We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kunming Jinjiang Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kunming Jinjiang Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.98 Beijing Road, Panlong District, Kunming 650011, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 885 hotels in Kunming
Dhaka, null, Bangladesh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hotel location is very good. Excellent Cleanness. Very good room service. Personally food problem for me!!! This is not important. Food problem is my own problem. Staffs are very cooperative. Room service very good

Room Tip: You can choose a deluxe room in building A.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    146
    48
    12
    5
See reviews for
21
36
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Xi'an, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was a very nice hotel. The room was comfortable and clean. Get breakfast included as it's decent with both Chinese and western selections.

It is very easy to get to by bus from the airport. There is a bus terminal just 100m away and the train station is just down the street so it is easy to get to the sites you might want to see. Make sure you get the sites name and location in Chinese since not many people at stations speak any English.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel was good value, we specified what time we were arriving so they wouldn't let the room go. The rooms were clean with comfortable beds and seating areas. However,as others have said, we had two rooms on a non smoking floor and they stank of cigarettes. The check in lady was brusque and not helpful any of the times we spoke to her. Finally, since one of my family got sick I put the do not disturb sign on the door. The cleaning people for our floor came into the room three times after knocking to ask if they could clean!
Very noisy and difficult to walk around outside the hotel because of work on the metro. The hotel is in a good location though, about 20 minutes walk from the shopping areas and flower marker and some great places to eat in the streets around.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The hotel is located very near facilities like train station and transport hubs. The airport-city bus is just outside the hotel. (25 Yuan each way). The cheaper price quoted by most online booking are for rooms in the older tower block. Like most older hotels in China, there will be a bit of remnants of cigarettes smoke as 80 percent of Chinese still smokes. it is not overpowering unless you are hyper sensitive. You can only avoid this in top notch new hotels. We had a twin room for two nights on each occasion within a span of 8 days. The rooms are not big even by Chinese standard.

We can speak mandarin and hence language is of no issue but I guess the reception staff can manage with some simple English. Free in room wifi and two bottles of mineral water plus two apples were prepared for us. As Kunming city is undergoing the construction of the underground train line, several streets were either blocked or barricaded making the traffic much more chaotic and dusty. Overall, we are pleased with service, location and value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level floors if you do not want any street noise from the underground rail and road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a large "Sheraton-like" level hotel with good basic rooms and amenities. It was good value for the price so no complaints about the hotel itself. Overall a decent stay.
We stayed here for just the night because of an overnight layover for our flight. The hotel is at least 30 mins away from the airport so perhaps not the most convenient location. Be warned that though it takes 30 mins at night with no traffic at all, it took us 1.5 hours in the middle of the morning with snarled traffic along the main roads and freeways. Another drawback (but this is likely common in China) is that our non-smoking room smelled faintly of smoke.

Eating tip: if you are hungry at night and feeling frugal, just around the left corner of the hotel is a road full of food stands where you can choose from various meat and veggie skewers and they grill it for you. Cheap and really delicious. Highly recommended. There is also a bakery where you can pick up some rolls for breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

My extended family members comprised two grandparents, six middle age adults and two toddlers. We stayed in four rooms, simple and clean with basic facilities. December is cold but bearable; on one day when the mercury dropped to 1'C, the hotel had difficulty providing adequate heating to all the rooms. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Beware touts who offer ridiculously cheap packages to tourist sites. Jiu Xiang is more exciting and fun compared to Xiling stone forest.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

From the time I entered to the time I left this hotel I have never felt been in a 4 stars hotel. The cleanliness is very questionable, the staff tried to cheat on me selling me a 25 yuans map which was given for free in thee street. We stayed for 2 nights and had to change of room for some reasons. The staff doesn't care about the clients and just want to make as much money on our back. The rooms are smelly and the cleanliness is questionable. It would be better to avoid the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kunming Jinjiang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kunming Jinjiang Hotel

Address: No.98 Beijing Road, Panlong District, Kunming 650011, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kunming
#10 Best Value Hotel in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kunming Jinjiang Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Otel, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Kunming Jinjiang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King World Kunming

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kunming Jinjiang Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.