We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Property in Xi'an” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Package
Ranked #4 of 1,990 hotels in Xi'an
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Outstanding Property in Xi'an”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our touring group of 10 stayed here in August 2013 and really enjoyed the visit. We arranged a custom tour through Penny Wang at the hotel tour desk and were very fortunate that Penny actually personally provided the guided tour herself for our group. We toured the Terra Cotta Warriors museum, had a nice lunch, visited a unique art museum and rode bikes on the city wall, all in one day of activities. It was an awesome day of touring Xi'an, and could not have been better organized. The fact that this property can organize tours on their own is a nice distinctive feature compared to other hotels visited on our tour of China.

This hotel is top notch, with very nice rooms, a great restaurant called Yi Cafe, and a high end pool, spa and workout area on site. The front desk is very organized and the lounge area had nice entertainment as well. I wish we could have stayed here longer, but would recommend this hotel to anyone seeking the best available place to stay.

Room Tip: I suspect all rooms here are very nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    429
    403
    59
    7
    5
See reviews for
59
101
15
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ncbeachlover5
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our overnight in Xian to see the Terra Cotta Soldiers. We were met by Penny from the tour desk who greeted us at the airport and took us directly to the the museum. The tour was fabulous and everything we expected. We were greeted at the hotel by a warm and welcoming staff. We are a family of 5 and had two connecting rooms which were very comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was delicious! There was something for everyone. I would definitely stay at the Shangri-la again if I were returning to Xian.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We travelled here last summer. The rooms were clean and the service was spectacular.
On a whim, my kids requested that we see the pandas in Chengdu on two days notice. The assistant concierge, Derek, helped organize a flight departing at 8 am which allowed us time to land, see the pandas (and even hold them), have a great lunch, and then depart for Beijing that afternoon. The concierge coordinated with the Chengdu Shangri-La to have a driver at the ready and make sure that all went well. This was incredible, extraordinary service.
Back to the hotel, although not in a scenic location, the hotel is quite pretty inside and no complaints whatsoever. On another positive note of the trip, after recognizing that we were to miss the fabulous breakfast, the concierge took requests for a takeout, boxed lunch. The look of the other airplane passengers was shocking as we pulled out the fresh fruit, croissants, etc as we took off.
I would highly recommend this hotel when visiting Xian to see the Terra cotta soldiers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at this great hotel for two nights and wished we could have stayed longer. We had flown in just to see the Terracotta Warriors, what we saw was impressive. The staff was attentive, the hotel lobby is just beautiful with live music every night, and the restaurants were reasonably priced and the food was great. The rooms are a good size and well appointed. The breakfast each morning was excellent and the staff were always friendly and very knowledgeable. This was a truly enjoyable all round experience. I highly recommend staying at The Shangri - La when visiting Xian.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was the second Shangri-La Hotel we stayed at in China during our trip and it was fantastic. Rooms, lobby, service (we were late, and the staff checked us in at our room to let us settle, great touch).

The breakfast was spectacular, every type of food you could imagine. The staff could not be more helpful. The gym and pool were fantastic. Our room was immaculate.

The city of Xian is a very busy place and everyone is here to see the Terracotta Warriors for a quick trip, at least those we spoke to. This is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Though we were there only one night, having flown in just to see the Terra cotta soldiers, what we saw was impressive. The staff was attentive, the hotel beautifully decorated and of course the rooms were large and well appointed. We toured the spa and health club and both looked inviting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was such a beautiful hotel, just absolutely lovely. The lobby has great ambiance. Our room had hot tea and fruit waiting for us when we arrived. The service was perfect, really classy. The room was clean, the hotel was spotless, and we enjoyed our stay here.

I wasn't that impressed with the buffet. The Asian offerings were bland. I was hoping for more local delights. A crepe bar or waffle/pancake bar would have been nice too. We loved the pots of yogurt, and my kids loved the fruit and pastry selections. The coffee was good, though, and the service was attentive. We also ate at Siam, and the service was slow. The food was good but not great. The kids ordered orange juice, and it was fresh squeezed, which is nice, but bitter, like they had juiced the peel too. I don't think I'd go back to that restaurant. The room service was great, though.

Overall, it was a lovely hotel. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel

Address: No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#88 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Prestigia, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Xian
Shangri La Hotel Xi An
Shangri-La Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.