We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and competent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Home Inn (Kunming Qingnian Road)

Save Saved
You added Home Inn (Kunming Qingnian Road) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Home Inn (Kunming Qingnian Road)
No.151 Qingnian Road, Wuhua District, Kunming 650021, China (Green Lake)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 791 hotels in Kunming
Beijing
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and competent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nice place, very friendly and accommodating staff including even maids and caretakers. Especially one of the receptionists was very patient with our basic Chinese (but they speak good English too). Perfect breakfast. Clean rooms. We spent there three nice days.

Room Tip: If you are disabled or have very heavy luggage - there is no elevator from the reception to the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    141
    52
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

This was just how I felt on checking in from my last leg of tour in Yunnan. If you don't mind the flight of stairs to the 1st floor for the lift and the traffic noise outside the hotel. Room facing the front was inevitably so but during peak hour only. Shops line both sides of the 2.5 km long Qingnian Lu. My taxi driver who said he was very familiar here, did missed the hotel.Telling him the number 151 put him back to track.The receptionist and staff are very courteous. The double room is clean, functional in size and good basic requirements. The 15rmb buffet breakfast worthy.
A 30 mins walk to Cuihu Lake to see seagulls. To the left walk to the Parkson and just next to it a Mall of various restaurants, western and 'guo qiao mi xian' a must try. Not far from here are the Dongfeng Square and also the JingMa Fang, shops and restaurants. JingMa Fang can be reached by commuting the No. 4 bus (1rmb) opposite Home Inn. Stations are announced in chinese and english. From JingMa Fang station hop on to No.73 bus to get to Yunnan Nationalities Village entrance fee 90rmb. At the drive way here you will find travel agent tout who will take you to the Dianchi Lake Western Hills nearby for a price which include entrance ticket, cableway, self guided tour and transfer.
Kunming World Expo, The Golden Temple and the Black Dragon Pool are all within easy excess from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

I spent my Christmas holidays here with my friend in 2009

The first three days were wonderful. We were recommended by my friend who had a discounted card. It was cheap and surprisingly clean. To my knowledge, there was no elevator. They're service was not the best and they tried their best speaking chinese with me. They are quite patient when they want. This Home Inn franchise is worth being a member in my opinion. The room has filtered water, cups, tv, full clean beds,
full shower with no tub (depends which suite), towels and working AC/heater and all the essentials you need. I honestly had no complaints about the conditions of the hotel. Our room was great.

The restaurant or breakfast they had was quite tasty. A little more pricey but excellent portions. The rest of the condition was quite alright. We were not backpackers but we wanted a decent CLEAN budgeted hotel instead of hostel. We were on holiday vacations, we wanted a bit of basic luxury.

The last time we came they were not as nice because we didnt make reservation but there was a room available for us. I would definitely come back. They are conveniently located with LOTS of places to eat. They close quite early but there are plenty of places to shop, eat and hang out.

Room Tip: YOU MUST make reservations or else they will not be kind to you. Just in case, KEEP YOUR RECEIPTS if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Stayed Puyung ,Kunming and Zhenzhou hotels good value and good locations

Room Tip: View room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Home Inn has many branches in China and within this QingNian branch, there are a number of others within walking distance. I liked the fact that they have made it easy for
booking online on their website in English ! So it is really easy for foreigners and the booking doesn't even need a credit card to secure the room. They sent you an email confirmation and hold your room till a certain time on the day of check in.
No service expected. Breakfast at 12rmb, not many variety. There's a McDonald's nearby.
Walking distance to JinMaFang - the shopping district of Kunming. Most Taxi do not know this hotel, as QingNian Road is very long. Hard to find a taxi during peak hours as it is always heavy traffic during peak hours.
Good price and clean small rooms, tho' the typical smoke smell of China cheap hotels are still present here. There are of course plenty of other options in the area for the same price. China is just full of options.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

Like other Home Inns we stayed in this was exceptionally clean and comfortable and although not perfectly located it was pretty good. Like other Home Inns you are battling to find anyone who speaks English but they do try hard to help you and it is excellent value for the price. Their food is not great but get over the road and into some of the back streets and you'll quickly find excellent food - there are many superb eating places in Kunming - just go where it is so crowded you have to wait and you'll get outstanding food. There is the splendid Buddhist temple just nearby. Nice street with nice modern shops if you like that sort of thing. Taxis outside the door and cheap.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Home Inn (Kunming Qingnian Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Inn (Kunming Qingnian Road)

Address: No.151 Qingnian Road, Wuhua District, Kunming 650021, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming > Green Lake , Panlong District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 791 hotels in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Home Inn (Kunming Qingnian Road) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Inn (Kunming Qingnian Road), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.