We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable sleep” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.399 Qingnian Road, Panlong District, Kunming 650011, China (Formerly The Bank Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 1,006 Hotels in Kunming
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Comfortable sleep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent only one night in this hotel but I had one of the most comfortable beds I experienced China. I got upgraded to what I believe was a business suite (with living room and additional separate toilet) and it was just great. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    18
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
14
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

We stayed here for 4 nights in late March 2015 and paid about USD 116 per night for a "superior" room, including taxes, breakfast, and wireless internet. Because we are members of the IHG loyalty program, we automatically got upgraded to a Club Room. Overall, we were very satisfied with this hotel. The best aspect was its location in the center of Kunming, only about a 10-minute walk from extensive shopping and dining choices. Our tours took us to most parts of Kunming, and we didn't see any internationally -branded hotel that had a better location. Check-in could have been improved, as there was confusion at the front desk about assigning us a non-smoking room. (After we complained to the IHG web site, the matter was resolved to our satisfaction.) The concierges were very friendly and helpful, although some had limited English. The breakfast room was spacious, and the choices at the buffet were extensive and delicious. The gym, pool, and spa all seemed to be recently renovated and were beautiful. The Club Lounge was also spacious and well-stocked with buffet items and drinks. The room itself was not large, but had a feeling of space, and was well-lit, especially the modern bathroom with separate tub and shower stall. Other commenters have complained about not being able to adjust the temperature in the room, and we had the same problem and ended up sleeping with the balcony door open. Wi-fi in the room was easy to connect, but not as speedy as we would have liked. But overall it was a great stay, and we would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Kunming on business or leisure.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Two nights here on business.
Very smooth service, everything as it should be.
I had a room with a balcony, comfortable bed, great sized room.
No real down side aside from the fact that I could have been in any hotel anywhere in the world.
Excellent gym and outdoor pool.
This really is a first class hotel.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

We went to Crown plaza kunming for celebrating my mother's 70 year birthday. Hotel is located along the stream. Hotel is two blocks away from Nanping street, where you can find many shopping malls and restaurants.

For my mother's birthday, hotel offered several benefits such as room upgrade, executive club lounge access, birthday cake and so on. Suite room was bit old but very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast has wide range of food from Chinese to Western. I especially liked Noodle soup and fresh juice.

I'd like to thank Ivy Jin (reservation manager). She perfectly arranged booking, gifts, cake and benefits. Thanks to her, our trip was wonderful. I cannot wait to come back.

我们去了这家酒店以便祝贺我母亲的七十岁生日。酒店位于市中心。很容易走到南屏街道。这条路有很多商店和餐厅。为了母亲的生日酒店提供很多优惠了(房间升级,行政酒廊,生日蛋糕等等)房间有点陈旧可是既大又舒适。早餐种类很丰富(从中餐到西餐)我特别喜欢汤面跟鲜榨果汁。我非常感谢金慧鑫(预订部副经理). 她帮了我安排好所有的东西。拖她的福我们都非常满意了。我们要尽快回去那里

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Nice hotel with friendly staff and a great location. Only major complaint is our non-smoking booking was not honored. You can't control the temperature in your room which is also a problem. The gym is fantastic and the Chinese restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

I believe this hotel has been up and running for a year and it shows in a good way. The room I had is probably the best one I've ever had in this category. It was quite big, decorated with taste (trendy without being getting on your nerves) and well designed. Bathroom was quite spacious and also well equipped and pleasant to use.

We had dinner at the hotel Chinese restaurant and it was excellent. Really a treat. The only cons is that the air conditioning is managed centrally. I usually turn it off in all the hotels I go to because I like the heat and hate living in a freezer. But I must admit it was sometimes too hot (26°C) and I could not lower the temperature except by opening the window to the small terrace.

Breakfast buffet was one of the better I had in this category. Really a great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015 via mobile

Ok. This is my first review ever. But I felt compelled to write one. I am a 38 yr old American businessman who has stayed in hundreds of hotels. This is in the top 10% in every category. The staff was amazing. A few small issues but all resolved to satisfaction.m I would recommend upgrading to a club room. I stayed on the 15 floor. Very nice. A great value. A+ I will be back again and again

Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre

Address: No.399 Qingnian Road, Panlong District, Kunming 650011, China (Formerly The Bank Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kunming
#19 Best Value Hotel in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Center is a premium landmark hotel in the heart of Kunming’s central business district. Located at the intersection of bustling Qingnian and JinbiRoads, beside the Panlong River, the hotel offers a convenient downtown location that puts the entire city at your fingertips. This includes a wide range of nearby shopping and entertainment venues. The hotel is just 3 kilometers from Kunming Railway Station and 30 minutes drive from Kunming Changshui International Airport. Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre is the ideal place to all your business and leisure activities just right in CBD Kunming. Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre offers 303 guest rooms, including 50 suites, 75 non-smoking rooms,a luxurious Presidential Suite and 65 Crowne Plaza Club rooms. All rooms are designed, furnished and fitted with amenities such as satellite TV, Sound system, mini-bar and safety box, those serves all needs of business, meeting, leisure and long-term guests. The Crowne Plaza Club Floor offers guests special club privilege, including fast check-in and check-out, complimentary breakfast and night cocktails and as full access to club facilities, also complimentary usage for private meeting rooms.The hotel brings varieties offers in the finest Chinese and western cuisines, as well as an outstanding selection of wines, all will make sure your dining experience full of enchantingly delicious. Atrium Café offering buffet breakfast, lunch and traditional western food, alternatively guests can order from a-la-carte menu. Wildfire Restaurant features classic steak and other international favorite that prepared to absolute perfection. The restaurant further offers selection of fine wines from around the world. Camellia Chinese Restaurant offers sumptuous Cantonese and Dian style cuisine; such as healthy soups, finest Dim Sum where traditional spices are gives a modern touch to deliver a creative and taste worthy experience. 399 Bar comes with a private cigars room offering wide collection of cigars, premium wines, whisky and cognac. And more in what we like to call a ‘real bar experience’ that includes ambient live Jazz and soul music. Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre offers total of 1,000 square meters conference spaces, including a plush Grand Ballroom that can accommodate up to 500 people and can divide into two separate meeting spaces;4 meeting rooms ranging from 54m square to 128m square. Meeting facilities include high standard of audio and video equipment, high-speed internet access and “One-Stop” Crowne Meetings team who is using professional service to ensure meetings complete with successfully. Crowen Plaza Kunming City Centre is “Traveling for success” location which at this beautiful “Town with Spring” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre Hotel Kunming
Bank Hotel Kunming

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.