We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value--a quality hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Lake Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Green Lake Hotel to your Saves list
Green Lake Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.6 Cuihu South Road, Kunming 650031, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 1,004 Hotels in Kunming
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very good value--a quality hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay and it was a very good experience once again. High quality place at at fair price for me. Room was clean with lots of nice bathroom items like shaving and hair and dental stuff. Breakfast was above average--good coffee!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    267
    34
    6
    5
See reviews for
25
47
8
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well located by the park with a nuce lake view
The rooms are very confortable with very good cable tv for english speakers.
The reataurant offers giid meals options besides Chinese food.
The only remark is the checkin and checkout services that are very confuse and not well organized.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We came to this hotel for a trip organised for us. The rooms are nice and clean, good for a few nights. The hotel has a lovely view of the lake, which I think is good for a short walk. The restaurant is OK, good breakfast but I tried going out to local places for dinner. I think this hotel would not be so great for couples and groups.

Room Tip: Rooms on a no-smoking floor are much better with cleanliness
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in a few places on my trip to China and this was one of the better ones. Rooms were nice, spacious enough and very clean. The lake is a nice attraction for a walk or stroll.
Food was better than most places in China. The lobby is a nice meeting place. Very pleasant stay, I would recommend it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We actually stayed down the road at the Grand Park - but wished we had stayed here instead. We went to the restaurant here one evening and it was surprisingly good. The food was great and it was cheaper than Shiping Hall and the Grand Park's restaurant. Impressed.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I had a very short one night stay at The Green Lake Hdrdotel but appreciated its luxury and service none the less. The public spaces are grand and elegant with beautiful floral displays.

My room was very comfortable (a relatively soft bed) with a modern bathroom and great amenities. There were some nice touches, cookies and fruit in the room and plenty of complimentary water.

Breakfast wasn't a good as I'd hoped but there was a huge choice of Asian breakfast options.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We booked an Executive Suite with a Green Lake view on a non smoking 12th floor. Reception was carried out on the 2nd floor at the Executive reception desk. Our room had beautiful flowers and a bowl of fresh fruit. Breakfast could either be taken on the 2nd floor or ground floor, we chose the ground floor as there was a greater choice of food. Breakfast was one of the best we had experienced in our China trip, with large choices of Western and Chinese food – eggs were cooked to order. We ate dinner in the evening in the same restaurant, which had an English menu. The Hawaii pizza that was hand made here was the best we have tasted anywhere in the world. All the Hotel staff were friendly & helpful. English was spoken at reception.
The suite was luxurious with the bedroom and separate lounge room having their own air-conditioning controls – air conditioning was very effective. Our King size bed was soft and comfy, two toilets, shower and bath. The bath & one toilet had an LCD television. All four televisions had Western & Chinese channels. Windows open for fresh air, curtains were electrically controlled from the bedside – a blackout and a curtain. Comfy couches with seating for five, computer in the lounge room, free China Daily newspaper, big room safe was bolted into the cupboard. Complimentary drinks, fruit and snacks on the executive floor together with bowls of apples & bananas outside the lift lobby.
We used the Hotel Audi A6L for airport transfers and day trips – the driver was fantastic and drove safely.
The two negatives that we found were that some people smoked in the lobby and in the lift.
The Hotel English website does not function properly and requires some work on the software. We also had great difficulty communicating with the Hotel via email.
Apart from the above we really enjoyed our stay and would certainly return to this luxurious Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Lake Hotel

Address: No.6 Cuihu South Road, Kunming 650031, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kunming
#30 Best Value Hotel in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Green Lake Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Green Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lake Kunming
Green Lake Hotel Kunming
Hotel Green Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Lake Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.