We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel right in city centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.399 Qingnian Road, Panlong District, Kunming 650011, China (Formerly The Bank Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 1,006 Hotels in Kunming
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel right in city centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in June 2014. The rooms at this hotel are very spacious, spotlessly clean and the bed comfortable. There was free WiFi and a free movies channel showing fairly recent movies.

Locally there's a great selection of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, and Wang Chun Qiang from the Concierge really went out of his way to help when it came to booking a taxi. I'd recommend booking your taxis through the concierge to avoid some of the unscrupulous operators that sometimes linger around the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BankHotel-Kunming, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Jian Y ,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our guestroom details and service made your stay experience more memorable. We will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guests' to indulge in the best they deserve.

Once again, we look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future. Thank you!


Sincerely,
Marcom Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    18
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
14
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights at the beginning of June and were delighted with the quality of the hotel and the helpful and super friendly staff so we decided to book it again, this time for one week before we fly back to Spain. The previous comment re renovation we do not recognise, our floor (15) is very quiet. Yes, they are renovating but it is practically finished, the swimming pool will be open shortly, just as the third restaurant, 2 restaurants are already open.
Our room is a good size, clean and with the comfortable beds Crown Plaza is known for. Several TV channels in English. Could add BBC world.
The food is excellent and staff go out of their way to assist guests. We highly recommend this hotel.
The hotel is located at a short walking distance to shopping malls and restaurants in the centre of the town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BankHotel-Kunming, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guests' to indulge in the best they deserve.

Once again, we look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future. Thank you!


Sincerely,
Marcom Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Great service and the staffs are very helpful.

My only complain is that it is under renovation now. The notice level is crazy!!

Great location and reasonable walking distance from shopping areas. Definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BankHotel-Kunming, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for sharing your valuable feedback with regards to our hotel guest room. We are very sorry that you experienced inconvenience due to the We sincerely apologize for the renovation, now only a few renovation will be completed as soon as possible. Meanwhile, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our service made your stay experience more memorable. We will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guests' to indulge in the best they deserve.
Sincerely,
Marcom Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We had a very good experience at this hotel. Large, clean room that doesn't charge extra for teenage kids. Checkin was fast and efficient. Hotel is right in the middle of town. Walking distance to lots of restaurants. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BankHotel-Kunming, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our Guestroom made your stay experience more memorable. We will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guests' to indulge in the best they deserve.

Once again, we look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future. Thank you!


Sincerely,
Marcom Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I arrived late and seems that they improved a lot since repairs were done.

The bell boy help me with my luggage and check in was wonderful. I even get an upgrade due to the membership.

Breakfast is very good with real juice and well prepared dishes.

Rooms , bar and lounge were ok and it is totally what I expect from a 5 stars hotel.

On the other hand still some floors are on construction, such as the pool and some restaurants.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BankHotel-Kunming, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Algenib,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our breakfast made your stay experience more memorable. We will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guests' to indulge in the best they deserve.
Once again, we look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future. Thank you!

Sincerely,
Marcom Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
164 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Arrived about 12 am no body there to greet me and help with the luggage had to request help from the receptionist which tried his best to be helpful. The room good and clean the shower very good the bed comfortable. This hotel went thru extensive renovations so everything is fresh and up to date.
Check out took very long they didn't seem very organized one working on top if the other while attending to the Chinese who were cutting the line. The Chinese are notorious for that I am used to it but the problems were just piling up...
Then waited more than 20 minutes to get a taxi so almost missed my flight. All in all a very disappointing stay when staying in a hotel like crowne plaza I expect everything to be perfect no excuses and no sorry that is what we are paying for if I want to pay for excuses I can go somewhere else for much cheaper.
CP KUNMING get you act together.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BankHotel-Kunming, Manager at Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre. Feedback like yours is very valuable to us and enables us to monitor our standards, which on this occasion regretfully has failed to meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for this incident.
We hope this would not deter you from choosing Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again. Thank you!
Sincerely,
Marcom Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Newly converted to Crowne Plaza. Very friendly service. Close to everything downtown. We were upgraded to a suite due to our status with IHG (HolidayInn), better than some other IHG's. The suite was very good and clean. The service was excellent and fast. There seems to be house-keeping people working late shift.
Swimming pool was not open yet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BankHotel-Kunming, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guests' to indulge in the best they deserve.

Once again, we look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future. Thank you!


Sincerely,
Marcom Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre

Address: No.399 Qingnian Road, Panlong District, Kunming 650011, China (Formerly The Bank Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kunming
#19 Best Value Hotel in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Center is a premium landmark hotel in the heart of Kunming’s central business district. Located at the intersection of bustling Qingnian and JinbiRoads, beside the Panlong River, the hotel offers a convenient downtown location that puts the entire city at your fingertips. This includes a wide range of nearby shopping and entertainment venues. The hotel is just 3 kilometers from Kunming Railway Station and 30 minutes drive from Kunming Changshui International Airport. Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre is the ideal place to all your business and leisure activities just right in CBD Kunming. Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre offers 303 guest rooms, including 50 suites, 75 non-smoking rooms,a luxurious Presidential Suite and 65 Crowne Plaza Club rooms. All rooms are designed, furnished and fitted with amenities such as satellite TV, Sound system, mini-bar and safety box, those serves all needs of business, meeting, leisure and long-term guests. The Crowne Plaza Club Floor offers guests special club privilege, including fast check-in and check-out, complimentary breakfast and night cocktails and as full access to club facilities, also complimentary usage for private meeting rooms.The hotel brings varieties offers in the finest Chinese and western cuisines, as well as an outstanding selection of wines, all will make sure your dining experience full of enchantingly delicious. Atrium Café offering buffet breakfast, lunch and traditional western food, alternatively guests can order from a-la-carte menu. Wildfire Restaurant features classic steak and other international favorite that prepared to absolute perfection. The restaurant further offers selection of fine wines from around the world. Camellia Chinese Restaurant offers sumptuous Cantonese and Dian style cuisine; such as healthy soups, finest Dim Sum where traditional spices are gives a modern touch to deliver a creative and taste worthy experience. 399 Bar comes with a private cigars room offering wide collection of cigars, premium wines, whisky and cognac. And more in what we like to call a ‘real bar experience’ that includes ambient live Jazz and soul music. Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre offers total of 1,000 square meters conference spaces, including a plush Grand Ballroom that can accommodate up to 500 people and can divide into two separate meeting spaces;4 meeting rooms ranging from 54m square to 128m square. Meeting facilities include high standard of audio and video equipment, high-speed internet access and “One-Stop” Crowne Meetings team who is using professional service to ensure meetings complete with successfully. Crowen Plaza Kunming City Centre is “Traveling for success” location which at this beautiful “Town with Spring” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre Hotel Kunming
Bank Hotel Kunming

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.