We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Era Hotel Kunming

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added New Era Hotel Kunming to your Saves list
New Era Hotel Kunming
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Dongfeng West Road, Wuhua District, Kunming 650021, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 1,006 Hotels in Kunming
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Top Contributor
439 reviews 439 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
“Great service and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel is a modern and high-rise hotel in the centre of Kunming and just off the shopping mall. The service is excellent and although not all staff spoke English on the front desk, some did.
The room was a good size and very comfortable. The bathroom was also a good size and clean. The room was well appointed and had a safe in the room as well as internet connection. Facilities for coffee/tea were also available in the room as was complementary water. There was limited cupboard space in the room.
There were many restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel which served the traditional "over-the-bridge noodles" and the dry hotpot. The hotel had an excellent breakfast restaurant on the 28th floor and although Chinese fare was predominent, there was more than enough western fare available.
A definite hotel for a return visit to Kunming.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    228
    44
    6
    3
See reviews for
29
64
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the New Era hotel for three nights during our visit to Kunming and the Stone Forest. It's a great central location as other reviewers have mentioned, but what sets this hotel apart from others we've stayed at in China is the ultra-professional, ultra-caring service from all it's employees we encountered, from the bellhops to the lady serving the tea.

We especially would like to commend Miss Chen, the supervisor who checked us into our executive room on the 26th floor. She was so helpful, always smiling, and while her English was limited, she bent over backwards to make our stay a positive one. For example, my wife and her jacket was a victim of a woman who vomited while exiting the lobby elevator as we entered it. I kid you not. As we got to our floor, we showed Miss Chen what happened, and she offered to have her jacket cleaned, and it was returned the next morning. The hotel did not charge us for this unfortunate occurrence, and we really appreciate their understanding.

The room itself was fine with outstanding views, but the furniture and fixtures need updating. The bed was ultra hard, even by Chinese standards, and the shower, even though a modern rain shower style, contained moldy spots along the tile grout. Miss Chen told us all rooms probably have such mold as it has been a while since the rooms have been renovated, so we didn't bother to move to another room. We were told the 25th floor is "green", ie non-smoking with tubs instead of showers, so mold may not be an issue there. We opted to stay on the executive level, though, which also comes with teatime between 3 and 5 PM, including a nice selection of fruits and cakes,

The buffet breakfast is outstanding with enough selection for Chinese and Western tourists alike. Don't believe reviewers who say otherwise. Many hotel staff are there, serving coffee and getting the elevators. They are so nice and service oriented. This is as well-run a hotel as we've encountered, in or out of China.

Room Tip: Executive floor comes with teatime, but 25th floor is "green", while executive floors are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The New Era Hotel is an excellent choice: it is situated in the very heart of the city, in walking distance to major malls, restaurants and supermarkets. The rooms are sufficiently big and clean. Free water, milk, coffee and tea is provided. Vibrating condoms for 40 Yuan are a remarkable peculiarity. There is free internet in the rooms via LAN, wi-fi is only available in the lobby, but both can be occasionally dead slow. Breakfast in the 28th floor is a highlight, but you shall try to arrive early to avoid the crowds: very comprehensive Chinese options and some Western Choices, which you do not really need because of the excellent, freshly prepared Chinese noodle soup.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Nice hotel in the town center. Shopping malls, old street market and restaurants right around the corner. This is a big modern 28 floors hotel. The reception staff don´t speek much english, but they try very hard to be helpfull.
The room was pleasant and the beds were soft by chinese standards.
Don´t miss the restaurant Laofangzi 老房子 "The old house" just a few minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel was good, well located. But most of the staff couldn't even understand English. Kettle was provide without tea / coffee. Breakfast was mixed (as expected). But the choice was not adequate. Could have been better. They said wi-fi in room, but wi-fi was only available in lobby area. Temperature control of Air condition from rooms was not available. Hotel controls the room temperature.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I made a second visit to Kunming, China during Oct 12-14, 2012. A friend booked a room for me at the New Era Hotel, located in the downtown area. It is about 30 minutes drive from the new airport, which is the third largest in China, after Beijing and Shanghai.
I stayed on the 23rd floor. The room was pleasant, with a nice view of the shopping malls. You can watch CNN, BBC and some other English channels, and the internet was very fast.
Two apples were put in the room daily, along with two small cartons of fresh milk.
Staff were nice and helpful, and I enjoyed visting the shopping malls and the old street market, which is just a five minutes walk from the hotel. Breakfast is served on the topmost (28th) floor and I really enjoyed the dumplings and noodles and, of course, the nice view of the city.
Will be back next time with my wife.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong,
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We picked this based on JeffBHongKong's review and I am so glad we did and now can write about our own experience. We arrived in the afternoon, flying into the brand new airport which is much further away than the old one. Tip number one, don't take any approaches from people offering taxi at the airport, they approached me and were after 200Yuan and strangely were not going to bargain down past 150, I said no, knowing that it was definitely not going to cost that much! Walk to the start of the blue taxi queue, At the very most it will cost 100RMB depending on traffic etc and take about 40 mins but can take an hour if the traffic is terrible. Make sure you have the address in Chinese and map even though it was very well known. It was easy to get a taxi to this place and from. Clean Hotel, very central location, directly across from Suncheng Shopping Mall which has loads of international labels and walking distance from the supermarket and plenty of good restaurants, it also has a business centre. The check in staff have very little english, we had to wait for someone to step in. I used elong.com to book the hotel and I paid 885Y for dinner, breakfast and accommodation for Myself and two children 6&9yr old. I went to see concierge to collect the envelope with my tickets for Dynamic Yunnan that I had organised thru an agent and it took about 10 minutes and much gesturing and using my limited Manderin to get the envelope. They put us on the executive floor, which offered great views over Kunming, the beds were super comfortable, not as hard as many others in China. They provided welcome fruit which was great! There were lots of things that you could buy, socks, underwear, umbrellas, stockings and most strangely a vibrating condom in the bathroom toiletries, first time I ever saw that in a hotel displayed with the cost on the front.
We took a lunchtime flight and arrived mid afternoon. Once dropping our bags, and refreshing ourselves we went to see the Green Lake(see other review)....which is walking distance but spent to long and had to get taxi back. We needed a super fast dinner, I tried to explain to wait staff by producing my tickets and they ran to the chef and delivered our Pizza, very cheesy, and delicious rice and pepper beef dish! Fantastic Service! It gave us exactly 15 minutes to get to the show. But alas the good work done by the wait staff was undone by the bell boy, who after the showing our tickets he gave the taxi the wrong address, and after 10 minutes, I spoke to the driver and showed him the tickets and address, he was driving all the way to Nanjing! So we missed the first 15 minutes of Dynamic Yunnan....so sad:( At breakfast we arrived and it was so packed there were no seats, after walking around the restaurant twice, we ended up asking the restaurant staff to find us some, they did promptly. I would agree with the other reviewers that breakfast is average and little choice for a westerner. But there is fruit and toast and an egg station. We asked for boiled egg in chinese but they said sorry no. But we were the only Westerners staying here.
We went to the Business Centre on the 26th floor and did check out there, one spoke very good english, so if you need directions or advice or anything organised I would highly recommend just using their service.
Wait staff and Concierge Staff need further english training. New Era Hotel please invest in your people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to New Era Hotel Kunming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Era Hotel Kunming

Address: No.1 Dongfeng West Road, Wuhua District, Kunming 650021, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,006 Hotels in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Era Hotel Kunming 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kunming New Era Hotel is a four- star business hotel with a fresh reflection of Kunming historical culture. It locates conveniently at the center of Kunming city, where is adjacent with the Golden Horse and Green Peacock Square, the symbol of Kunming history and culture. The hotel is a 28-floor property, our holds 315 luxury rooms which is equipped with 10M high-speed internet access, central A/C, multiple choices of TV programs and other advanced facilities. The hotel has different kinds of functional rooms which are suitable for international conventions, banquets and exhibitions. Meanwhile we have 3 chinese and western restaurants which can meet the tastes of customers. Entertainment and recreation facilities are also available in the hotel and it must be the most favourable for the business trip.Located in the heart of Kunming city within walking distance of the following places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your New Era Hotel Kunming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Era Hotel Kunming, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.