We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place! Loved the food..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Agoda.com
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Package
Ranked #2 of 1,849 hotels in Xi'an
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Charming place! Loved the food..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Shanri-La in Xi'an is truely a gem! Everything is coated with sheer luxury and makes the stay quite pleasant. Xi'an as a city itself was ridiculously polluted and impossible to venture out without seriously injuring your lungs.. So you end up being indoors pretty much most of the time.. And thankfully, Shangr-La has so much to offer that you really dont need to go out much. There are three restaurants to choose from to dine in and a fantastic lounge bar with live performances.. The food in all the three restaurants are absolutely delicious and cover a good range of cuisines. Would have been a bit better if more staff spoke English considering their clientele seemed to have a large western crowd. Also, sometimes, it did feel like there were more people standing around saying good morning and good evenings than those who did the work!

The rooms are well appointed and the views from the top floors can be nice, obviously that would depend on how bad the smog outside is. One thing I found really interesting was they keep a little route map with a lanyard to go out jogging with! Now as much as that idea is great, you really do not wanna be jogging with the horrendous pollution outside. I think it would hv been more helpful if they had live display screens showing the air quality index so people can look it up before venturing out.

The Shangri-La has a fanstastic spa, gym and a swimming pool all covering an entire floor of the hotel. The pool isnt deep enough, but long enough to do your laps.. the gym and the spa itself is really top of the class and a delight to use.

Overall, I loved my stay at Shangri-La and would definitely want to go back if I were to ever visit Xi'an again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    389
    54
    7
    3
See reviews for
53
88
14
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cARDIFF
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is what a five star hotel is all about, it manages spectactular and cosy, great views from 14th floor, super breakfast and spa.
Nice garden area, very relaxed atmosphere makes this hotel extra special
Only drawback location not quiet as good as the Westin which is adjacent the Pagoda area, however this is bit of a tourist trap.

Next to the Fairmount in Shanghai this is the best hotel we have experienced on our trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Let's be realistic...staying at a Shangri-La comes with high expectations. Most travelers that 'decide' to spend more money to stay at a Shangri-La also expect larger rooms, comfortable amenities, and Shangri-La's amazing (and free) breakfast buffet. However, when you get a discount deal the experience can be 'exceptional'! That is what happened to us at the Shangri-La Xi'an. Surprisingly, we were able to get a discount package during Chinese New Year holiday week--possibly because we are westerners and there weren't many vacationing in 5-star hotels in Xi'an during this week. The Terra-Cotta Warriors and surrounding areas were quite busy, but mostly with Asians. Our hotel package was for a 3-night stay, with 3rd night free!--to find deals check 'offers' on the hotel's main website.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

XiÁn is a fascinating city with it's amazing history and culture going back thousands of years. To see and experience the range of ancient buildings and artifacts and to hear the music of a bygone era needs several days at least. The one day visit is just a tease. The city is undergoing a transformation and part of this is the Shangri-La Hotel XiÁn; contemporary, comfortable accommodation supported by friendly and attentive staff and great restaurants. The Shangri-La is reasonable well located, an important factor in a city where the transport infrastructure is still to catch up with all the building going on around it.

Room Tip: Depending on the time of your visit prices can be quite reasonable which makes the Horizon Club affo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I can understand why this hotel is one of the best in Xian however I worry the staff are not trying hard enough any more. The room was nice, good bathroom, comfy bed. he gym is very good with a good selection of machines and kit. the breakfast is good or you can help yourself to coffee and fruit by the door. Worth a try though not cheap.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I was there in Xian again for a business trip and this time i choose Shangri-la over Sheraton . Here is major feedback

1. Good Hotel, 45 mins from Airport , rapid Check in and Very friendly reception staff which can speak kind of OK English.
2. Rooms are good, with abundant space , Electronic Locker and good neat spacious Bathrooms with good accessories.
3. Lobby is good spacious and has built in Wine shoppe.
4. Very good International cafe with marvelous Buffet Breakfast , Dining and Wine selections. Equally good Thai restaurant and Chinese restaurant in terms of Food and hygiene .
5. Service is although slower in Chinese restaurant .
6. Well If you are seeking a booking with complimentary stuff. then you would be disappointed. they don't provide you with many options and seem to charge for everything and that too pretty big.
7. WIFI is claimed to be high speed. But i found it to be rather slow then i got in sheraton xian few months back.
8. GYM and SPA are marvelous . GYM is the best GYM i have seen in hotels
9. i had a chat with a British Visitor who is like a regular in this part of world. He says this Hotel is hit with Chinese visitors. But International visitors mostly prefer Sheraton Xian or other options because Sheraton is too Chinese and i agree to that.
10. There House keeping was disappointing, they keep on pinging me even when i had Donot disturb balb on
10. i liked my stay here, but not sure will choose it again i find Sheraton to be more cost effective with same standard of amenities .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great hotel...can't control room temp in winter which is very frustrating. Room was about 24c. Gym was nice and spacious. Well located for work. Nice breakfast. Room was clean. Front desk staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel

Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Xian
Shangri La Hotel Xi An
Shangri-La Hotel China/Shaanxi
Address: No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#93 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Otel, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel to your Saves list