing as it provided it extremely easy access to the West lake, within walking ditance. The collection of shops around it were also a great convenience. However, the view was not that pleasant, as seen from our room. Food-wise, it was good enough. Service was also pretty good, and I was also quite surprised by the fact that the rooms also included a PC computer. However, the room that we resided in lacked WiFi, and I suspect the rest do too.

Room Tip: I would suggest the rooms with a view, because they let the light in. However, they probably include...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Everyone visiting Hangzhou must stay close to the West Lake (Its main attraction by far). This allows you make a break in your day to cool off fo an hour or and take a rest. By staying in a hotel close to the lake you'll avoid Hangzhou´s main problem -Taxi availability. For this the Renhe is exemptional. The hotel is close to everything. Right across the street from XiHu (West Lake). Close to many western places - starbucks, dairy queen, kfc, etc...

But don´t expect much from the hotel.
Although its staff pushes really hard to make westerns feel very welcome the overall rating of the hotel is truly hurt by its aging facilities, stained carpets, location of its main entrance, smell of the ailes, slow elevators etc...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Given a really small room, but it's modern, comfy bed and all the amenities available. Room is also cool, gd airconditioning, very important as it's really hot outside. Carpet and some parts of the room looked worn, and wallpaper mouldy and peeling off, but I don't stay in the room except to sleep. The best thing about this hotel is its location. Easy to come back to in the middle of the day to shower if it gets too hot outside. Across the road is Westlake, next door to numerous eateries including the famous Wai Po Jia and Green Tea. Numerous bike rentals a hop away, and walking distance to the shops and malls nearby. No wifi in the room, so went down to the lobby for wifi, the recep saw us and offered us a router in our rm, great service! In the end we bought it from them and used that in our Shanghai rm too. Most of the china hotels don't have wifi in rooms, just a cable, which is useless if you have an ipad. Of my 4 destinations, Hangzhou is my fav and this hotel has the best location of the 3 hotels on my trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Recently chose the Renhe Hotel for a quick weekend in Hangzhou and was quite satisfied with the outcome. This place isn't catering to Westerners, or frankly making many concessions for them, but it's modern, clean, sevrice is great and the location is superb.
- Location is the biggest asset. With only about 36 hours in Hangzhou, I wanted to avoid any hassles getting to the main attraction, West Lake. It's literally a two-minute walk to the middle of the eastern shore of the lake. From there, you can walk either direction and find enough to keep you busy for hours.
- Breakfast selection is actually pretty extensive but there's almost nothing for the Western morning palate. Do not recommend paying more -- there are bakeries and cafes within a block.
- Good quality bedding with a surprisingly soft mattress. TV channel selection very Chinese but, hey, it's China.
- Service was quite nice, though there was little English spoken.
- Room was clean and modern -- definitely built or redone in the last five years. A few scratches and stains here and there, but I'd say it's on par with a Hilton or Sheraton in a mid-sized US city.
- Wired internet available, but who can use that? Missing a point here for not having wireless at all.
- Came in at about $85/night total which seemed to represent a good value at that location.

One thing to be aware of when arriving is that the north-south arterial nearby (Yan'An?) is undergoing major construction, for a subway line I believe. I didn't have any noise or dust problems in my room but some of the streets are cutoff. So make sure your taxi driver approaches the hotel from the west (i.e., from the lakeshore) because Youdian doesn't go through from east as of my writing.

Would definitely stay there again under the same circumstances.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

This is a great location to walk around the west lake , or hop on the boat.
The clerk was very courteous and upgrade us to a better room which we can get a glimpse of the lake.. Very friendly staff and nice clean room with comfortable beds.
The only weakness is the breakfast, sure can improve the variety and quality and the setting. a table cloth will definitely make it more presentable.Some Bao were luke warm

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Renhe Hotel is in front of West Lake, it's a Chinese Hotel, great prices, good rooms, free wifi in the rooms.Super convenient to walk around, you are across from west lake and 1 min walk to starbucks.
They don't have a lot of amenities as such (pool or biz center)... TV channels are mostly in chinese... good value for money. it's 15 min from the Train Station by taxi and around 45 min from Hangzhou airport. You can rent bikes right outside the Hotel on the main street.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, the best are the ones with lake views, but all the same standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Merchant Marco Hotel
#33 of 1,975 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Friendship Hotel Hangzhou
#66 of 1,975 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Xihu Resort
Dahua Hotel
Dahua Hotel
#21 of 1,975 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xihu District
Tea Boutique Hotel
Tea Boutique Hotel
#24 of 1,975 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#19 of 1,975 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Huachen International Hotel
#73 of 1,975 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renhe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renhe Hotel

Address: No.86 Youdian Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310006, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 1,975 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renhe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and Orbitz so you can book your Renhe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renhe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.