We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cleaniest and cheapest hotels I have ever been in China” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Home Inn (Kunming Qingnian Road)

Home Inn (Kunming Qingnian Road)
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Home Inn (Kunming Qingnian Road) to your Saves list
Home Inn (Kunming Qingnian Road)
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.151 Qingnian Road, Wuhua District, Kunming 650021, China (Green Lake)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 1,006 Hotels in Kunming
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The cleaniest and cheapest hotels I have ever been in China”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

I spent my Christmas holidays here with my friend in 2009

The first three days were wonderful. We were recommended by my friend who had a discounted card. It was cheap and surprisingly clean. To my knowledge, there was no elevator. They're service was not the best and they tried their best speaking chinese with me. They are quite patient when they want. This Home Inn franchise is worth being a member in my opinion. The room has filtered water, cups, tv, full clean beds,
full shower with no tub (depends which suite), towels and working AC/heater and all the essentials you need. I honestly had no complaints about the conditions of the hotel. Our room was great.

The restaurant or breakfast they had was quite tasty. A little more pricey but excellent portions. The rest of the condition was quite alright. We were not backpackers but we wanted a decent CLEAN budgeted hotel instead of hostel. We were on holiday vacations, we wanted a bit of basic luxury.

The last time we came they were not as nice because we didnt make reservation but there was a room available for us. I would definitely come back. They are conveniently located with LOTS of places to eat. They close quite early but there are plenty of places to shop, eat and hang out.

Room Tip: YOU MUST make reservations or else they will not be kind to you. Just in case, KEEP YOUR RECEIPTS if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    142
    52
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Stayed Puyung ,Kunming and Zhenzhou hotels good value and good locations

Room Tip: View room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Home Inn has many branches in China and within this QingNian branch, there are a number of others within walking distance. I liked the fact that they have made it easy for
booking online on their website in English ! So it is really easy for foreigners and the booking doesn't even need a credit card to secure the room. They sent you an email confirmation and hold your room till a certain time on the day of check in.
No service expected. Breakfast at 12rmb, not many variety. There's a McDonald's nearby.
Walking distance to JinMaFang - the shopping district of Kunming. Most Taxi do not know this hotel, as QingNian Road is very long. Hard to find a taxi during peak hours as it is always heavy traffic during peak hours.
Good price and clean small rooms, tho' the typical smoke smell of China cheap hotels are still present here. There are of course plenty of other options in the area for the same price. China is just full of options.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

Like other Home Inns we stayed in this was exceptionally clean and comfortable and although not perfectly located it was pretty good. Like other Home Inns you are battling to find anyone who speaks English but they do try hard to help you and it is excellent value for the price. Their food is not great but get over the road and into some of the back streets and you'll quickly find excellent food - there are many superb eating places in Kunming - just go where it is so crowded you have to wait and you'll get outstanding food. There is the splendid Buddhist temple just nearby. Nice street with nice modern shops if you like that sort of thing. Taxis outside the door and cheap.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Home Inn (Kunming Qingnian Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Inn (Kunming Qingnian Road)

Address: No.151 Qingnian Road, Wuhua District, Kunming 650021, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming > Green Lake , Panlong District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 1,006 Hotels in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Home Inn (Kunming Qingnian Road) 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Home Inn (Kunming Qingnian Road) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Inn (Kunming Qingnian Road), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.