We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal Service, Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Package
Ranked #3 of 2,154 Hotels in Xi'an
Stanford, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Personal Service, Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

You can rave about the beautiful property and lovely accommodations, but it's the attentive service that made this a stand-out experience. After a week in Beijing for business, this was the vacation part, seeing the TerraCotta Warriors and taking a tour to Hu County. The tour guide, Jun, arranged for by the hotel, was wonderful. He had excellent English and knew how to strike a balance regarding the amount of information provided. We spent 1 and 1/2 days with him, so got a good sense of his knowledge and persona. My husband was having some unexpected hip troubles, and Jun patiently pushed him a wheelchair--in freezing temperatures and terrible pollution--without complaint or any sign of tiring. The drivers were excellent too, never showing impatience with the traffic or mechanics of getting my husband in and out of the van. The hotel was festive with holiday decorations, even having youngsters singing Christmas songs (in English) in the lobby one evening. The staff made sure we had everything we needed. When we got back one afternoon and our room wasn't warm (our fault--we'd turned off the heat that morning because it'd gotten warm during the night), they adjusted the thermostat and had a space heater there within five minutes of our call.

For people who love art, sign up for the Hu County tour. We were taken to the home of Li Fenglan, whom one might call China's Grandma Moses. (One of her artworks was a gift to Nixon when he first visited China.) She's in her 80s and still charming and spry, though her memory is going. This was one of the most incredible experiences of our lives. She is regularly visited by people from China, but few Westerners visit her. And to spend an hour in the home (modest by Western standards) of someone who has lived through the Cultural Revolution and given so much to her country is a remarkable experience. Kudos to the staff at the Shangri-la for facilitating such an experience!

The pollution levels were very high, so be sure to wear masks if you go to Xi'an. Take along your cough medicines and such so that you don't have to bother with finding them there. (However, I know the hotel would get you whatever you needed.) Visitors to Xi'an should consider the fall, we learned, because the rain helps clean out the air. By winter, people are burning coal, which contributes to the high pollution levels.

We had several meals in the hotel restaurants, and they were very good. My one minor complaint was that the food in the breakfast buffet wasn't as hot as I like. I know that's a challenge with buffets, but some hotels do pull it off. There was a great variety, and it's always fun to be able to sample things that we wouldn't normally have for breakfast. They provided great box lunches for our tours, and the staff wanted to send us to the airport with a boxed breakfast. (It was too early for us to take advantage of, but a gracious offer.)

We had taken the morning bullet train from Beijing to Xi'an, which was lovely (though the hazy air meant not seeing much of the countryside). For the return, we flew back to Beijing and connected for our return to San Francisco. That was a great way to see a bit of the country on the way, while being more time-efficient for our return home.

I highly recommend a stay there!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMMSLXN, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear SuzBana,thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Xian, as well as your feedback. I am very concerned about the breakfast issue you have raised. I have shared your comments with the relevant department heads and necessary action will be taken to improve.Your comments are very important to us and I hope that we could have another chance to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    415
    62
    7
    5
See reviews for
66
111
15
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi, India
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I had mixed feelings about this hotel. I live in Shanghai, but came here with my visiting daughters to experience a luxury hotel and see the historic sights. Unfortunately, the air quality was so bad that we could hardly see across the street - no scenic views. The hotel common areas were hazy also. The staff was very nice but not proactive. For example, we checked in Sunday and weren't told about the free shuttle to tourist attractions that only operates on the weekend, so we missed it. We weren't told about the 2-for-1 weekday massage deal, or that the old city shuts down from 7-10:30 on Christmas Eve, even though we asked for advice about where to go that day. We just missed getting trapped in a chaotic Christmas Eve celebration. And it was very difficult to get information about the nearby movie theatre, any reasonably-priced restaurants within walking distance, etc. The hotel should create a handout for visitors that includes tips and a weekly schedule of Xi'an highlights and special hotel or other deals. Alternatively, they could provide a "what's happening in Xi'an this week" publication. On the other hand, the pool, gym, and dressing rooms were wonderful, with a sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, towels galore, and free fruit and water. The breakfast buffet was incredible! Great combination of Western and Asian foods of the highest quality.
The biggest downside of our trip was the awful smog - it was in the 700s (hazardous) range for all four days we were there. If I were running the hotel, I would have figured out some way to address this and make things more positive, like a coupon for an entry-level spa treatment, or free drinks with dinner, or a two-for-one dinner deal. The front desk did help to get a room air cleaner for our room, since it smelled like smog.
The spa was really overpriced. We went next door to the YiYan salon and negotiated three 90-min. massages for 248 Yuan each. The hotel spa price was 780 for 60 minutes. However, the massages we received were pretty intense, so I would recommend this heartily if you like deep-tissue massage.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMMSLXN, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear DelhiExpat1, thanks for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We feel disappointed with your stay experience with us. Your comments on hotel staff’s service quality & delivery has been well noted and series of related trainings in different departments will be carried on by the related managers.Thanks again for your valuable sharing and we look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

This hotel has much to recommend it. Although it is not in the centre of the city (i.e. not by the wall) the amenities do make up for needing to use taxi's- although if you want to go to some places taxis can be hard to catch here. The hotel is really excellent, the staff warm and welcoming, there is an excellent breakfast and good restaurants and the rooms are very comfortable. The internet is accessible. Good English is spoken and the staff work hard to help you have a good stay.

Room Tip: The smog in Xian makes it difficult to see much at times but both sides have interesting city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMMSLXN, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Sarah2708, thanks for giving the review on Trip Advisor. We're glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will continuously strive for delivering excellent Shangri-La hospitality, and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

A beautiful hotel. Warm and welcoming staff. Truly the best place to stay in Xi'an.

We have nothing but great things to say about our brief time at the Shangri-La Xi'an. Our room was lovely and well appointed. Everyone we met was friendly and helpful. A pleasant conversation with an employee in the lobby (Scarlett) resulted in a sweet hand-written note being left for me. A nice touch that I will treasure as a special memory of my visit.

Dinner and breakfast were both in the hotel "Coffee Shop" and were excellent.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMMSLXN, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear FiddleBlameKAngel, Thank you very much for choosing Shangri-la Hotel, Xian and sharing your staying experience on Trip Advisor. We're pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us, look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

After a long trip finally arrived in the hotel, and you simply come to heaven. Nice surrounding, friendly people, perfect service and comfortable rooms.
More you cannot expect. Breakfast is great and dont let anything open.
Just a great experience and any time again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMMSLXN, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Michael A , thank you very much for staying at Shangri-la Hotel, Xian and sharing your feedback with us. We're pleased that you were satisfied with the hotel facilities & service. Thank you again for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

After staying at two Shangri La hotels in China they are my new favorite chain. The hotel is beautiful, staff is so helpful and the rooms are great. The spa and restaurants are fantastic as well with the Thai restaurant being our favorite. The jewelry store in this hotel is also very nice.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMMSLXN, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear EHennMN, thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Shangri-la Hotel, Xian. Thank you again for choosing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

When coming to Xi'an, I prefer the Shangri-La hotel in the new business and high tech district. It provides perfect accommodation and excellent service.
The Thai restaurant is nice, the lobby lounge provides a very nice atmosphere and even some nice snack, if you arrive late.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMMSLXN, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Ralf M, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel

Address: No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#2 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#2 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#77 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Xian
Shangri La Hotel Xi An
Shangri-La Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.