We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wendy Wu in Xi'an” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Dynasty Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added King Dynasty Hotel to your Saves list
King Dynasty Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Daqing Road, Xi'an 710082, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 2,158 Hotels in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 283 Reviews
Rugby
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wendy Wu in Xi'an”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

On the way we visited the Small Goose Pagoda (dates from 707 – Tang Dynasty. Best photos from the bell side).
14-15 Oct: King Dynasty Hotel: The hotel has an excellent position overlooking the city wall near the West Gate. No negative issues with the hotel - breakfast, bed, room, fridge, room temperature wer all fine. Friendly hotel staff. Not just the hotel, but the whole city seemed to make you welcome. Room 1642 is a side room towards the front and you can see the ring road and North Gate of the city wall. Traffic watching was entertaining. A car broke down on the 6 lane southbound road. Traffic just moved out and around it - most without indicating. Someone crawled under to fix it. Two lanes were out of action. It barely interrupted the flow, traffic moved out of the affected lanes mostly without indicating. The other lanes just let them in.
I went to the small shop just outside and to the right (as you come out) of the hotel. A 600 ml bottle of beer was 2.5 yuan (25p)!! they use a bar code reader so you know you are paying the correct price.
15th: Visit to the Terracotta Warriors (wow – enough said by others), the Shaanxi Museum (I really enjoyed e.g. a carved bone skull between 5 and 7 thousand years old, small terracotta warriors, Zhongshan Grotto – not all did) and a pearl factory (expecting this to be a waste of time but it was good and my wife bought a beautiful pair of gold pearl ear rings that we will always treasure).
Optional (you pay) was a night our of the city – really worthwhile and another side to the historic city – Las Vegas in China – including the lights and the Downtown ceiling video experience. We got to see the Large Goose Pagoda and if you didn’t do the trip you didn’t see it.
16th: Visited the Muslim Quarter (Unpleasant smells but enjoyable experience). Lots of bargaining and the first chance to buy a Rolex for £5 – more would follow. Reviews say you should pay a quarter of the start price – I would suggest much less – often about 10%. A useful tip is to watch someone bargain them down to a price they pay. You then use this as their start price and bargain down from this. Even if they let you walk away, they are often still watching in case you wobble – and if you do not they may come after you.

Room Tip: I only saw room 1642. It suited us fine. The view is fine and the noise level OK. A full on front ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    154
    65
    23
    5
See reviews for
20
70
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour of China. The hotel was clean but tired and in need of renovation and too many insects flying around the bathroom for my liking. That said, the rooms were very spacious. The hotel is in walking distance of the Muslim centre but located on a busy roundabout. The hotel was full the first night and breakfast could only be described as chaotic. There were additional table set up at the back of reception - but trying to get cutlery, tea/coffee was nearly impossible. The second morning wasn't as bad , but out of all the hotels we stayed in, this one had the least choice. It was fine for a 2 night stopover, but would be very disappointed if I was staying any longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The hotel is not that nice located. The view was a good one, on the city wall, but it was very, very noisy starting from 7 o'clock in the morning. A big junction is near so the horns sound right into your ears.The taxi to the center was not expensive.
The room was very large, old furniture, but ok. A problem - as in most of the hotels - is the smell inside. Here the carpet I believe was the problem. The most annoying thing was that after the first night there I had some itches on my body and some small red dots on my legs. The next morning I found the cause: some small insects in the bathroom that looked like flees with wings. It took me 2 weeks until I managed to get rid of the itches.
The towels looked like rugs - not all of them, but most of them.
The staff was ok.
Don't give them the card for deposit, give them cash! They unblocked my money after one month even tough they gave the receipt upon leaving as the money were unblocked.
Go and take the taxi from the street, don't order it at the reception.
The breakfast was one of the best we had in China: a large variety, American/European breakfast, fresh products, helpful waitress. We also had one dinner: very expensive, and disappointing not because of the food (the food was ok) but because they actually took what we ordered (duck breast) from the containers that were on the designated tables for the persons that had the dinner included in the hotel rate. And they sell it to us at a triple price!

Room Tip: If they have, ask for a room that will not front the street in case you want to sleep well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel was more basic than others we stayed in on our tour. Still comfortable and a good nights sleep was had. This was the first hotel where we were bitten while we slept. Free wifi in lobby area.

Good variety for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Big hotel at a very busy junction....with a big name! Even with a room at the back of the hotel and on floor 17 the street and traffic noise was huge andvthe room was very hot. Ancient furnishings of course. The radio was a time piece as was the TV. Breakfast was a rammy. Handy small, very small shop next door to get water and beer. Hotel is close to the spectular city wall which is splendid at night.

Room Tip: Hmmn. Maybe they had exceutive rooms tucked away some where
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel would pass for a 2* as it was generally very grubby and their health & Safety needs a review as our room had 2 exposed electrical cables joined with tape. The staff could speak very little English, not even understanding knife, fork, spoon, cup etc. The were also very badly trained (At breakfast I caught one blatantly picking his nose, both nostrils, then flicking it on the floor!). The bed was more of a board but apparently this is normal in China.
The best thing about it was he roundabout in front of the hotel. Many spare minutes spent in amazement as the Chinese dice with death going around it, both ways & on foot!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on a Wendy Wu "wonders of china" tour last month (Sept 2013).

Was in a twin room which was rather large.

Beds are hard but that's standard in China, but wasn't a problem for a great night's sleep.

Supermarket within 10min walk.

wifi only in the downstairs lobby.

Hire a bike and ride along the City Wall. A lot of fun.

Room Tip: room overlooking the city I liked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King Dynasty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Dynasty Hotel

Address: No.1 Daqing Road, Xi'an 710082, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#53 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — King Dynasty Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Orbitz so you can book your King Dynasty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Dynasty Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Dynasty Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.