We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Yard's the best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Package
Ranked #4 of 2,042 Hotels in Xi'an
Wombourne
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“The Yard's the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at the Shangrila last month (room 1423). I do not doubt its claim to be the best in Xian but it is not up to international 5 star standard and I would rate it as 4 star. Check-in was smooth and our luggage was speedily delivered to the room but no one accompanied us to the room to explain how to use the safe, coffee-making facilities and other attributes.

On the plus side the room was spotlessly clean with an enormous bed (nearly twice the size of our super king at home), the power shower was invigorating and I was very pleased to find the L'occitane toiletries in the bathroom together with spare toothbrush, comb, shower cap and sewing kit. The hairdryer was in a drawer but had a very strong coil which was difficult to straighten out so the only way to use it was keep the drawer open and bend over it sideways.

The laundry service was good and quick but quite expesive at £6 for a shirt and £3 for a handkerchief.

I did not like the breakfast cafe which was vast, very noisy and busy. There was a wonderful choice of food however, with large islands of Chinese and Japanese food, every type of bread, cereal and fruit with smoothies and vegetable juices including celery and cucumbber. continental plus hot and cold buffet and special section where chef would cook to order. When you were shown to your table large ugly mugs were plonked on the table and a thermos flask containing tea/coffee. One morning, I had a dirty plate, chipped milk jug and stained napkin which I did report on the feedback form that was left on the table but had no acknowledgement.

We did eat in the Thai restaurant one night which was very good and reasonably priced with a glass of Chardonnay and Rioja at £7 per glass, (half the price of other hotels we stayed in China). There was also a very pleasant outside eating area called "the Yard" where two chefs cooked to order on charcoal barbecues most nights. One night after the theatre we asked if it was possible to order food from the restaurant to be brought out and although this was obviously not the "norm" two delightful young waitresses tried their skills at uncorking the wine and laying the table for us and even bought me a throw to keep warm as the night chill set in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    408
    60
    7
    5
See reviews for
65
104
15
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We selected this hotel since it was ranked top and are satisfied with our 7 night stay there. First the good stuff:
- The staff are friendly and helpful, especially the concierge who provided lots of good recommendations!
- The room was new, spacious and clean, and the gym was huge and fabulous
- The hotel was central enough for us and twice we took a short bus ride to attractions such as the Big Goose Pagoda and Tang Paradise
- It was walking distance to good restaurants, malls and a great massage establishment next door
- Our best meals in Xian were actually in the hotel: the buffet spread at the cafe, the Thai restaurant, as well as the value 99RMB lunch at the chinese restaurant

I would have rated it Excellent except for a few misgivings:
- The pool though heated was still a bit too cold for comfort
- The lobby outside our room on 11th floor smelt smoky the first few days, and the lobby lounge was just too smoky to venture close to enjoy the live piano performance
- The service at the chinese restaurant was too slow, we thought it was once off and tried it again on our last day but the food still took more than 30mins to arrive

Overall, still a very good hotel and I would return again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

the hotel is so clean.
the good facillity for sport swimming,...
the good lobby
the good breakfast and sogood dinner.
i was there for 2 times.
the SPA is good
but select the room far away the elavator
the bad things is just you can hear other room noise in some case.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here for one night on vacation. The property is stunning. Really beautiful. Wonderfully attentive staff. The spa facilities are really lovely and the fitness club/pool is wonderful. The only downside is that it is a little far from downtown, so being able to walk to things is a little bit more of a challenge (and traffic around the hotel can be a bear). The breakfast buffet was the best one we had on our 5-star trip to China!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here for one night in October. The hotel is in the new section of Xian and is a standared decent quality Shangri-la property. My room was average size with a standard set up. The restaurant was nice and the breakfast was better than average wiht freshly made croisants being served by the chef which was a nice touch. Otherwise nothing special about this property. I have no complaints but overall the hotel lacks an overall warmth that would make one want to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Located in the heart of this city of 23 million people, the hotel is highly recommended. Although English is spoken by some of the staff not all actual;ly understand.
Always make sure you have a tour guide or if you venture out on your own have your destination written down in Mandarin by the conciege.

Room Tip: Do not worry about a view as you cannot see out of the windows as they are covered in sand!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed at the Xian Shangri-La on work for two nights recently. The service levels were generally very good and the staff were knowledgeable and helpful. The airport pickup and drop off worked like a charm. Food is good, certainly nothing to complain about. Overall, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel

Address: No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#2 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#85 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip DaoDao, Tingo, Prestigia, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Xian
Shangri La Hotel Xi An
Shangri-La Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.