We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location in a nontouristy environment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Xi'an
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq
Save Saved
You added Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq to your Saves list
Building A, Hong Cheng International Apartment Complex, Xi Hua Men, Xi'an 710003, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 106 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“excellent location in a nontouristy environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment.The location is excellent ,being right in the heart of the Old City virtually opposite the start of the Muslim Quarter. The apartment is spacious and clean.We ate most of our meals in the Muslim Quarter and it is a great experience to be there eating with the locals before the tourist buses start to arrive at 0840.
May's correspondence with us was fast and effective even though she lives overseas.May's mum lives in the next apartment and although she does not speak English,Judy the organiser is always available to help.
It was so helpful to be met at the train station as I think it would be impossible to find the first time without help.
They also give you a local mobile to use in case of trouble.
We hired a car( very modern) and driver ( no English at all but that didn't matter) from 0900 to 1700 for 450RMB from them to take us to the Warriors,Mausoleum and Banpo Village.We did not get their guide service which we felt was unnecessary and too expensive. We specified "no factories" and the whole day went very smoothly.
They also booked our Tang Dynasty Show with Dumpling Banquet .Judy took us there and then we caught a tuk tuk home.
We hired their car and driver to take us to the airport ( 180RMB).
We enjoyed staying in a low key local apartment and would recoomend it to you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    30
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
17
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the Xi'an Apartments Guesthouse HQ, in a 2 bedroom apartment. We had read several good reviews and decided to take a break from small hotel rooms. The apartment was certainly spacious, but had its drawbacks. The bathroom was very moldy and the floor turned into an ice skating rink when wet (there was a small rubber mat that didn't help much). It was downright dangerous! Also, the trash bags in the hallways emitted strong odors.
Judy's personality was over-bearing, especially when she heard that we had arranged for our own guide. Mei's mother was extremely bossy to our sweet, kind, guide.
Overall, I would recommend this place for young people who are used to staying in hostels, but not for anyone over 50.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hqhostel, Owner at Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hi there
Thanks for your feedback. As we are continually trying to improve our services we will take your points on board and rectify for future guests. We take pride in offering large, clean, centrally located apartments and friendly service at very reasonable prices, so if our standards slipped at all we will put it right.

One quick note about Mei’s well intentioned mum, I think there may have been something lost in translation here. As we know it was raining quite heavily and Mei’s mum was simply telling the guide to take care in the rain. If she was bossy it was out of concern for you, our guests.

Have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xian
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed for a week in May and found this apartment to be basic, clean and well set up for guests (although the bathroom could do with a little renovation). Great location for walking around the city centre. Mei was very good with communicating before we arrived but was not in Xi'an when we were. Her mother was very friendly and helpful. We were expecting the use of a mobile phone as advertised on the site but were told it was being used by another guest and we would have to wait two days. This was both disappointing and misleading, either it's a provided or it's not.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hqhostel, Owner at Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hi there

Thanks for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay in Xian. About the mobile phone, I apologise unequivocally. We do offer a mobile phone free of charge for the convenience of all our guests. We are proud of this service as it is a feature which sets us apart from other lodgings in the area.

In your case we were in the middle of upgrading the device because it had been damaged and this left us short of a phone. Again I offer our apologies, it was 100% our mistake, but it has been rectified now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This place is perfect for 2+ families or 1 family with at 4+ travellers. Clean, large and very centrally located. While the owner is not on site (at least when we were planning the trip and in Xi'an), all correspondences were very quick and knowledgeable. Owner's parents are there on site and are nice.

The location really can't be beat and its a nice local feel. Walking distance to many of the sites you want to see.

I would recommend the pick up airport transfer, along with the museum tour that is near the airport. It may be hard to find the place (but not impossible), so having a guide/driver who knows exactly where to go is best at the start of your trip.

For other sightseeing in Xi'an... I think there are much better options. One, you can do yourself as others have noted. But if you want a guide... go with a guide with years of experience in Xi'an or is from Xi'an and has stories to share from living life here. Alice is a nice girl. But she is young and only has been a tour guide under 5 years and is not from Xi'an or the province. I imagine that those who are novice to travelling or in China are just grateful for an English speaking guide... which I can appreciate. But she very much is a "state what I learned from a history book or saw on a plaque on a previous trip" guide. And that's how much of the discussion was. Never shared much about culture or city life unless we asked. Never -engaging- with us. Her only proactive discussions was to share "this building is x" and "the history behind is y". So for all the comments on the property's website about high value and quality tour (and also in the apartment), I don't feel the same.

I also didn't care for the fact that we asked to stop for coffee before heading on the long drive, and we were told no. Then the next day, we should have had 1.5 hours maximum at the city wall before we headed to the airport, and we were told "20 minutes". I didn't push it, but Alice was very much on a schedule and didn't care about our preference... so we just ate lunch at the airport.

This, plus a few other things that would just be hammering the point home... I think you can find better quality tour guides in Xi'an... and my recommendation would be to find one that is from Xi'an or lived many years in Xi'an, and has been a tour guide for many years.... experience counts!

But for the apartment stay... absolutely. Do consider staying here. It is comfortable, has air-con, so close to everything, great for a larger group travelling.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hqhostel, Owner at Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
HI there
Thanks for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at our apartments.
Of course we are sorry to hear that you were not more than satisfied with our guide Alice. I would just like to clarify for other readers that Alice is one of 3 guides we employ and has only very recently started working for us. We consider having lived and studied in Xian for almost 8 years more than enough to be considered a local, and 5 years tour guide experience is pretty good in our book for the prices we can offer.
Obviously we will be reminding all our guides about flexibility and how to engage with visitors in a more absorbing fashion. However I believe it is the tour guide’s job to inform about the historical aspects of what you are seeing first and foremost. Every one has a different opinion about the function, and here I would gently point out that Alice had only received positive feedback from our guests previously.
About the airport drop off, I think it is more concern about getting you there on time as opposed to not caring about your preferences. Traffic in Xian can be hectic to say the least and we would hate to have you late to the airport.
Also, I would like to point out that we have in no way misrepresented our tours or guide’s ability on either our website or in the apartments.
I hope everyone can take the time to read through the comments here on Trip Advisor which do point out how excellent our guides are, and how thoroughly our tours are enjoyed.
We also further encourage guests to give Mei a call during the actual tour if something is not up to the standard they are expecting so any issues can be resolved on the spot.
I do again apologise however that you did not feel satisfied with your tour, and I appreciate you pointing it out. Through your feedback we can improve the Xian experiences for our future guests

Cheers

Hq
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ban Patong, Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

First of all I'd like to thank the many Trip Advisor Members who took the time to review these apartments and provide a heads up.
Five adults and a 3 1/2 year old. The two bedroom apartment was roomy, clean, comfortable, perfectly situated and managed by the most friendly people, Mei's mum and dad, with help from Alice. Mei's assistance and advice on the net was much appreciated. Bell Tower, Drum Tower, The Great Mosque and the Muslim Quarter all within a 10 minute walk. I'd guess that it's a 20 minute walk to South Gate of the city wall. I recommend the airport transfers. Excellent service and safe drivers. Functional kitchen was well used by our group. All in all we had a superb time in Xi'an. A beautiful city, wonderful history, great food and shopping, and such friendly people.
I recommend a holiday there and my advice is to seriously consider staying at these great apartments.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

As a family of five with 3 children aged 10, 9 and 7, this was a good place to stay, and certainly value for money. Firstly, the location (once you get over the fact that you do have to go down a poorly lit street to get here) is brilliant. You are certainly walking distance to the Bell and Drum Towers as well as the Muslim Quarter. We also walked to the South Gate. The apartment was comfortable with everything we needed. The bathroom was a bit pongy (drain problems I expect) but otherwise fine. The kitchen was well equipped, though the fridge was a bit small. The beds could have been better (the top bunk has no safety guard), and wifi would have been handy. Mei was fantastic in the way she helped us overcome a couple of logistical problems we were facing, and Mei's mother (at least I think it was her mother) is a complete dear.

Overall I would definitely recommend this place to anyone, but especially families.

I would also recommend cycling the city walls, a great family outing. We bought baguettes and cheese at a supermarket under the bell tower, washed down with beer and softdrinks readily available on the wall.

Can I also say that the terracotta warriors can be done by public bus for 20 yuan per person return, plus entrance fee. Get a bus to the train station, then get the 306 to the warriors, and hire an official guide there for 150 yuan. Getting there is harder than getting back, but don't give up.

The big Wild goose pagoda can also be done by bus (610) caught between the drum and bell towers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Thanks a lot for helping us a lot with the excellent tour guide, Alice, and the helpful aunt, May's mom. We were glad we were picked up by Alice and the driver as soon as possible when we arrived. The next three days are enjoyable! The apartment is so big, clean as well as the brilliant location just a few minutes to cover the nearby scenic spots like Bell Tower, Drum Tower, XI'AN Great Mosque by walking. We enjoyed all the places that Alice lead us to. Among them, Terra Qutta Warriers was definitely the best one. The factory was such an intersting place where was the best place to do shopping stuff (name forgotten, the guide will tell you). My little son was so tired that we had to choose the restaurant in the Warriors Country which was close to the Museum but the food were good. Very pitty for missing the silk factory. (by the way, I am a big fan of Chinese culture). In summary: I did have a good memory and enjoy the family tour very much. The driver was good and Alice had a good English. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq

Address: Building A, Hong Cheng International Apartment Complex, Xi Hua Men, Xi'an 710003, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hq Guesthouse Xian: Boutique accommodation for families, couples and independent travelers of all ages located in the centre of Xian. Offers bunks, double rooms with balconies or your own self contained 100m2 apartment near Muslim Qtr, absolutely perfect for families. Spacious, cozy, clean and extremely central: experience absolute comfort for a fraction of the usual cost. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.