We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to be friendlier but is still a nice place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 7 Sages International Youth Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added 7 Sages International Youth Hostel to your Saves list
7 Sages International Youth Hostel
No.1 Qixianzhuang, Beixin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Needs to be friendlier but is still a nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We booked this place even though it was described as loud and full of partying people in our guidebook. During our stay, (mid-December) this couldn't have ben further from the truth. In fact, its tranquility and gorgeous old grounds are the highlights of this hostel.

We stayed in a private double room, which was great at the price. Some minor annoyances (once you plugged the bathroom sink, you can't unplug it again), but we enjoyed the great bed, crisp clean sheets and good heating, as well as the modern decor. Lots of hot water in the shower, plus good locks on the doors so we really felt safe.

What we weren't so happy with was the staff's attitude, which was quite rude at times. Some of this may be down to the language barrier, e.g at check-in: "You're staying for three nights." - "No, just one." - "You booked three nights!" "We booked one, could you check again?" She checked, found we were right, didn't comment or apologise, just checked us in.

But other things were just thoughtless – like suddenly announcing at the café at 10.59 pm "We are closed now" and shutting off the lights, rather giving the half dozen people a heads-up earlier. Instead, they had happily sold us a pot of tea half an hour earlier without pointing out they were about to close so we probably wouldn't be able to finish it.

All in all, as long as you don't mind the occasional snippiness, this is still a good place to stay, mainly for its historic atmosphere.

Room Tip: Double rooms are quite a bit away from the entrance, which makes them nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    176
    41
    6
    3
See reviews for
32
94
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

From the moment we stepped into this hostel, we knew we'd found a good one. All the the rooms are in courtyards that really make you feel like your in proper China! We met a lovely chinese girl who wanted to show us around the city, and when she came to meet us in the hostel, she couldn't get over how lovely it was inside!

Spent a bit of time relaxing in the bar, which serves nice food, and cheap drink, and is a nice place to relax.

10 - 15 min walk to the centre of town, and 5 - 10 min walk to the train station.

Rooms were pretty cold, but i was there in the winter so its expected.

I would come back here no doubt if I came to Xi'an again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed in a single ensuite room at this hostel, which was nothing hostel like! The room might be a tad on the small side, but for the price, it was definitely value for money.

I had picked this hostel as it was one of the closer one to the train station. It is a 10 minutes walk, but pretty straightforward, and it is next to a major street where one could easily catch a moto-taxi ride downtown.

I had arrived when Xi'an was having anti-Japanese protests due to the Diaoyu Island issue. The staff were particularly concerned about me wandering around as one of them thought I was Japanese! I was only in the hostel for a short while, but I thought that they were very helpful and informative, busy as they were.

The dining area looks especially quaint and pretty. Too bad I didn't have enough time to hang around!

Downside was the wifi doesn't work in the rooms. Also, the instructions given on the website/email was not quite correct (they told me to take the airport shuttle to Bell Tower, then catch a bus), as you should take the shuttle bus to the train station, and just walk over.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is an old fashioned Xi'an hostel, close to the train station, and inside the old wall. The room was great, with heating, big bathroom and modern fittings, in an old fashioned Chinese style building complex. The bar is very vibrant too. with some really nice beers. The staff were helpful, and it was really good value. I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westbromwich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

In my whole two months travelling this hostel sticks out the most. Horrendous staff who only care for themselves and not foreigners. The halloween party was basically a party for themselves and the manners are woeful. The staff would always huff and puff if you wanted to order food and wouldnt bring change back for about half an hour!

The facilities were good but not many travellers tend to go here and the saff would prefer Chinese travellers and not westeners!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a hostel only by name. In Europe this would be a 3 star Hotel. It is a converted monk monastery that is just incredible. It is all built on one floor, the place is pictoresque and the staff are great, they wrote us on a piece of paper a request for 2 tickets to Beijing for when we bought our next tickets.

The bar serves good food and cheap booze the rooms are very clean. Ours had a TV, private bathroom and nice decor.

We stayed in a private room for about 5 euros a night. I actually wanted to stay in Xi'an longer, one of the reasons being the great hostel. It is a great place to spend a few days. Xi'an itself has a lot to offer and 7 Sages is not only a fantastic 'hostel' but is well situated. It is walking distance to the train station and not far from the Muslim quarter (which serves amazing street food) and the Bell Tower (another kodak spot). The hostel also organises trips to touristic spots such as the Terracota army.

A hostel, but only by name.

Room Tip: Greatest.'Hostel'.Ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Spent 2 nights here and we were blown away. There was 13 of us, 10 teenagers and 3 adults as part of a company tour where the teens organise everything. Booked on short notice but the staff over the phone were very helpful speaking excellent English and offered to pick us up from our overnight train. We were met by a very friendly member of staff who walked us back as our transfer, this didn't matter because it was only around 15 minutes and a great way to start our stay in Xi'an. Receptionists were excellent, fast and efficient giving us the key to the 10 bed dorm but were still cleaning the family room but we got the key 1/2 hour later. Dorm was exceptional, comfy beds, clean doona covers a pillow case and a sheet. Didn't see the family room but was assured that it was excellent. Bathrooms were clean and had a western toilet. Showers had excellent pressure which was nice and it was cheap to use the washing machine and dryers. Wi-fi was a little slow but fine for what we needed. Ate breakfast here every morning, and we were able to pre-order the night before for such a large group. Food was excellent and well worth what we paid.
When working out the best way to get to places in the city the staff were always helpful and were excellent for organising accommodation for our next stop. Also organised an airport transfer which wasn't so great but that was a different company. They even went as far to offer if we got lost to come and pick us up which was always reassuring even though it never came to that. 7 Sages was voted by all 13 of us as the best place we stayed whilst away and would definitely stay here if we were ever back in Xi'an.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 7 Sages International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7 Sages International Youth Hostel

Address: No.1 Qixianzhuang, Beixin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your 7 Sages International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Sages International Youth Hotel Xi`An
7 Sages International Youth Hostel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 7 Sages International Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.