We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lobby” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Green Land Hotel

Save Saved
You added Green Land Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Green Land Hotel
No.80 Tuodong Road, Panlong District, Kunming 650041, China (Jinmabijifang)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 917 hotels in Kunming
sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice lobby”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The hotel has a very nice lobby at Level 1 accessed by the eslator from the front entrance. The Business Room is large enough with two big bed but the toilet has no door, only a curtain much like those screens you see in hospital. So ventilation from the toilet is a problem. The toilet partition with the room is a clear glass which offers no privacy if you are sharing the room with a friend. The hotel is located in the south east corner of the CBD about 30 minutes walk. By taxi is RMB8. Opposite the hotel is a high end department store selling expensive branded goods and next to it is the largest pearl/jade/silver shopping centre I have ever seen with hundreds of shops selling similar jewelery. Breakfast is included and is OK. This is a five star hotel with no swimming pool.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    90
    24
    6
    0
See reviews for
8
5
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

This is a decent hotel with up to standard bathroom and room was clean except the beds are typical Chinese cardboard type. The location is about 15 min walk to Nanping Road- the downtown with all the shoppings and restaurants. Across the street from the hotel is the Ginko Mall, an upscale shopping place with several restaurants in the basement level. You can hear the contstruction noise next to the hotel even with the windows closed. Free internet and free in-room safe provided. Good variety of Chinese style breakfast in the main dinning room.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Though we have been to Kunming many times in the past, this was our first time staying at the Green Land Hotel. The hotel is located in the city center only about 5kms (3 miles) from the airport. Like a lot of 4 star Chinese hotels, the Green Land has a large, impressive lobby, but the rooms are only slightly above average.

The staff were very friendly and the assistant manager, Stephen Liu, spoke fluent English. Checking in and checking out were both fast and efficient. The room was decent. Everything worked well. Like most Chinese hotels, the bed was hard, but this is common throughout all of China. The room had free internet (DSL, no WiFi) which was quite fast for China.

There are plenty of shopping centers and restaurants within walking distance.

I was able to find a good rate on the Green Land from the Chinese site ctrip.com. If I found this hotel at a discounted rate again in the future, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Its OK - but 100metres away is the Sakura whch is cheaper and better - in this price category go there instead

Room Tip: all are noisy - huge construction site next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

The room was normally clean, but the bed was unbelievably uncomfortable. I felt just like sleeping on the floor when I slept on the bed!! And when I told the staff that the air conditioner was not working properly, they didn't let us change the room. The only thing they did was bringing a small air con to our room; however, it didn't work any better than the built-in one. So, I was absolutely sleepless in that night, and had to change to Grand Park Hotel on the next day. Additionally, there were only a couple of staffs, if there was more than one, who can speak English. It is very difficult to communicate, if you cannot speak Chinese FLUENTLY because even though I can speak conversational level Chinese, it was still hard for me to communicate with them. Nonetheless, some of the staffs were pretty helpful when I asked about how to get to some tourist destinations.

Room Tip: Sit on bed and try aircon first
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

This hotel is acceptable because it is near downtown with many shops and restuarants within walking distance. The room was good size, clean and the lighting by the bed was great for reading. The bed was a little tack harder than most. There were many TV channels but almost all were in Chinese. There were BBC, CTTV English and movie channels to keep us up to date with the news. There were plenty of hot water for the shower but the grout on the wall need a more thorough cleaning as I notice small amount of mold on the grouts.

The breakfast buffer has a lot of variaty of chinese food including noodles and egg stations.

Good news is that there will be a subway station nearby and will make it even more convenient in the future. The bad news is that you may hear some construction noise on some days and evening for the time being.

One major complain I have is that the room did not seem to warm up. I turned on the heater high but the room still felt cold through out the whole nithe.

Overall, it is still a good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, CA
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
502 helpful votes 502 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2007

We were unfortunate to hit Kunming during a travel convention, and the top rated hotels were all full. So we were stuck with the Green Land, which although a decent enough place to sleep has neither location nor service to recommend it. (Don't confuse it with the Green Lake, which has both.)

Our reserved "nonsmoking king bed" room had twin beds, so our guide was able to get us into a two room suite. This is a cheap upgrade and I recommend it.

The beds were rather hard, which is common in China, but we found these more uncomfortable than usual. The bathroom was dated, except for a nifty mirror that turned out to have a heater behind it. This not only unfogged the mirror, but kept the bathroom toasty warm, a welcome contrast to the rest of the suite. The staff sent an electric heater up without our asking, saying that our room was an unusually cold one.

We got multiple phone calls, starting at 10:30 pm, to ask if we wanted a wakeup call. The first one woke up one of us, the second woke both.

Like all the hotels we stayed at in Yunnan, breakfast had little to offer Westerners, other than a fried egg station (scrambled available by pantomimed order), mealy pancakes with honey, not syrup, and cold cereal with milk reconstituted from condensed.

Laundry prices were more reasonable than the other "five star" (Chinese rating) hotels we stayed at.

Kunming is fortunate to have some nice hotels near Green Lake, a nice walking neighborhood. We wish we'd stayed in one of them.

  • Liked — Not much.
  • Disliked — Hard beds; late evening phone calls.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Land Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Land Hotel

Address: No.80 Tuodong Road, Panlong District, Kunming 650041, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming > Jinmabijifang , Wuhua District
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 917 hotels in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Green Land Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Land Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.