We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great service and good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Xi'an
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq
Save Saved
You added Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq to your Saves list
Building A, Hong Cheng International Apartment Complex, Xi Hua Men, Xi'an 710003, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 109 Xi'an B&B and Inns
shanghai
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great service and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here in June as a group of 4 women. The generous size of the unit and especially the bathroom was very welcome. It was immaculately clean and very peaceful in the evenings given it's location just off one of the busier roads. The location and service (Mei and her family are extremely helpful) is what sets this place apart. On previous visits I had stayed at the Citidines Central but I would prefer this apartment on my next visit. Great for families and small groups, with a small kitchen, but you'd be crazy to cook - the Muslim Quarter and all its tasty options are right on the doorstep. The relatively new subway is close by and makes for an easy journey to the new train station to catch the high speed train to Huashan for the day. (although first subway train is 6.30am so if you want an earlier start to Huashan grab a cab to the station - about 30rmb from memory). We did not take advantage of Mei's tours as we found we could do them considerably cheaper by just catching local buses. Mei confirmed for us which bus to catch and if your target is primarily the Warriors then catching the local bus is ideal. We only had one minor issue (although it was major at the time!) - the faulty lock on the door caused us to be locked into the apartment with no other means of exit. We lost a few hours of our last day waiting to be rescued (the door had to be dismantled) but Mei compensated us by arranging a private car to the airport so that we could add a few hours onto the end of our day. The lock had to be replaced so I know this would not be a problem in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    30
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
17
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were 2 families with small kids and the 2 apartments we rented were perfect for us with separate bedrooms. The location is central with buses nearby, bell tower and muslim quarters within 5-10 min walking. Highly recommended!
They also provided transportation to Hua mountain and airport for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I am 12 and I booked the HQ Guest House by my self.
My family and I loved it. It was well located and the Guest House was clean.
They pick you up from airport or train station (free pick up).The beds were perfect.
You will feel welcome and the are kind and helpful.
Thank you Mei
Steven

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Our group of 7 rented 2 apartments (1 bdrm unit and 2 bdrm unit respectively) for 4 nights in March 2012. We were attracted by the location, the large space and the reasonable prices. We also booked 4 tours with private car/guide.

Booking was very smooth. All inquiries answered promtly and to our surprise, no deposit required to secure the units. As promised, we were met at the train station by Sandy (who was to be our tour guide) and taken to the apartment. Sandy spoke English fluently, was professional, polite and attentive throughout our time with her (review of the tours on another post). I would recommend booking at least a half day's walking tour with HQ - well worth it just to get an introduction to all the delicious food at the Muslim Quarter.

As advertised, the apartment was 3 min walking distance to the Muslim Quarter. This was highly convenient as the Muslim Quarter is 'the place to go' for food. We navigated home by looking at the Drum and Bell Towers. We felt quite safe walking home quite late into the night even though we had to go through an alley to get to the apartment unit. A block into the alley from the main road is a hole in wall convenience store and the apartment units had security guards.

Upon arrival at the apartment, Aunty Yang (Mei's mom) greeted us warmly at the door and offered to help us with the luggage. Once we settled in, we 'settled up' and were provided with business cards, cell phone, and maps of attractions. Both apartments were spacious and well furnished.

It was quite cold in Xian but the units were warm with radiant heating. Our 2 bdrm unit only had a electric hotplate but our friends' 1 bdrm had a full stove. Didn't use the kitchens much because we wanted to try all the ethnic specialities available to us in Xi'an. However, the bottled water unit (with heated dispenser) was a godsend for coffee/tea/midnight instant noodles. Our unit's internet was wired which we didn't bother with. To check email/use the internet, we went to our friend's unit down the hall that had wifii or just stood in the hallway in front of their unit. Our children enjoyed the dvds provided. Ample linen was provided.

Cleanliness: I read some other posts about cleanliness and felt that I should give a balanced opinion. The landlords do try to keep the units clean and I noticed that Aunty Yang comes in to tidy up each day (even though this is a self-catering unit). However, they are limited by a) the water in Xi'an which left tend to leave scales on bathroom fixtures, b) the construction in the city which made things dusty very quickly (we certainly trekked dust and mud back each day), and c) the quality of construction in China. Don't know what they can do about the scales except eventually replace the fixtures. Shower is very similar to other showers in Asia and Europe. Plenty of hot water. There was a faint sewer smell emanting from the drain on the shower floor each morning. This is due to the lack of U-joints in Chinese plumbing which is prevalent (some 4 star hotels in China over 3 years old not built/managed by foreign companies has the same smell). Just light a match or an incense stick and the smell will be gone. And disposing of toilet paper in the bin instead of flusing down the toilet - an adjustment but that is the reality of millions of people. We had a minor incident of a screw coming off in one of the radiators suddenly. We decided to mop up and tightened the little screw rather than call our landlord. Aunty Yang was very thankful and immediately called in someone to check on the radiators. We wanted our children to have cultural experience of living in a home and that often entailed working out some kinks on our own.

About our landlords: Mei's parents were a cute retired couple who lived at another unit on the same floor. Aunty Yang was especially sweet. The laundry was self-serve (at 20 RMB) but she was very kind and hung up our clothes for us. She offered us buns on arrival and then bought us these awesome hot crispy Chinese donuts one morning. When I said I really liked them, she bought more (along with fresh hot soya milk) for our farewell breakfast. Sandy was very helpful when I got lost and called her one evening.

All in, staying HQ Guesthouse was a great experience for our group and I would definitely recommend it for anyone who want to feel like they are staying in a place with friends rather than at a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xiamen, China
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

This was my second visit to Xi'an over the past year, before with friends/co-workers this visit was with my parents. I was very glad we chose to stay here. The location and the wonderful staff make it a wonderful Xi'an choice. Also, because there were three adults, this was a very affordable option without needing to book two hotel rooms (many Xi'an hotels say they will not add a cot or anything to a room).

The location is fantastic - minutes from the Muslim Quarter, so close to food, shopping, and many main sights in Xi'an. One warning: it is back down some smaller, dark streets. Although there were always people coming in and out there, if I had been on my own I might have taken a rickshaw in (as I saw some single women doing).

The staff is wonderful - helpful, accomodating, and Sandy made a great (and we feel reasonablly priced) guide for our Terra Cotta Warriors tour (the tour does include two 'shopping' stops, but we found them interesting and informative too, with artists to see at work at one and seeing the silk process at the other). We had them arrange our airport transportation. They were cheaper than the taxi I took the last time I was in Xi'an, plus then we knew they'd know where we were going, which could be difficult to explain otherwise if you don't speak good Mandarin.

The space you get in the apartment is great. We were in the two-bedroom. Nice couch to lounge on, a sunroom/laundry area (had it been warmer), one larger room, one a little smaller, but both with wardrobes and beds that can accomodate two people.

As to facilities: the bathroom is a normal Chinese apartment bathroom - so, all one room, not full separation like we are used to in Western countries. I was okay with this, since I've lived in China for awhile, it did bother my parents that everything got wet. The kitchen is fine - it covers the basics. I was actually surprised by all we got - they have instant coffee, tea, and towels all provided. Mei's mother also brought us fresh fruit after we asked about where to go buy some ourselves. We were there at the heart of winter, so it was cold. They have heaters and offered us an extra one for while we there. With them and the blankets, we were fine, but the smaller bedroom in particular did get fairly cold.

Great, spacious place with a wonderful staff!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The HQ guesthouse is located about 3 minutes away from the Muslim quarter. We were greeted by Mei's friend Sandy and Mei's mother at the metro station. We had taken the train from Louyang and took the metro into the city since it's much cheaper than a taxi. 3 Yuan each. The metro is about 5 minutes from the HQ.

The apartments are located in a fairly new residential complex. The apartment is fully furnished except there is no microwave. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was huge.

The bathroom is tiny compared to the rest of the apartment and there isn't a separate shower area, the water runs all over the floor requiring you to mop up after wards. Also there is a good selection of dvd's and cd's for use but why not add a tv to the wall? There is more than enough space for a tv.

The internet access was hit and miss, sometimes it was really fast but other times it would take forever to get on. Same issue with wifi.

Sandy and Mei's mother were very helpful with any questions we had about Xian or the apartment.

Would definitely stay here again if I was in Xian.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

The perfect combination of price and quality. Modern apartment in a residential building in the heart of the city, close to the Muslim quarter (5 minutes by walk). Apartments are large, with a kitchen, balcony and free internet. The hosts are very attentive people. During our stay they supplied us with a map, a mobile phone for local calls.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq

Address: Building A, Hong Cheng International Apartment Complex, Xi Hua Men, Xi'an 710003, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hq Guesthouse Xian: Boutique accommodation for families, couples and independent travelers of all ages located in the centre of Xian. Offers bunks, double rooms with balconies or your own self contained 100m2 apartment near Muslim Qtr, absolutely perfect for families. Spacious, cozy, clean and extremely central: experience absolute comfort for a fraction of the usual cost. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.