We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality, busy 5* Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Package
Ranked #4 of 2,154 Hotels in Xi'an
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good quality, busy 5* Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great hotel in a cool city. Decent rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff and a real buzz in the lounge. Be warned, all chinese men seem to smoke! Not a problem for me but could be a problem for others as, although smoking is banned indoors, nobody takes any notice whatsoever..
Only one issue we had.. we visited the Thai restaurant after hearing good things about it.. TBH, was one of the worst Thai meals we have had.. truly awful.. maybe we visited on a bad evening..
Otherwise, all was up to the usual Shangri-La standard

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    413
    61
    7
    5
See reviews for
65
110
15
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hotel looks dated and worn out. I stayed two nights here on business/pleasure. The bar area had a singer in there both nights and she was way too loud and we spent the evening shouting at each other to try and be heard and then just gave up.

Bedrooms very average and the corridors smelled of cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is said to be the best in Xi'an. Rooms are modern and comfortable. Staff is friendly and wants to serve well. Bath amenities fine. Thai restaurant a welcome change from Chinese. Lobby bar area seems popular with a business crowd after work. A very satisfactory place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Took my 9 year old son on a long weekend trip to see the Terracotta army in October 2012. We stayed for two nights.

The staff absolutely bent over backwards to make our stay as pleasurable and as stress-free as possible. From knowing our names, to arranging taxis, to advising on restaurants, to giving my son extra fruit & sweets and to meeting his demanding requirements e.g. hot chocolate to be drunk with a chinese meal in the evening.

On our first evening, we struggled to find a taxi back from Xian to the hotel -- we waited 40 mins until my son negotiated (in his best english/mandarin) with a local tuk-tuk driver to take us the 25+ mins journey back. We remarked on this to the concierge on our return (he asked us how our evening went). Next morning, another member of staff apologised for the delay we have getting back (it was not the hotel's fault at all!) and said that our predicament had been discussed at the staff meeting that morning.

Upside: great hotel, awesome staff, good breakfast buffet, lamb BBQ + food generally; wonderful pool.

Downside: as others have mentioned, it's a bit removed from the main city (good and bad implications) - can be a pain to get back to the hotel at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel has everything you want for a comfortable stay. The rooms are fantastic - very quiet and comfortable. There is a good choice of places to eat and drink too. We particularly enjoyed the Thai restaurant which I'm told is one of the best in China. Recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Best hotel in Xi'an? Huge swimming pool, excellent food, attentive staff, and the excursions/guides offered, while not cheap, were absolutely top-notch, really very high quality, and well worth paying the extra for.

While this is not a cheap hotel, I think some of the wine was overpriced, and would query the provenance of a Chilean white served in the bar. Try the Royalty Garden restaurant two minutes' walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel.We were shown direct to our room which was spacious with a bath and separate shower area. I only wish the outside of the windows were cleaned but I dare say they can't do that very often as it was the 8th floor.
I had a swim in the large pool which didn't feel like it was indoor because of the large windows. I was the only one there and, yes I had to wear a swimcap!
The hotel is a bit far from the centre but the taxis were inexpensive. We did walk to the small Goose Pagoda but it was a very long walk, about an hour but at least you can walk unlike Beijing.
The breakfast buffet was extensive. We took the tour to the Terracotta Army organised by the Hotel and enjoyed it very much. Penny speaks excellent English.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel

Address: No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#75 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Xian
Shangri La Hotel Xi An
Shangri-La Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.