We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Current status” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Package
Ranked #2 of 2,044 Hotels in Xi'an
Hong Kong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Current status”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Shangrila Hotels always guarantee a very reliable and acceptable standard. After many years of services, and in the fast changing faces of Xi'An (which has a mission to become an international metropolis), some aspects need serious attention to bring back excellence.
Airport transfer, reception checking in and checking out, concierge are all excellent.
Attention to detail is need to clean the room-my experience not thorough enough-dusty, finger marks on glass, curtains drawn or open for evening is rather eratic.
Serious concern over breakfast when I noticed one fly spying on the bread and pastries section, attendents ywaning over the ood they stood by to serve, and some young attendants simply not up to standard.
Lounge and music there is excellent, as expected of all Shangrila Hotels.
Have provided feed back upon check out (they really care) and completing their survey.
The receptionist "Moon" is wonderful! She made the stay very worthwhile. She should be acknowledged.

Room Tip: Not in particular. Depends on how much you want to pay. Perhaps a room that is nearer the end or at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shangrilaguilin, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Y S Daniel L, thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear about your stay experience with us and apologised for the inconvenience caused. Your feedback on our room and F&B have been noted and will be investigated by the managers involved and we look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    408
    60
    7
    5
See reviews for
65
106
15
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and were treated really well. The staff were always helpful, welcoming and friendly. The hotel was very busy but they took time to respond to our requests eg the power board in our room was not working when we arrived but it was fixed as soon as we reported a fault. The concierge organised a fantastic English speaking guide named Li who works for the hotel to take us on two half day tours to the terra cotta warriors and the Han dynasty tombs. Both are very different sites and he had a wealth of knowledge and didn't try to force us to shops or anything like that. The Han site on the way to the airport is a must see if you have time. We had read about it but were half hearted. When Li recommended we do it, we took his word for it and were not sorry. The famous terra cotta warriors are amazing but the other site, although lesser known, rivals it. The hotel room was clean, nicely appointed and the bed was absolutely huge! Functional, not spacious, but with water provided and wifi. Lobby bar was a nice retreat with grand piano and great cashews! Singer at night time. Very talented and soft, sultry music for the most part. Nice at the end of a busy day. Breakfast was amazing for its breadth and scope. There was nothing you could not order or find in the buffet. The omelettes, freshly made with your selected ingredients, were wonderful. The room service was prompt and accurate. The main restaurant (Chinese not Thai) was great. We had a combined BBQ dish of pork, duck and chicken. Fabulous. The chef came out to check that diners were happy. No one was unhappy, quite the opposite. Our only fault would be that we could hardly see out our room window due to the dust/dirt on the outside. We had a garden side room rather than road side so it was quiet. We would definitely recommend this hotel and return on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Massana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We went to Xi'an mostly to see the Terracotta army. Before we arrived i emailed the hotel to book a tour. And found that the pre arrival support was most excellent. So when we arrived i was comforted to know that everything was already taken care of. We tried the Thai and Buffet restaurant doing our 2 nights stay and both where excellent. The rooms where okay and to normal shangri-la standards. All in all a very comfortable stay. But here comes the kick, the tour the hotel had arranged for us was just AMAZING. Our tour guide was a guest relations officer from the hotel called Penny. She was an AWESOME guide, so well spoken and really took her time to take great care of us. We saw the fantastic Terracotta Army and after she took us to a local tea house, where we had a great hotel picnic lunch together with a tea tasting. Nothing like the overly touristic ones in Beijing it was again great. Then we saw an art center and a small museum both fantastic sights. If you go to Xi'an you have to book the hotel tour it was the best experience of our entire china trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is very well placed in what is a huge city. The buffet is magnificent and we were given a complimentary drink on arrival. There is a Portuguese restaurant next door to the hotel which is excellent when you want a change of food.

Room Tip: Just enjoy it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, Surrey, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The service is second to none throughout the hotel, from checking-in a little late due to a delayed flight, all the way to booking a fantastic tour guide for the Terracotta Army in a day's notice. The food is of a consistently high standard, and although there are western comforts, there is still the aura of being in authentic China. If you are wanting to visit the Terracotta Army, ask for Penny as a tour guide - fantastic English and extremely friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

So after staying in other Shangri-La properties we got a little spoiled. This one was more like a three star Best Western, but it was clean and comfortable for the one night that we needed it. Service was what you come to expect from the parent company. I was told it is the best hotel in X'ian.

Room Tip: Rooms are large and spacious. Probably more space than you really need. Don't expect panoramic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Went to Xi'an to see the Tera Cotta army and stayed 2 nights. Hotel staff were very willing and helpful. Seemed to be some mix-up with pre-arranged babysitter for he evenings however. Duty manager did her best to resolve the issue. Definitely advise getting a room to face the "garden" (actually a golf driving range). The front of the hotel faces a busy and dusty main road. He food in the cafe and Thai restaurant was good. Breakfast buffet is good value as well. Nice pool and gym. Location is a little bit out of the main sites but easy enough to get to in a taxi. We organised an airport pick up and tour via the hotel, both went smoothly.

Room Tip: Definitely face the rear of the hotel via a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel

Address: No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#1 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#1 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#85 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere, Prestigia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Xian
Shangri La Hotel Xi An
Shangri-La Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.