We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beat hotel in xian so far” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 2,166 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Jose, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beat hotel in xian so far”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Clean and well maintained/managed hotel in xian. Third time to stay, and it is comfortable to stay.

It is pricy in china, but, service is good and hired staff who can speak english and korean. Good effort for customer oriented. 1F breakfast restaurant is also very nice to me.
Smog and air pollution is all same in xian.
But, not many restaurant near by i can go as foreigner. So will try other hotels ^^

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMMSLXN, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Kihwan Y, thank you very much for choosing Shangri-la Hotel, Xian and sharing your staying experience with us. We're pleased that you were satisfied with the hotel products and service. As the reataurants problem you raised, we suggest that you could also try our Thai Restaurant in the hotel, as well as a Portuguese reataurant just next to the hotel. We're happy to introduce more information to you when you come to Xian next time. Thank you again for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    420
    62
    7
    5
See reviews for
68
115
16
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Although I make an effort to look for newer hotels when coming to Xian on business, I always end up staying at Shangri-La. Service, room quality is consistently good. My only comment is that with the increasing bad air quality, the Hotel should upgrade it's indoor air quality or air purification system.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMMSLXN, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear kmquek, thank you very much for staying at Shangri-la Hotel, Xian and sharing your feedback here with us. We're so pleased to be as your consistent choice in Xian. Thank you very much for your great support and suggestion. We'll seek some ways to make it better. Look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Excellent service throughout all departments of this hotel. Staff are always willing to go above and beyond what is expected of them to ensure that your stay is one that you will never forget. I would recommend the breakfast buffet at the Yi Cafe.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMMSLXN, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear David K, thank you very much for choosing Shangri-la Hotel, Xian when you visited Xian. We're pleased to hear that you had a execellent stay with us. Thank you again for your support and comments. Look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Best Hotel Experience ever.... Lovely hotel with extra lovely staff... Would recommend to everyone!! not come across a better hotel experience before and i am a regular at shangri-la's around the world...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMMSLXN, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Irfy A, thank you very much for staying at Shangri-La Hotel, Xian and sharing your feedback with us. We're so glad that you feel satisfied with the hotel facilities and services. Thank you very much for recommending the hotel. We hope that Shangri-La Hotel, Xian will be your "home" at Xian. Thank you again for your kind support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is an excellent and reasonably priced hotel in the centre of Xi'an. Ideal for trips to the Terracotta Army, Walled City etc. the hotel guide we had was very pleasant and informative. Airport transfers make for very easy travel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMMSLXN, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear lou055, thank you very much for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Xian and sharing your stay experience with us on Trip Advisor. We're so pleased that you had a wonderful travel in Xian and a nice stay in our hotel. Thank you again for your great support and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Everything about the hotel was wonderful, gracious and efficient. The hotel accommodated our needs for a quick overnight stay and visit to the Terra Cotta Warriors. The stay and the guides were perfect



  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMMSLXN, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear MrKlein12 , thank you very much for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Xian and sharing your experience here. We're pleased that you had an execellent stay and enjoyed your trip in Xian. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is the first time I have been to Xian. I selected Shangri-la Xian purely due to its brand. However, it is to my surprise that the service here was very personal and attentive. The day we arrived xian was a very foggy day (due to air pollution in China). The concierge people were so sweet to provide us a very good quality mask, when my family and I went out for a walk. Another surprise was the guest relations people sent me a birthday cake(of course on the hotel) and card on my birthday. I had never had such a wonderful experience before.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMMSLXN, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear WMSze, Thank you very much for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Xian and sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We're very glad that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel and a nice trip in Xian. Look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel

Address: No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#2 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#80 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Xian
Shangri La Hotel Xi An
Shangri-La Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.