We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They define "great" as in Great Hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Package
Ranked #4 of 1,990 hotels in Xi'an
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“They define "great" as in Great Hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Shangri La Hotels are excellent and this one is no exception. Rooms have wonderful touches like night lights under the night stands and bathroom vanity that eliminate the worry about getting around at night. Young ladies and gentlemen are in the lobby looking for an opportunity to make ones stay better. The food is some of the best in China. Staying here is more like staying on a fine cruise ship than a hotel. There are good reasons that their prices are higher than other fine hotels. Try it once and you will see why.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    429
    402
    59
    7
    5
See reviews for
59
100
15
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We love the Shangri-La and stay there whenever possible. Xi'an's Shangri-La hotel is another example of amazing hospitality. When we had two flights cancelled due to Typhoon Usagi, guest relations (Thank you Jessica!) took care of us and made sure we had help at the airport and a place to come back to. Everything was seamless and made for a nice extra couple days in beautiful Xi'an. Thanks also to Angel and Vicky who also took great care of us. Truly amazing service. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Okay so I left my IPad on the plane when I landed at Xi'an airport. I realised when I was checking in. I asked the 2 lovely ladies in the Club Room to see if they can contact the airline to see if they have it. 2 hours later it was back inn my hand - sheer quality.
Nothing in this place is short of perfection. Seriously this is just pure class.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Booked two nights at the Shangri-La hotel planning to spend a long weekend in Xi'an sightseeing. Unfortunately due to a tropical storm in Hong Kong cancelling my return flights my two nights ended up being four nights, but the staff at the Shangri-La came through in spades. The hotel itself is very comfortable if not especially well situated. Free broadband throughout. Excellent gym. Food generally of a good standard. And the concierge was remarkably helpful trying to rebook my flights when all other attempts to rebook were failing. I will certainly stay at the Shangri-La again on my next visit to Xi'an.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel would rank as one of the best hotels, i've stayed in. The rooms are extremely comfortable, they give you a basket full of fruits everyday. The breakfast at Yi cafe is simply the best. They have such an array of things for you to eat, just massive and live cooking for some items is also there, so you know what goes into your food.
Really liked the evening bookmark (for the books) they leave in the room everyday. Still have it with me today. Really enjoyed my stay.

Highly recommended. very cordial and helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We just spent 2 nights at the Shangri La Xi'an. Due to their high occupancy load, we were upgraded to the President's Suite, & our friends to the Shangri La Suite. Both suites were extraordinary - spotlessly clean, beautifully & comfortably decorated. Staff from arrival through departure were pleasant & totally accommodating. Breakfast buffet was excellent, room service was hot & not overpriced. Recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The room is as usual Shangri-la standard, whick means a lot better than
many other hotel. Their club lounge is an add value and with excellent service.

Most important, they have very nice people !

People certainly the most important assets in Hotel business.




  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel

Address: No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#88 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Prestigia, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, HotelsClick, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Xian
Shangri La Hotel Xi An
Shangri-La Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.