We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dongchuan Red Land” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dongchuan Red Land

Dongchuan Red Land
Huashitou Country, Dongchuan District, Kunming 654109, China
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 153 attractions in Kunming
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Geologic Formations
Attraction Details
Lijiang
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Dongchuan Red Land”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I went to Dongchuan on July, the scenery is not very good. Best time to visit March to May, October. I will go there on this April, hope can see the most beautiful scenery. There is only one hotel on the scenery spot, it is very convient for sunrise photograph. If you need the hotel information, you can contact me.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Amazing scenery, truly living to its' given name of "God's Palette". High altitude at 2,750m above sea level, the soil is red due to high presenceof iron oxide. Patches of colour can be seen as farmers plant the mountains with rapeseed oil plant, etc. a photographer's heaven. However, there is no good hotel now as this place is not known to general tourism yet.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is definitely worth the visit. We rented a car and went to "hong tu di" 红土地. There are buses that go there too.
We managed to go from Kunming to hong tu di and back in 1 day but I think 2 days is probably better.
Just be careful what roads you take. On the way there we used a GPS and ended up going through some obscure road in the process of being repaired.....lets just say it was pretty scary.
On the way back we spoke to some locals and they advised us that 2 days prior to our visit they had opened a new tourist road. At the time of writing this article the road wasn't showing up on GPS. I'd advise anyone driving to take the tourist road because the other roads are quite difficult. The tourist road is also much faster than the highway and so far has no tolls.

In terms of the scenery it's absolutely fantastic and worth the trip. There are no tourist sites marked at hong tu di but you can stop along the way and gaze at the scenery.
Some of the local minority types there are quite fond of photos. I watched a whole busload of Chinese tourists each pose with an old couple and it didn't seem to faze them.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yunnan
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place to visit it, the best place for photographers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The best time to visit Dongchuang is after October. Especially after the harvest, the earth is so red. U had better stay there at least 2 days, The first day u can go to Luoxiagou to take photos at sunset .While you should go to watch sunrise in the morning at Damakan, and then u could visit Qicaipo, Qianniangushu,Jingxiuyuan.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Choose carefully”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We visited in May, it was spectacular, but not like on the photos, as it was too dry. Probably November is better.
Definitely worth a visit.
The only hotel was so dirty, I've never seen something like that.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dongchuan Red Land also viewed

 

Been to Dongchuan Red Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dongchuan Red Land, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dongchuan Red Land to your Saves list