We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in a busy city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yunnan Zhenzhuang Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Yunnan Zhenzhuang Guest House to your Saves list
Yunnan Zhenzhuang Guest House
No.514 Beijing Road, Panlong District, Kunming 650051, China (Jinmabijifang)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 1,003 Hotels in Kunming
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Oasis in a busy city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here in October 2012. Family of 5 with older children. Staff try very hard to help, but struggle with English. We were lucky to have one of our group speaking fluent Mandarin, or we would have run into problems. It is definitely a business hotel. Location is good though and the buffet breakfast is amazing!! Lovely gardens.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens. Rooms at the back are near the construction, so are noisier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    22
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
2
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

This is a typical hotel suited for Chinese businessmen.
Our bathroom flooded because the drain was blocked.
The staff try hard, but struggled dealing with foreigners.
My advice is to stay away from here until the subway construction is finished. Many roads are blocked, dusty, noise, etc.
I wouldn't say it was unpleasant, but it certainly wasn't pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Nice, clean hotel in a quiet cul de sac off a busy central road. Not much English spoken and no English TV channels so come prepared with a phrase book if you are not local. From here you can walk all around central Kunming very easily. Good choice at breakfast at a huge buffet and good service.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We were worried when we got in the taxi at the airport and the driver said, "Why do you want to go there? There are lots of better hotels in the city center. That place is all messed up." Well it turns out he was referring to the traffic in the area, which is bad for the time being because they are building a subway.

The hotel itself is really lovely, quiet and secluded, and the garden is large, well kept and beautiful. It was a great place for an evening walk, with azaleas, bougainvillea and bamboo artfully interspersed with ponds and Chinese pavilions. Our room was large and well-lit with two full beds with feather pillows. Overall it was very clean, though there were some stains on the carpet. The hotel is generally very quiet, though we did hear some muffled voices from the next room.

The service was very good, and the staff was very helpful in getting us a cab at 5 AM for an early flight out (this despite the warning from our first driver that there would be no cabs available at that hour). They also made us some delicious boxed breakfasts to take with us since we would miss the regular breakfast.

A couple of small things were less-than-ideal: (1) the smoke detector on the ceiling had a mini strobe light that flashed every few minutes - not noticeable when the lights were on, but in the middle of the night when you're still suffering from jet lag, it was annoying. (2) We had the dinner buffet since we did not feel like venturing out of the secluded comfort of the compound, and it was disappointing. While there was a nice variety, the serving dishes were not well heated and most of the food was lukewarm. We were very worried about possible food contamination - buffets are always a risk - but we were fine and did not have any gastrointestinal issues.

This hotel has an interesting aspect. It's not so much a tourist hotel as a conference facility and seems to be used frequently by the local Communist Party for various functions. So if you want to rub elbows with some real CCP apparatchiks this is the place!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

The standard of the rooms in this hotel was much higher than I expected. The rooms were very modern with lovely large clean bathrooms. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was a buffet with a good variety of food - chinese and western.

The hotel itself is average looking, but it is set in a lovely garden with lakes and it is beautiful place to come back to after a long day sightseeing.

It's location is nice and central, so no need to catch a taxi if you enjoy a walk.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

The hotel is located in a garden/park in the middle of the city not far from the government square. They tell us that it was formerly a guesthouse for government officials and now it's a hotel. It's quite nice - especially the garden in front of the hotel with a few ponds of fish. Since the hotel is setback from the main road inside the garden, it is quiet. The rooms are large. I would call the rooms "quite clean" if not for the many stains on the carpets. Like most far east hotels, the beds are quite firm. Staff were helpful - but little English is spoken. There is a very good restaurant - Chef's Garden - about 3 blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yunnan Zhenzhuang Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yunnan Zhenzhuang Guest House

Address: No.514 Beijing Road, Panlong District, Kunming 650051, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming > Jinmabijifang , Panlong District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Yunnan Zhenzhuang Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yunnan Zhenzhuang Guest House Hotel Kunming

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yunnan Zhenzhuang Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.