We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of IC Holiday Shun Cheng Serviced Apartments

Save Saved
You added IC Holiday Shun Cheng Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
IC Holiday Shun Cheng Serviced Apartments
25F, Building B, Shuncheng Superior Apartments, Yanhe Road, Wuhua District, Kunming, Kunming 650032, China   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Airport Pick-up
Ranked #14 of 791 hotels in Kunming
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The location of the apartments is the best part. another plus point is that, in a city where almost no one speaks english, having a manager who can understand and speak good english, is a blessing! Rick was very friendly, and twice his help was very valuable when we were roaming around like headless chickens, because of the language barrier. The apartment was clean, with good facilities. however while booking our room we didnt know that there will be another occupant in the other room. but since we didnt see much of the other occupant, it wasnt a problem. Moreover, I was with my parents, had i been alone, i wouldnt have felt safe. maybe this can be specifically mentioned while booking. all in all it was good.

Room Tip: the food court and supermarket at the basement was quite handy...though it was bit of a struggle to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
7
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

On the positive side (i) a perfect location with all the shopping you need at your footstep, (ii) a large supermarket below the building, (iii) excellent and friendly help and advice from Rick, who manages the apartments, and can help booking anything you need, (v) a perfect local noodle shop 100 meters to the left of the entrance, (vi) plenty of taxis available just outside the building, (vii) good rooms with comfortable beds, free wi-fi and access to a basic kitchen, fridge and a washing machine, and (viii) all this to an unbeatable price.

On the negative side (i) it is hard to find the place so be sure to carry a print in Chinese of the full address, (ii) Rick is not always there, and the note on the door advising you call him is not of much help if you arrive like we did without a mobile phone with roaming. Fortunately for us Rick was in the apartment, (iii) cleaning of the room is not fully up to our standard, and (iv) it would be great if there were some free maps available when you arrive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have mixed feelings about this place. It was quite hard to find, and when we finally did, we had to get a building guard to let us in and escort us to the 13th floor, where we found the first sign that we were in the right place. The flat with the phone number on the door that we thought was the office turned out to be another apartment, and we woke up a guest ringing the bell. We finally reached Rick on the phone, and then waited for him outside. He took us to a flat on the 24th floor, which had great views and a lot space. We were alarmed, though, when he said that because it's busy season, someone else might stay in the other room (it was a two bedroom apartment). We had booked a "Superior City View Private Ensuite", and there was only one bathroom, and besides, if we had wanted to share our accommodation, we would have stayed in a hostel. We protested strongly, and he finally said ok, we'd have the place to ourselves.

After this awkward start, things were just fine. The wireless worked well, the bed was comfortable, and so was the couch in the living room. The bathroom was so so - no toiletries at all, not even soap on the sink, just towels and toilet paper. No shower curtain, so the whole floor got wet with each shower.

It would be a fantastic place for a family or a group of friends to stay for a few days - my husband and I only had one night there. The two bedroom apartment we had could have slept six (queen bed in our bedroom, amd two double beds in the other one), or even more - the couch in the living room could have slept two people at a stretch, it was one of those huge corner ones.

The location was great, five minutes from the bird and flower market. All in all, I'd probably stay there again if I was in Kunming for more than a day, now that I know how it all works. I would definitely try to contact Rick beforehand and let him know what time I expect to be there, though, to avoid having to hang out with my bags in the street by a nice shopping mall. It would be great if the booking confirmation (we had booked through Agoda) contained information to that effect. We had stayed at "serviced apartments" before, but they were always whole buildings dedicated to this, with proper signage and reception, so this was a strange first impression for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The manager Rick welcomed us and gave us plenty of information about Kunming and also helped us planned our travel around Yunan. The room was spacious and clean and the beds were comfy. We were surprised to find a full kitchen and washing machine, as well. Great option if you need a place to get things sorted out and plan the next leg of your trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Was a little worried to start with no signage on building indicating accommodation, looked just like an office block.
But things got better as we found Rick on the 13th floor.

The Hotel office door had a typed sign inicating to ring a number....not too flash if you have no local China mobile phone....we did & called.

Inside office area looked like an SP bookies shop & not what one might expect but things became more re-assuring (as I indicated previously) as we went along.
Rick has very good communication skills with all types of offers of help, if he can.

We were quite early & our room only just vacated, not cleaned yet.
Asking questions about local restaurants....we thought there appeared to be few. How wrong could one be?

I called up later & asked about a supermarket & blow me down there is one in the basement of this building & a great one @ that....with local lunches to order from there @ < ¥5.5!

But to get there you have to walk past dozens of good quality restaurants with local prices....there is a department store or 2 as well.

Kitchens & utensils (bring a knife & fork) are nothing to write home about, but you could not do better than the food downstairs.

Rick is wonderful, the apartments clean, spacious, well located & very economical.

On our China journey I would rate this better than all 4 & 5 star hotels we have stayed in, to date except perhaps Australia House in Shuhe (Lijiang), plus about 1/3 the price. Not luxurious but really comfortable & just like home.

They deserve your business, if you are planning on coming to Kunming.

Would highly recommend IC Holiday for both short, but especially longer term stays.

Room Tip: School across the road, loud music in the daytime. Typical traffic horn noise with doors open to out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I use to stay in these apartments quite frequently over the course of 6 months in early 2011 while I was travelling for work in SW China. Its nice to see that Rick is still doing well and managing lots of apartments in different locations. I am woman travelling by myself, and while I am fluent in Mandarin, it was important for me to have good security and clean places in China. My first time stay, I had some miscommunication with Rick, but it was all resolved later. I stayed in the Shungcheng locations several times, and each time it was an enjoyable stay. I had a room to myself with a large double bed, and corner windows, and ensuite bathrooms for about $26 CAD a night. The location was above a large modern shopping area, and I could venture out for meals and shopping. The street markets were also quite close, and I bought some amazing Puer tea there. This is definitely the location I preferred. Over the course of several months, whenever this location was booked, Rick put me up in one of the other apartments, near Beijing Lu. Those places were also quite nice, but lacked more of a full kitchen, and was in a quieter area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The location is just smacked in the heart of Kunming. It is just across the street from the flower and bird market, and just less than 10 mins walk to the Nanping Pedestrian Street. Wang Fu Jing Department store is just below the apartment. You cannot beat the location.

We booked a two room apartment (there were four of us) and it was comfortable and clean with kitchen facilities. Rick was very helpful and offer useful suggestions to our itinerary. He also helped book our bus tickets to Dali (just pay a commission per ticket). Overall, a very comfortable stay in a great location

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to IC Holiday Shun Cheng Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IC Holiday Shun Cheng Serviced Apartments

Address: 25F, Building B, Shuncheng Superior Apartments, Yanhe Road, Wuhua District, Kunming, Kunming 650032, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 791 hotels in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IC Holiday Shun Cheng is conveniently located in one of the most high end business communities of Shun Cheng in the heart of Kunming with lots of interesting things and activities to explore downstairs and around. Here we provide different types of apartments, rooms and dorms, and lots of extra services to make your stay in Kunming more comfortable and easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip DaoDao, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your IC Holiday Shun Cheng Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IC Holiday Shun Cheng Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.