We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional receptionist and bad bad breakfast!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Central Xi'an

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines Central Xi'an to your Saves list
Citadines Central Xi'an
3.5 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   No.36 Zhubashi Road, Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 2,158 Hotels in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 604 Reviews
Brunei
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Unprofessional receptionist and bad bad breakfast!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

When checked in, the price of 2-bedroom apartment comes included free breakfast for 2 person which is clearly stated in the reservation. But the receptionist insisted is for 1 person. They seem like have difficulties in understanding the statement. We debated for awhile then finally they agreed with us. As a member of the group, we are very familiar with their breakfast policy.

The buffet breakfast is sucks. We entered the restaurant at 8am and find the foods were finished and no one bother to refill immediately, waited 10 mins for the foods. The wait was useless. The foods taste yucks, its not up to the standard. Would rather to cook ourself in the apartment.

It understands that 3 brands under the group, citadines has the smallest apartment size.So everything from bedroom, living room, kitchen,bathroom and toilet has limited space, not spacious enough to accommodate the whole family.In the new future, try to avoid to stay in citadines property if possible.

Beside the above, the property is well located and near to the muslim street and all the shopping malls.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Babybun, hello from Citadines Central Xi'an and thank you for your review. Firstly,we are glad to hear that you are a member of our Ascott group and we would like to thank youfor your continued support for the brand! We apologize for the inconvenience with the breakfast coupons, and will strengthen our processes to avoid a repeat. We are also sorry for your bad experience with the buffet breakfast, and will work with our breakfast operator for the improvements. You have rightly pointed out that we have 3 brands, with each brand catering to different customer needs. Ascott and Somerset apartments are targeted at larger families, hence the larger apartment sizes. Though our rooms may not be as spacious as our other brands that you have stayed at, we still boast an excellent location as you have stated. We look forward to welcoming you again to any of our Ascott properties world wide!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    307
    76
    26
    11
See reviews for
179
188
67
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here with a family of 3 people, I would have given it 4 stars except that the room we were given only had a sofa bed in the room for our child and we had to ask to get it made up, it should have been ready for us. The aircon didn't get the room very cool on a hot day so we opened windows and it was noisy outside. The queen bed was hard but most beds in China seem to be that way. Lots of power points with universal plugs which was good. The room was modern and was equipped with a kitchen. The breakfast was good and had two options - a takeaway style in a lounge and a buffet. Reception had good English and gave good directions. The hotel is in short walking distance to the south gate of the city wall as well as the drum tower so it is well located inside the ancient city walls. It would suit a business traveller I think.

Room Tip: get a higher floor to avoid outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Poddleplop, greetings from Citadines Central Xi'an and thank you for your kind comments. We apologize that we did not anticipate your needs better and opened up the sofa bed, we will strive to do better in future. We are glad you enjoyed the rest of our facilities, and hope you enjoyed yourself exploring the attractions in Xi'an. We hope to welcome you back in future for leisure or business. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed there in September. Maybe we were luckier than others because our room was larger than we expected, clean and well-maintained. For the money we paid we felt we got a really good deal. It was really a small apartment with a kitchenette and a sitting area. We found the beds to be comfortable enough. Like everyone else, we found the main attraction was the convenient location. We never ate breakfast in the hotel so offer no comments. Staff were helpful with directions and area advice.

If I have a complaint, it's that the computers set up for guests were impossible to operate. After spending 30 minutes trying to get on to Hotmail, I gave up in frustration. However, this wasn't unique to this hotel. I had the same trouble at our hotel in Beijing and at the Hong Kong airport. The hotel's Wi-Fi was very good and I ended up sending e-mails via my wife's tablet. So if you're going to China and want to use a computer I strongly suggest you bring your own iPad, tablet, laptop etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear artmc, nihao from Citadines Central Xi'an and thank you for your review! We are glad that you found your stay here to be value for money, and as you have pointed out we are set up more as apartments than the average hotel rooms. While the property is slightly aged, our team does its best to maintain clean and comfortable conditions so our guests have the best experience possible. I apologize for the trouble you had with the computers at the lobby, some of our guests encounter problems accessing foreign websites though this is an issue that is widespread through China. As you pointed out, our rooms all come with WIFI so everyone is welcome to surf from their own devices. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

the hotel is centrally located, ideal to visit xian, hotel staff is extremely kind and give advise on how to reach the terracotta warriors wth public transportation if you want to, rich breakfast and perfect wireless connection.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear simona m, hello from Citadines and thank you for your review! We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay here with us, and look forward to welcoming you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

It seems that Citadines has simply taken over a local hotel and put its name on it without doing much to the facilities or the service.

The hotel corridors and interior does look fairly shabby upon first inspection (the couch was quite old). It certainly does not reflect the pictures on the website. The room is better at night because of the lighting. We got used to it quickly and it was quite spacious.

For the price I think this is a decent hotel in a good location, close to the drum tower and the Muslim quarter. The wifi worked well. The bed was OK. There were international channels (CNN, BBC etc).

The service staff were not particularly friendly. The breakfast was pretty bad.

Studio rooms only come with 1 breakfast per day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear chickenvspeter, hello from Citadines Central Xi'an and thank you for your review! To clarify, Citadines has been running this establishment since its opening in 2008. As we have been operating for a number of years, the facilities are slightly worn. We are glad to share with you that we have a renovation scheduled for the end of this year, after which we will be able to bring you new and improved rooms and facilities to improve your stay experience. We apologize for the service and the breakfast, and will use your comments as a basis for improvement. As you have pointed out, our studio rooms come with 1 breakfast per day, and our studio twin rooms come with 2 breakfasts per day. Additional breakfast coupons can be purchased at the Front Desk, and guests are also encouraged to explore the surroundings for a taste of the yummy treats that locals have for breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel when visiting Xian mainly due to the location. The airport shuttle bus stops a 5 minute walk away and as it was our first trip to China we tried to simplify the travel arrangements as much as possible. The bus stops outside the Melody Hotel and Citadines is just around the corner. The hotel had mixed reviews on Trip Advisor but as quite a few had said it was clean we decided to give it a go. When we checked in they asked for 200 CNY deposit which would be refundable at checkout. The corridors of the hotel are basic, there is nothing welcoming at all. When we got to the room it was again very basic, we were stunned into silence. There was a small kitchenette, a small bathroom, a sofa and a double bed. The sofa had seen better days and we did not use it at all. The bathroom did not have a wash basin, it was situated just outside the bathroom door. The bath itself was chipped. The bed was so uncomfortable that we did not get any sleep at all for the 2 nights we stayed. We had arrived late afternoon and after a walk we decided to eat at the restaurant attached to the hotel, it was the worst Chinese food we have ever tasted, service was poor and we ended up leaving most of the food, we asked for a bottle of water and for some odd reason they did not provide any glasses, after requesting glasses we were given one, so after another request we finally prised another glass out of them. We had booked breakfast but when we went to have breakfast which is served at the same restaurant we had dined at the previous night we were told the breakfast voucher was only for 1 person, we said that was a mistake however they said to check with reception who confirmed that breakfast was only for 1 person so we asked them to change the date on the second days voucher and we would have to pay for the next day. Once again the restaurant was dreadful, it was 7 am and they still were not ready, service was dreadful and the food was even worse. We left promptly and decided not to bother with the following morning as we were leaving at 8 am for the airport. We were glad to leave the following morning after another very uncomfortable night. Apart from one other hotel in India which we promptly moved out of the next day I think this has to be the worst hotel we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear UKtripper, greetings from Citadines Central Xi'an and thank you for your feedback! We apologize for your disappointment with our rooms and facilities. While we do not offer 5-star luxuries, one of the reasons many of our guests choose to stay with us is because we offer good value-for-money. While some of our furnishings are basic, we do provide a host of other amenities such as a kitchenette and cooking utensils which one would not be able to find in most hotels. That being said, you will be glad to know that we are scheduled for a renovation at the end of the year to refresh the rooms and premises, and hope you will visit us again then to experience the improvements for yourself.

We also regret your poor experience with the buffet breakfast and restaurant. We work with an external vendor for the breakfast and have relayed your comments to them and are working with them on the improvements. They also apologize for the unsatisfactory experience and will review their service standards.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope you will give us another chance to serve you better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The most important thing about this hotel is it's location - right in the centre of Xi'An, 3 min walk to the Muslim Quarter and the Bell Tower, 10-15 min walk to the South Wall, 3 metro stops to the Shaanxi Museum. The hotel shows it's age - it's not dirty but not particularly clean either - it's just a bit worn out and should be freshened up but for the price ( paid £40 incl. breakfast ) it's not a bad choice. The rooms are big, bright and functional ( have a separate kitchenette ) but don't expect any luxuries - this is a 3 star apart-hotel, with typical hard Chinese beds ( I stayed in 4 star hotels elsewhere in China and the beds were great ), bathroom shows a bit of mould but not terrible. Breakfast is very poor - basically you can have a fried egg or an omelette and a toast with jam. That's it, as far as western food goes. There are some dumplings and noodles but nothing looks very appetising. You can have a packed breakfast ( sandwich, cake, yoghurt, juice, apples, tea or coffee ) on Floor 6 and eat in your room. The reception staff are very nice and helpful.
Tip - if you want 2 breakfasts, book a twin room. Double rooms come with 1 breakfast only. You can still swap for a double room ( you get a sofa in the sitting area instead of the 2nd bed ) but will have 2 breakfasts.

Room Tip: Higher floor, less street noise. Twin rooms only up to floor 6. If you want higher, ask to swap for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Groch2010, hello from Citadines Central and thank you for your review! We apologize if our facilities and cleaning standards were not up to your expectations. You will be glad to know that we have planned for a renovation at the end of this year to revamp our rooms and facilities so as to better servve our guests. We will also work with our breakfast vendor to icrease the western selection at our morning breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back in future to experience the improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Central Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Central Xi'an

Address: No.36 Zhubashi Road, Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Central Xi'an 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Central Xi’an is the first international brand serviced residence in Xi’an. Its ideal location in the city centre places it within walking distance to office towers with multinational companies, famous local specialty food street and cafés, and a bustling street bazaar. Just an hour's drive from the city center is the famous Terra cotta Warriors, a Unesco World Heritage Site. At Citadines, you can have the freedom to live the life you want. Just choose from our menu of flexible services to suit your lifestyle and budget.Your serviced residence has everything you need for rest, work and play - in a living space that doubles up as a home office with wireless internet access. The residence features a fully-equipped kitchen and living room, separate from the bedroom, so you can invite friends over or recharge after a hard day's work.The sleek home entertainment system with cable TV mounded on wall and slides smoothly from bedroom to living room, so you can watch TV or enjoy your favorite music wherever you want.Drop by the Breakfast Lounge for freshly brewed coffee. Or work out at the Fitness Corner and relax at the TV Lounge - the options are endless. At Citadines, you will find friendly staff who are delighted to share their local knowledge and help you settle in quickly and experience the local culture.Citadines Central Xi’an is one of a vibrant collection of The Ascott Limited’s serviced residences in over 70 cities in Asia Pacific, Europe and the Gulf Region. A member of CapitaLand, it is the global leader in branded serviced residences, bringing you more than 25 years’ experience in supporting travellers who work and live away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Citadines Central Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Central Xi`An Hotel Xi`An
Citadines Apart Hotel Xi An
Citadines Central Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Central Xi'an, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.