We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stroll” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dian Lake (Dian Chi)

Dian Lake (Dian Chi)
Southwest of Xishan District, Xishan District, Kunming 650228, China
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 148 Attractions in Kunming
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The shores of the sixth largest freshwater lake in China have many scenic spots.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
204 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“nice stroll”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I ended up coming here based on doing a search of "things to do" in kunming, china. You can take a nice stroll along the water edge there is development going on, but the lakeshore does not have many storefronts open. You do see the old time fishing style where the fishermen are using really long fishing poles. I ended up walking towards the xishan forest park and taking the cable car up to visit the forest park which i found more interesting

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    56
    29
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“sparkling pearl”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

sparkling pearl , thats what the locals call it ,beautiful lake, largest in the area i believe, great place to relax. tis a bit polluted though you wont notice it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice place with a local feeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I liked to walk around the park with the old buildings and the lotus flowers in bloom. Old people playing cards and mahjong, drinking tea...just hanging out. Very calm, peacefull, local...not many tourists. I wish I could have stayed longer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kunming.china
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“happnees in memories”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

a lot of city child have been swiming in dian lake , under the sleeping beauti mountain at 30 years ago , now can do take pleasure boat from DAGUANYUAN to go sight seeing around dian lake !

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lake View from Gondola”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent an afternoon with friends riding the gondola to the top of the mountain with a great view of the lake. Although there are pollution problems with the lake the government is working hard to eradicate this problem. We enjoyed the gondola ride, a wonderful walk along the mountainside ridges as well as a walk in a beautiful garden near where you catch the gondola.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dian Lake (Dian Chi) also viewed

 

Been to Dian Lake (Dian Chi)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dian Lake (Dian Chi), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.