We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairyland Hotel Kunming Gulou

Save Saved
You added Fairyland Hotel Kunming Gulou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fairyland Hotel Kunming Gulou
No.716 Beijing Road, Panlong District, Kunming 650051, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 791 hotels in Kunming
Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed in Kunming at the end of our trip to Yunnan, basically to rest up before our flight and to take a daytrip to the Stone Forest, so we didn't need a great room. We booked on Ctrip and for the price (<200 RMB), expected something barely tolerable. Imagine our surprise at finding a spectacular room, huge comfy bed, plasma TV, toiletries, etc. - all the comforts of a mid-range hotel that might run more like ~$75 USD in big Chinese cities.

The staff was fantastic. They brought up the construction and gave us a room at the far other end of the building (no noise). We got a discounted room, but when they saw how tall my husband is, offered us the normal room for <20 RMB ($3) more - they showed us both rooms so we could make an informed decision. They also did their best to give us restaurant recommendations (not many in the area). They also gave us information on the public bus to the Stone Forest - we had planned to take a train we'd read about on Tripadvisor - and wrote down the stop for our taxi driver. None of our cab drivers had any trouble finding the hotel, it's a pretty big chain, but it's important to know the name in Chinese (it sounds nothing like Fairyland) and also the specific location (Gulou), since there are something like a dozen in Kunming.

Breakfast wasn't great, but we left early most days anyway, so it wasn't a big deal. The hotel also provides rooms by the hour, which I hear is a trend worldwide, but couldn't help but feel strange about - if it's reassuring, we didn't see or hear anything sketchy, and we did see several Chinese families with kids in tow staying here. Again, it's not near any sights, but we didn't plan on coming to Kunming to see any city-based sites anyway, so we were quite pleasantly surprised by our lovely time here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    51
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yao, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late night at kunming airport. And then we went to hotel from the airport by taxi. It's about 20 $. And this airport is construction right now. So many facilities are not in survice. And if u r 2people over, recommend family room. Because there is one bed only in business room.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Noisy as there is construction going. Room was good and it was comfortably warm in it. Staff don`t really speak english but basic things you can manage. Room looked a bit worned out, but all that i could think was that i dont need to freeze when take shower. So in winter month good choice

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Fairyland Hotel for two nights in July. Unlike other reviewers we didn't have any trouble finding the hotel. We booked the hotel via Agoda and printed out the travel directions that were provided, which we gave to the taxi driver who dropped us in front of the hotel. The staff didn't speak or understood any English which made it challenging, but also fun to get a little information or assistance from them. They were however very willing to help. When the language barrier became too big of an obstacle and my offline translation app didn't work properly, the reception guy and I used the computer in the lobby to find a online translation tool that could do the job. That worked good enough.
The room was fine, although it smelled like cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The room itself is ok, apart from cigarette smoke on sheets, pillows and the room in general. Requested non-smoking, but did not get one. Ashtrays in rooms are a dead giveaway. Service was poor. They spent more time laughing behind theirhands at us??? Took forever to check us in, even though we were the only ones waiting. Took us 2 seperate taxis to find the hotel. Tucked away behing massive roadworks in front of building. It appears to be a Metro type construction. Breakfast did not start until 7.30 so no use to early starters eg tours etc.

Room Tip: Have your driver ring hotel on the way and get directions. Very difficult to find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

$33/night, better than expected. Subway construction out front hides hotel and the Chinese habit of motor scooters barreling onto the sidewalk around the construction is a serious death threat to you as a pedestrian. Room was large and clean. Breakfast was great if you like Chinese food as we do but not great if you want bacon and eggs. Staff was eager to help but limited English made for amusing (or frustrating) problems. The woman who appears to be the manager has excellent English skills and is very helpful but she is rarely around the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My family and I (2 adults, 3 kids) stayed one night in the family room. The room was adequate for 1 night. It is not old, but already shows signs of wear and tear (torn flooring). The beds were very firm (normal in China), but the sheets were nice and crisp. The bathroom was fine, but not terribly clean (hair in sink) so I had them come and clean it again. Free internet was a plus. No English spoken at the front desk, we managed with our Chinese, though they still seemed clueless about everything. We returned our key and forgot to ask for our deposit (100RMB) and they didn't offer it...oh well..We had called them a week earlier asking their help in finding our driver during our stay and they said they couldn't help. All in all, it was a good choice at that price for one night.

Room Tip: The family room has a queen size bed and a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairyland Hotel Kunming Gulou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairyland Hotel Kunming Gulou

Address: No.716 Beijing Road, Panlong District, Kunming 650051, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 791 hotels in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Ctrip DaoDao so you can book your Fairyland Hotel Kunming Gulou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairyland Hotel Kunming Gulou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.