We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairyland Hotel Kunming Gulou

Save Saved
You added Fairyland Hotel Kunming Gulou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairyland Hotel Kunming Gulou
No.716 Beijing Road, Panlong District, Kunming 650051, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 917 hotels in Kunming
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
“Bargain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

$33/night, better than expected. Subway construction out front hides hotel and the Chinese habit of motor scooters barreling onto the sidewalk around the construction is a serious death threat to you as a pedestrian. Room was large and clean. Breakfast was great if you like Chinese food as we do but not great if you want bacon and eggs. Staff was eager to help but limited English made for amusing (or frustrating) problems. The woman who appears to be the manager has excellent English skills and is very helpful but she is rarely around the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    54
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My family and I (2 adults, 3 kids) stayed one night in the family room. The room was adequate for 1 night. It is not old, but already shows signs of wear and tear (torn flooring). The beds were very firm (normal in China), but the sheets were nice and crisp. The bathroom was fine, but not terribly clean (hair in sink) so I had them come and clean it again. Free internet was a plus. No English spoken at the front desk, we managed with our Chinese, though they still seemed clueless about everything. We returned our key and forgot to ask for our deposit (100RMB) and they didn't offer it...oh well..We had called them a week earlier asking their help in finding our driver during our stay and they said they couldn't help. All in all, it was a good choice at that price for one night.

Room Tip: The family room has a queen size bed and a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
141 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

The Kumning Fairyland hotel is a decent hotel and about a 15 minute taxi ride from the airport.
The staff are friendly but have limited English - luckily my Chinese helped a lot but if you don't have many questions you will be fine.

The room on the top floor was a decent size and clean. The bed was very large and a bit firm but this is standard for China. Kettle, TV and broadband internet provided for free but there is no wi-fi in the hotel. For the price paid the hotel is a decent option.

Whilst the location isn't awful it isn't really that convenient either. It's near the river and not too far from YuanTong Temple. About 1/2 walk from CuiHu and WenLin Jie where a lot of restaurants and nightlife are. There are plenty of buses around if you can navigate them and taxis are still cheap in China, starting at 11 Yuan per ride.

Didn't try the breakfast which costs 15 Yuan. At reception you can buy soft drinks and pot noodle snacks.

The address in Chinese is 北京路716号云上四季酒店. If taxi drivers don't know where it is tell them Beijing Lu kou YuanTong Lu. 北京路口圆通路。This is the intersection of which the hotel is on.

There is construction outside the hotel as they are building a metro for Kunming but I didn't hear any noise.

Room Tip: 7th floor seemed quiet (apart from Chinese tourists shouting at each other)! Get an odd number room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed at the Fairyland for five nights in total; longer than we'd originally planned because we were so comfortable there. The bed was huge and a little softer than is usual in China which we appreciated. The windows opened when we wanted fresh air, and when we didn't there was very effective room controlled heating/air con. The hotel has all the basics: free internet (cable), a flat screen TV, tea and coffee making, and a clean modern bathroom with lots of hot water and great pressure in the shower. The staff were helpful and efficient, and one of the desk staff spoke very good English, which was a bonus. We didnt see any other Western tourists there but it was only a 20 min walk to the main 'foreigner'district, taking in the park on the way. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairyland Hotel Kunming Gulou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairyland Hotel Kunming Gulou

Address: No.716 Beijing Road, Panlong District, Kunming 650051, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 917 hotels in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip DaoDao and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Fairyland Hotel Kunming Gulou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairyland Hotel Kunming Gulou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.