We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Agoda.com
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Package
Ranked #2 of 1,849 hotels in Xi'an
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Business Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed at the Xian Shangri-La on work for two nights recently. The service levels were generally very good and the staff were knowledgeable and helpful. The airport pickup and drop off worked like a charm. Food is good, certainly nothing to complain about. Overall, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    389
    53
    7
    3
See reviews for
53
87
14
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I was very happy with this hotel the service is excellent the food in their cafe and tie restorant is excellent
My daughter was sick I called for a doctor they did not have one on hand but I had two people come to my room and buy me the meds I needed
I highly recommend this hotel

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattapoisett
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Shangri-La is an excellent, Western-style hotel, well-located in Xi'an. Excellent base from which to see the terra cotta warriors. Great breakfast buffet - same restaurant also serves a wonderful buffet for dinner, offering both Chinese and Western fare. Very good staff - perhaps not quite up to the Peninsula, but very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for two nights while in Xian on business.

I arranged airport pickup service, and when I arrived at the hotel a staff member met me and directed me to my room, and completed the check in service at the room itself. As I had been living on airplane food for the day, it was a welcome surprise to find a bowl of fresh fruit waiting for me in my room!

The room itself was clean and comfortable. A separate bathtub and shower were available.

I used the gym once, and it was a really nice facility.

The buffet breakfast included a good selection of food. I also had lunch once at the dim sum buffet and it was very good value.

I would stay here again if travelling to Xian.

Room Tip: I had a corner room- although I faced away from the beautiful gardens, this wasn't a big problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very good hotel and amenities. Fabulous spa treatment and loved steam room, sauna, jacozzi, pool. Liked the spin drier and heater to dry bathing costume.
Buffet breakfast and dinner offered good choice and quality. Unfortunately one meal was not hot enough. However the staff reacted very positively and the evening ended well. Carpet in the dining room needed vacuum cleaning.
Bedroom large clean and comfortable with handy night light.
All services, drivers and tours organised by the hotel were first class.
Penny, our guide to visit the Warriors, was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed at the Shangri-La, Xian for two nights while I visited all the local sites, including the terra cotta warriors, City Wall, Great Mosque, Touch of Antiquities Museum, and the Pagoda and it's gift shop.

The hotel was one of the best I've ever stayed at. Extremely comfortable bed, free internet in the room, wonderful bathroom, all the first class amenities. The breakfast buffet was extensive - with breakfast food for all nationalities and tastes, and artfully displayed. My stay was arranged by General Tours, and so the buffet was complimentary.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great hotel in a cool city. Decent rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff and a real buzz in the lounge. Be warned, all chinese men seem to smoke! Not a problem for me but could be a problem for others as, although smoking is banned indoors, nobody takes any notice whatsoever..
Only one issue we had.. we visited the Thai restaurant after hearing good things about it.. TBH, was one of the worst Thai meals we have had.. truly awful.. maybe we visited on a bad evening..
Otherwise, all was up to the usual Shangri-La standard

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel

Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Xian
Shangri La Hotel Xi An
Shangri-La Hotel China/Shaanxi
Address: No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#93 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Otel, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel to your Saves list