We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 2,170 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here for one night on vacation. The property is stunning. Really beautiful. Wonderfully attentive staff. The spa facilities are really lovely and the fitness club/pool is wonderful. The only downside is that it is a little far from downtown, so being able to walk to things is a little bit more of a challenge (and traffic around the hotel can be a bear). The breakfast buffet was the best one we had on our 5-star trip to China!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    427
    65
    8
    8
See reviews for
81
127
20
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here for one night in October. The hotel is in the new section of Xian and is a standared decent quality Shangri-la property. My room was average size with a standard set up. The restaurant was nice and the breakfast was better than average wiht freshly made croisants being served by the chef which was a nice touch. Otherwise nothing special about this property. I have no complaints but overall the hotel lacks an overall warmth that would make one want to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Located in the heart of this city of 23 million people, the hotel is highly recommended. Although English is spoken by some of the staff not all actual;ly understand.
Always make sure you have a tour guide or if you venture out on your own have your destination written down in Mandarin by the conciege.

Room Tip: Do not worry about a view as you cannot see out of the windows as they are covered in sand!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed at the Xian Shangri-La on work for two nights recently. The service levels were generally very good and the staff were knowledgeable and helpful. The airport pickup and drop off worked like a charm. Food is good, certainly nothing to complain about. Overall, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I was very happy with this hotel the service is excellent the food in their cafe and tie restorant is excellent
My daughter was sick I called for a doctor they did not have one on hand but I had two people come to my room and buy me the meds I needed
I highly recommend this hotel

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattapoisett
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Shangri-La is an excellent, Western-style hotel, well-located in Xi'an. Excellent base from which to see the terra cotta warriors. Great breakfast buffet - same restaurant also serves a wonderful buffet for dinner, offering both Chinese and Western fare. Very good staff - perhaps not quite up to the Peninsula, but very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for two nights while in Xian on business.

I arranged airport pickup service, and when I arrived at the hotel a staff member met me and directed me to my room, and completed the check in service at the room itself. As I had been living on airplane food for the day, it was a welcome surprise to find a bowl of fresh fruit waiting for me in my room!

The room itself was clean and comfortable. A separate bathtub and shower were available.

I used the gym once, and it was a really nice facility.

The buffet breakfast included a good selection of food. I also had lunch once at the dim sum buffet and it was very good value.

I would stay here again if travelling to Xian.

Room Tip: I had a corner room- although I faced away from the beautiful gardens, this wasn't a big problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
4.6 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#10 of 2,170 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
4.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,170 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Gran Melia Xi‘an
Gran Melia Xi‘an
#4 of 2,170 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#6 of 2,170 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Xi'an
Crowne Plaza Xi'an
#11 of 2,170 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel

Address: No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#7 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#75 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Xian
Shangri La Hotel Xi An
Shangri-La Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.