We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Spring Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Spring Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Spring Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.93 East Renmin Road, Panlong District, Kunming 650051, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 1,006 Hotels in Kunming
4.0 of 5 stars 149 Reviews
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
“Helpful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed for one night to make an air connection in Kunming. Staff was helpful but was not able to communicate well in English. With a problem they would call over to the assistant manager who was reasonably fluent and very helpful. She walked me to a pharmacy, communicated with the staff and made sure I got what I needed. Room was large and clean. My only complaint was that the included breakfast was awful regardless of you food tastes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    98
    24
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
11
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

I knew it would be bad (from previous reviews) but it was a really difficult experience.
The room, and that was noticeable when I walked in, stank. It was not so much cigarettes as dirty socks, and a very old carpet. The cheap furniture had seen better days but really the worst was the shower stall. It was one of those plastic cubicles and it was totally filthy. I hope I did not catch any fungus.
The bed was very very hard, and I like hard beds. The heating was adequate.
Breakfast was good, if you like spicy soup. You'd better like spicy food since that's the only edible food!
3 positives: nice location on one of the main thoroughfares of Kunmung, clean sheets & towels, weird Chinese sex aids to purchase from the bathroom!
Wifi in the lobby and the 2nd floor restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

The hotel staff is very friendly. Clean. Typical good Chinese hotel, tho not quite based on comparing to U.S. hotels of similar quality. There's always something amis with a Chinese hotel, star-wise. The rooms are nice, but the appointments, etc. are just not well-thought out. The hospitality business in China is still just a bit short of impressive tho good in most instances. Other than the sleep, food (mainly breakfast) is average I would say, tho clean/neat, slightly better than average. The restaurant staff is friendly also. Well, I speak their language, perhaps because of that I had an edge in terms of better experience?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

the staff do their best to help, although they barely speak english.
bathroms "not so clean", to say something
well located in the commercial area of Kunming
Food is great if you order a la carte.

omnipresent smoke is not strange in China, including lobby, aisles and dining rooms, even during breakfast... but if you expect to find a non-smoker room in this hotel, well, you won´t

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I go to Kunming at least twice a year on my way to other places and have stayed at at least 6 different hotels between RMB200 to RMB450. This one is quite acceptable for RMB350, but nothing really spectacular. Rooms are clean, service not bad. The large buffet breakfast is a mix or Chinese and western. The usually book thru ctrip, and the nice touch is they give you a coupon for a coffee that is brewed from a cuppacino machine

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I staid 1 night in the hotel because it was half the price of the New Era (4 star). My room was situated to the street which was quite noisy. The beds were not so soft and there is no safe deposit box in the room. In the bathroom in the shower there was some mould. Close to the hotel are no restaurants. The concierge was so kind to stop a taxi for me so I drove to my former hotel New Era where you find a lot of restaurants and malls. The front desk was friendly but only 1 person spoke some English. I had a voucher from the travel agent but I had to give them cash because they did not accept a creditcard as deposit. Mostly it is the other way around I believe in Asia.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKE
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Very nice location in downtown Kunming. Good buffet breakfast. Very nice restaurants. Beds are hard; it is sleeping on a rock. Minimal English spoken. Wifi in the room was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Walmart is about 20 minutes away by foot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Spring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Spring Hotel

Address: No.93 East Renmin Road, Panlong District, Kunming 650051, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 1,006 Hotels in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Spring Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Spring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Spring Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.