We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel Shame About the Air-Con!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Expo Garden Hotel (Si Bo Hua Yuan)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Expo Garden Hotel (Si Bo Hua Yuan) to your Saves list
Expo Garden Hotel (Si Bo Hua Yuan)
No.5 Expo Road, Panlong Area, Kunming 650224, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 1,005 Hotels in Kunming
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good Hotel Shame About the Air-Con!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A lot of positives about the hotel, especially the buffet breakfasts and evening meals.

Major downside is that manager refuses to switch on air-con until some upper temperature outside is reached leaving his guests sweating and unable to sleep at night.

Check-outs take far too much time and risk missing flights so begin process as soon as you can.

There is a fantastic Eco-park directly opposite hotel but guests not provided with any info on what could be a highlight of their stay!

Room Tip: Can not have a good room without air-con
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    64
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
3
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The rooms are really nice, with a balcony overlooking a garden, they bring you a fresh plate of fruit and the bathroom is lovely. The restaurant serves an extensive buffet, but we did not sample it. The beds are hard, but comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

The Expo gardens hotel is situated within 20 minutes of the airport; is close to Yuan Tong Temple and only 5 minutes walk from the entrance to the Expo Gardens. It is however quite a way from the centre of Kunming city.

It is a curious place split over two sites; about five minutes walk apart, with an electric buggy running between the two. In retrospect, it is curious because there is little English spoken here and it took us a while to find our way around. For instance, it would have helped a lot to know that the bar, which is located near the reception desk, does serve food and drink throughout the day. There was no one at the bar when we arrived at 1pm and it took us quite some time being shuffled between the two locations before we found it was open and it even had a Western (albeit limited) menu. The barman suddenly appeared from nowhere and turned out to have quite good English, which proved to be quite useful here. This bar incidentally, also turns into quite a lively restaurant in the evenings, offering Chinese a-la-carte and a wide selection buffet menu. You can ask for a western menu for dinner but beware, as you will have to wait a while for a very Chinese interpretation of your order. The buffet is fine.

It seems that most of the bedrooms are located at the other site which consists of three story blocks arranged around a very attractive covered courtyard garden. Our room was clean and comfortable, with a separate sofa and, if it were not for a cracked sink, it would be up to good western three star standards. The mini-bar was almost empty, as is usual in Chinese hotels. However, there were three English language channels on the TV. We also had the bonus of a lovely view of the Expo Gardens (well worth the visit) from our bedroom window.

Breakfast is served at the Chinese restaurant in the bedroom complex, where a European selection is on offer.

This hotel is perfectly adequate for a two nights stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We were firstly impressed by the position out of the town centre (which is a big building site), close to the Garden Expo- Not to be missed even if you don't garden.
The indoor tennis courts, swimming pool and yes- 3 lane ten pin bowling alley - were all in first class order and woefully under-used when we were there, so we enjoyed them. The restaurant was 5*, the evening buffet meals cost less than 15 US and the breakfasts were high international standard. The room was fine, if a little unusual with window shutters separating the bathroom from the main room. We used the laundry service, the Business centre( they stayed till 11pm helping me one night and still smiled!) and their guides and the car service which were all excellent. The guides spoke good English.
They were slow on check out, but after many hotels in the last 3 years in China I can recommend this one easily. The room price we paid inc. full breakfast for 2 was about 60 US- great value for money. If you visit, go to the Stone forest first thing in the morning to avoid the crowds, the Garden Expo deserves a day, downtown was in August 2009 better ignored, hopefully it will improve.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Expo Garden Hotel (Si Bo Hua Yuan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expo Garden Hotel (Si Bo Hua Yuan)

Address: No.5 Expo Road, Panlong Area, Kunming 650224, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 1,005 Hotels in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Expo Garden Hotel (Si Bo Hua Yuan) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Expo Garden Hotel (Si Bo Hua Yuan), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.