We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Package
Ranked #4 of 2,024 hotels in Xi'an
Houston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is very good and the service is excellent. I had booked a car from the hotel to pick me up from the airport. The drive in was pleasant and when I arrived, I was met at the door by the hostess who escorted me to my room to do the registration.
Everything is nice and the breakfast is quite good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    429
    403
    59
    7
    5
See reviews for
59
101
15
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri City, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The room was excellent, and the services of the Horizon Club lounge were very good. We ate breakfast (included) one day in the main dining room and on the other day in the Horizon Club. The buffet selection in the dining room was, of course, better than that in the Horizon Club, but the latter was much more peaceful. We recommend this hotel chain for travel in China.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Nice hotel overall and reasonably central. Service from staff was very good and food (breakfast) was nice in the morning. Only real issue for me was the bed in our room was uneven and basically worn out so very uncomfortable to sleep on. Once a new mattress goes on the bed, the room becomes great again.

Room Tip: 1614 is the room to avoid until the bed is fixed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Shangri La Hotels are excellent and this one is no exception. Rooms have wonderful touches like night lights under the night stands and bathroom vanity that eliminate the worry about getting around at night. Young ladies and gentlemen are in the lobby looking for an opportunity to make ones stay better. The food is some of the best in China. Staying here is more like staying on a fine cruise ship than a hotel. There are good reasons that their prices are higher than other fine hotels. Try it once and you will see why.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We love the Shangri-La and stay there whenever possible. Xi'an's Shangri-La hotel is another example of amazing hospitality. When we had two flights cancelled due to Typhoon Usagi, guest relations (Thank you Jessica!) took care of us and made sure we had help at the airport and a place to come back to. Everything was seamless and made for a nice extra couple days in beautiful Xi'an. Thanks also to Angel and Vicky who also took great care of us. Truly amazing service. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Okay so I left my IPad on the plane when I landed at Xi'an airport. I realised when I was checking in. I asked the 2 lovely ladies in the Club Room to see if they can contact the airline to see if they have it. 2 hours later it was back inn my hand - sheer quality.
Nothing in this place is short of perfection. Seriously this is just pure class.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Booked two nights at the Shangri-La hotel planning to spend a long weekend in Xi'an sightseeing. Unfortunately due to a tropical storm in Hong Kong cancelling my return flights my two nights ended up being four nights, but the staff at the Shangri-La came through in spades. The hotel itself is very comfortable if not especially well situated. Free broadband throughout. Excellent gym. Food generally of a good standard. And the concierge was remarkably helpful trying to rebook my flights when all other attempts to rebook were failing. I will certainly stay at the Shangri-La again on my next visit to Xi'an.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel

Address: No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#88 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Prestigia, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Xian
Shangri La Hotel Xi An
Shangri-La Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.