We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Shangri-La!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 2,170 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Shangri-La!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel would rank as one of the best hotels, i've stayed in. The rooms are extremely comfortable, they give you a basket full of fruits everyday. The breakfast at Yi cafe is simply the best. They have such an array of things for you to eat, just massive and live cooking for some items is also there, so you know what goes into your food.
Really liked the evening bookmark (for the books) they leave in the room everyday. Still have it with me today. Really enjoyed my stay.

Highly recommended. very cordial and helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    424
    64
    8
    7
See reviews for
75
124
19
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We just spent 2 nights at the Shangri La Xi'an. Due to their high occupancy load, we were upgraded to the President's Suite, & our friends to the Shangri La Suite. Both suites were extraordinary - spotlessly clean, beautifully & comfortably decorated. Staff from arrival through departure were pleasant & totally accommodating. Breakfast buffet was excellent, room service was hot & not overpriced. Recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The room is as usual Shangri-la standard, whick means a lot better than
many other hotel. Their club lounge is an add value and with excellent service.

Most important, they have very nice people !

People certainly the most important assets in Hotel business.




  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I've stayed at Shangri-La hotels before. They are excellent. I stay at Club level. I was given a corner room with great views. I used the gym - excellent. Breakfast was great as well. Will definitely stay at Shangri-La hotels preferentially in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

As usual, great hotel and staff, as you would expect from Shangri-La....then picture yourself suffering from a serious food intolerance and spending 2 weeks in China, with the great limitation of your ignorance of Chinese - feeling frustrated because you cannot explain your issues with food.
Going around with a paper that prompts inquisitive looks and then results in being refused a table, or, in the best case, receiving only white rice, boiled veggies and - on occasions - one egg (this the least you can expect from a country which is not affected by food allergies).
Then - miracle - you get normal food and breakfast in Shangri-La. I think the didn't really undestand what the issue was, but it doesn't matter. The staff is polite, patient and will do anything to help their guests, so you can get in the plate exactly what you need.
Thanks Shangri-la!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hall and Dinning room are really good! It's abviously a super hotel.
The service is good, everyone i meet in the hotel would offer help if you have a confusing face.
There's guide tour to choose when i want a short visit arround
And good price also.

Room Tip: Real King Bed~
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our stay at the hotel was fantastic. Exceptional service, would highly recommend this hotel. The room service menu has scope for improvement. "Siam" - a world class Thai restaurant. Enjoyed our dining experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
4.6 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#9 of 2,170 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 634 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
5.5 mi away
Gran Melia Xi‘an
Gran Melia Xi‘an
#4 of 2,170 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,170 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#6 of 2,170 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
4.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel

Address: No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#7 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#85 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Xian
Shangri La Hotel Xi An
Shangri-La Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.