We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice room, average public area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dianchi Garden Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Dianchi Garden Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dianchi Garden Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1316 Dianchi Road, Xishan District, Kunming 650228, China (Lake Dian Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 885 hotels in Kunming
Tianjin, China
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“nice room, average public area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

the room we had was really huge, clean and nice...but the rest feels like a place for elder people been on a insurance paid rehabilition trip...the hotel is endlessly huge, that maybe the reason why the management seems not be capable to renovate as fast as needed to keep such a huge place intact without the customer seeing that a lot of work has been left behind in the last years...some parts of the huge place are good in order and renovated...other parts really need refurbishment!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    68
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel was arranged by our business partner & a number of rooms were reserved for our group.
I checked in late on Saturday evening & luckily my colleagues were there to help because no one speaks English.
The hotel itself is very big but as mentioned in other reviews, quite run down.
The rooms were spacious & seems like every room as a balcony. On the plus side the 'resort' hotel faces a lake with a lot of green & fresh air.

Some of my likes:
The room was big, bathroom was spacious & there were additional power sockets in the room for charging your phone / laptop.
The balcony faces a garden & the view of the lake, very quiet & tranquil.
Spacious, with plenty of fresh air.


Some of my dis-likes.
Mosquitoes. - The room provided an electric mosquito repellent that you can plug in.
There was no in-room safe. Apparently, the reception had no safe, either.
The toilet plumbing is questionable & I had difficulty flushing the toilet.
Toilet paper was not replenished, & there was not any extra rolls of toilet paper (presumably because they might be taken away by guests ) & with the difficulty communicating with the reception as a non-mandarin speaker, i resorted to getting more toilet paper from my colleague's room.
Towels in the bathroom were very worn. I did not want to use them & resorted to using my own hand towel that I carry.
No Wifi. A LAN cable was provided in the room with a sign " Internet cable 100yuan "
No Gym, No Spa.
The bed was like a wood board. The foam on the rattan sofa was more comfortable than the bed.
Absolutely nothing around the hotel, we had to walk for more than 30 mins down the road to get to a small convenience store late at night to get something to eat.

The tranquil peaceful environment was spoiled because during the evenings, you can hear the partying guests in their rooms.
On the Sunday morning, I was awoken before 8am because next door below, a family had arranged some kind of kid's party, perhaps a birthday party, & I was awoken by the screaming & shouting of a dozen or so youngsters. Later I saw they were having a party at the function hall nearby.

Seems like no taxis ever come to the hotel. We had difficulty getting anyone to get us a taxi when we wanted to go somewhere nearby to get some food.
On our check out on Sunday, our colleagues arranged a "taxi" for us to take us to the airport, it cost 180 Yuan & it wasn't even a Taxi. It was a regular car with a driver, probably a 'limo' service of some sort.

The hotel is so far from town & the airport. I am sure this is was the first & last time I will ever be coming here.

I am surprised with this review thread having so many 'very good' to 'excellent' reviews, mostly in Chinese, quite suspect. In my opinion, I gave them 2 dots because of the pleasant & quiet environment. Otherwise, I would think there isn't really any reason to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

On the up-side, the hotel is set in a very nice environment with view over great gardens and a lake from all the rooms. A lot of green..., very nice!
There are many down-sides though, for non-mandarin speakers life is pretty difficult as only few of the staffs speak english. Staff is absolutely non-effective and slow, don't count on them for anything.
We first had booked an appartment style room which was a total rip-off at 900 CNY per night, I think as the hotel is very big and probably almost never full they have stopped maintening these rooms which look very old, ill maintained and ill.equipped -> to avoid in any case.
We then moved to standard rooms at 300 CNY per night each, which were then reasonable value.
There is a swimming pool but it is in bad repair and the color of the water doesn't inspire a lot of trust. Although the childen love going to the swimming-pool we only went once and then preferred to stay away from it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

We were directed to this hotel by a relative who has a friend working there. Naturally we got a good rate and were already checked in before our arrival.
This hotel may have seen some better days. It is a low rise structure with many buildings that sprawl out across the grounds. It was a 5 minute walk through a maze from the lobby to our room. Seen from a distance the building is elegant, built in a colonial style. Up close the paint is peeling in places.

We had a suite, which was quite large. The bathroom needed to be renovated! Tiles were old and stained with mildew. Bath towels were originally white but are now warn and greyish.

There was a kitchen area with a refrigerator and lots of cupboard, plus a kettle, cups and glasses, and a sink of course. Other than that it was non-functional. Dust was everywhere. It looked like the maids only made the bed and changed the bathroom linens, which we didn't use.
Breakfast was available in two areas. One was signed as being 'Western Style' but the food was identical to the other. Both were buffet service, with hot food that was often cold, tables not cleaned when guests left, and food / coffee containers not kept full. Unfortunately other restaurants require a car or bus trip.
Internet is available, but it's not free. The final straw for us was the distance from the city. This location may be good for vacation or business meetings, but not if you need to be in the city everyday.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dianchi Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dianchi Garden Hotel & Spa

Address: No.1316 Dianchi Road, Xishan District, Kunming 650228, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming > Lake Dian Resort , Xishan District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 885 hotels in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dianchi Garden Hotel & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, Orbitz, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Dianchi Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dianchi Garden Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.