We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be Back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Xi'an
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq
Save
You added Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq to your Saves list
Building A, Hong Cheng International Apartment Complex, Xi Hua Men, Xi'an 710003, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 249 Xi'an B&B and Inns
4.5 of 5 stars 86 Reviews
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“We'll be Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011 via mobile

HQ apartment is one of our favorite apartments in China. A hugh 2 bedroom apartment with  a hugh living room. All rooms in our apartment have their own balconies, very handy if you want a bit of privacy after a long journey with a bunch of talkative friends.  

Mei, the owner who lives in the same building, arranges all the pick ups,  rented car etc. for us.
It is only a 3 minute walk to the big mosque area (near the  Bell Tower and the Drum Tower) with all the shops and restaurants.

Our wish list for the apartment is a stove in the kitchen. As the apartment comes without breakfast, a stove would be handy for a Thai or other non-Chinese breakfast. Though we love the local market nearby, to be able to do some other alternative cooking is a bonus for those with a few day stay.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    30
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
17
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

The HQ Guesthouse is a series of apartments in a residential building, owned by Todd and Mei. If you're looking for a 5-star hotel, this isn't for you. But if you just want a clean place to sleep, some friendly helpful hosts, and a fantastic location for sight-seeing at a great price, this is perfect.

The apartment is in the center of the city walls and is about a 2 or 3 minute walk from the Muslim quarter and night market. We ate our way through the market on our 1st evening for dinner, sampling whatever looked good from the street vendors. A little farther of a walk takes you easily to the Bell and Drum towers, and a bit farther to the South Gate of the city walls. (Ride the bikes around the top!) The restaurant district and Great Mosque are also not too far away to walk. The whole neighborhood is just small and twisty, so follow your maps closely.

We arranged a tour through Mei to the terra cotta warriors as well as to the Hanyangling museum / tomb of Emperor Jindi, which honestly impressed us more than the famous terra cotta warriors. Sandy was our guide and she was very knowledgeable and friendly. We also arranged round-trip airport transportation and were very glad we took advantage of that. On the way back to the airport, we probably would have been fine grabbing a taxi on our own, except our flight was very early in the morning and we weren't sure if we could find one.

We found Mei to be very receptive and helpful. Staying in this sort of place, you can see how locals live, and I always appreciate seeing that slice of life when I travel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011 via mobile

My parents, brother (8) and I (12) stayed here for a few nights. To start, the apartment was roomy and there was space to relax unlike most hotels. The beds weren't bad. But I do have to say the service wasn't very good. Most of the information they gave (like on restaurant locations) were far incorrect. One time we went to ask them a question and Mei answered the door by shushing us, and left us standing there, returning a few minutes later. They told us to wait to book our train tickets before we arrived and when we did arrive and we went to book the tickets our train was all sold out. As for the rooms, they were clean although the walls were a little dirty. The toilet/bathroom had a disgusting smell (sewer?). My Dad unclogged the sink to find a big clot gross ball thing. was clear that at some point, there was effort in this but now the effort is gone and the rooms and buisness itself seem neglected. The location is in the middle of a cluster of rundown apartment buildings. TheThey did provide a computer, high speed wi-fi, a wicked music collection, lots of movies (to be watched on the computer), and a guitar which was fun.Our stay at the Hq wasn't bad but wasn't good either.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We arrived in xi'an by train and were met by Sandy who was to be our hostess as Todd and Mei were away. She took us to the apartment by cab. It is tucked away on back streets but only about two minutes from North street and two minutes from the Muslim quarter. It is a great location. We walked all over. There are lots of shops and restaurants in the area and we felt very safe.

Our apartment was just fine and huge. It looked out over a school and it was interesting to watch the kids during their breaks. There was a computer and Wi-Fi. Sandy made sure we were comfortable.

We took a full day tour with her and were very pleased. She also arranged for a drive to the airport very early in the morning the day we left.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

We absolutely loved our stay at Hq Apartments. Mei and Todd are fantastic and offer excellent advice for how to best spend your time in Xian. They made themselves available to us at all times and for all types of questions. The location of the apartment is perfect! You won't find a better place to stay in Xian!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

The guesthouse is a series of apartments. Ours for 3 people was a huge 2 bedroom with a queen in one room and a queen and bunkbed in the other. There was a small kitchen and dining room (which we never used) and a living room with free computer and internet and of course a bathroom with shower. The apartment was clean and roomy. Only down side might be a little maintenance was required on a few small items but nothing that interfered with our stay. Location was excellent within easy walking distance to the Moslim Qtr. as well as the Bell & Drum tower and to the City Wall. And the Italian restaurant that Todd recommended was excellent.
Only thing to be aware of can be the difficulty in finding this place. It is inside an inconspicous looking local apartment building.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Our accommodation was clean and well equipped, in a nice modern building.The location is perfect, very central, within walking distance to excellent restaurants,shops, tourist attractions. The big plus here are the owners, Todd and Mei. They make you feel welcome and are more than happy to assist you with your requests. They know and love their city. We asked them to buy train tickets for us, they had them ready as soon as we checked in. Later the same train was cancelled, and they helped us find a travel agency nearby to check on alternative trains or plane tickets. We would definitely come back .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq

Address: Building A, Hong Cheng International Apartment Complex, Xi Hua Men, Xi'an 710003, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 249 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hq Guesthouse Xian: Boutique accommodation for families, couples and independent travelers of all ages located in the centre of Xian. Offers bunks, double rooms with balconies or your own self contained 100m2 apartment near Muslim Qtr, absolutely perfect for families. Spacious, cozy, clean and extremely central: experience absolute comfort for a fraction of the usual cost. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.