We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grubby hotel with entertaining roundabout outside” 2 of 5 stars
Review of King Dynasty Hotel

Save Saved
You added King Dynasty Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
King Dynasty Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Daqing Road, Xi'an 710082, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 1,990 hotels in Xi'an
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Grubby hotel with entertaining roundabout outside”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel would pass for a 2* as it was generally very grubby and their health & Safety needs a review as our room had 2 exposed electrical cables joined with tape. The staff could speak very little English, not even understanding knife, fork, spoon, cup etc. The were also very badly trained (At breakfast I caught one blatantly picking his nose, both nostrils, then flicking it on the floor!). The bed was more of a board but apparently this is normal in China.
The best thing about it was he roundabout in front of the hotel. Many spare minutes spent in amazement as the Chinese dice with death going around it, both ways & on foot!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    152
    61
    21
    3
See reviews for
19
64
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on a Wendy Wu "wonders of china" tour last month (Sept 2013).

Was in a twin room which was rather large.

Beds are hard but that's standard in China, but wasn't a problem for a great night's sleep.

Supermarket within 10min walk.

wifi only in the downstairs lobby.

Hire a bike and ride along the City Wall. A lot of fun.

Room Tip: room overlooking the city I liked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel as part of a Wendy Wu tour. The hotel on face value looked ok when we arrived, but it was downhill from there.

Whilst I expected the beds to be hard, and I like a firm mattress, I think it would have been softer sleeping on the floor. Luckily I was in a room on my own, and could sleep on the doona with the other 1/2 to cover me. Not ideal, but it was a bit better.

The first morning there, my toilet flooded, not pretty or nice, and whilst they sent someone up to fix it fairly quickly, I'm not convinced they cleaned the bathroom very well afterwards. Several other members of my group had similar issues.

The food was very average, but ok. Don't expect anything exciting there unless you want Chinese food for breakfast. Their idea of western food leaves a lot to be desired.

Overall, the hotel was tired, not particularly clean feeling and as others have mentioned, in need of an overall.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel was probably once very grand but sadly it no longer is. The room was huge with a very large bed (firm but ok) and a large bathroom, the breakfast was ok, and the hotel is close to the city walls but this is where the positive ends.
The rooms are all very tired and badly need a makeover, the carpet was filthy and there was a significant amount of mould in the bathroom which could have been improved dramatically simply by replacing the silicone around the shower and bathroom fittings. The shower leaked and flooded the bathroom floor. The air conditioning was useless. The place stunk of cigarette smoke and the windows and curtains were dirty.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone not on an organised tour and therefore has a choice of where to stay. Unfortunately we did not have this choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Driving up to the hotel we felt it has potential. Good location and impressive entrance. But as we entered we felt the neglect and the dire need for renovation. I can understand that hotel is not up to date with renovation, yet the King Dynasty was simply neglected and dirty. Did not have any noise problem but would not stay there in its current condition.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here on our tour of china, very good location close to the city wall. Its on a busy roundabout some people said it was noisy but our room was on the back so it was nice and quiet.
Breakfast was ok nothing to shout about. The bedroms were a little tired and the bathroom door needed revarnishing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

As others have noted this has a very impressive entrance hall but this is necessary to accommodate all guests at breakfast time. The rooms appeared quite nice but we had to move at midnight on our first night when the toilet started to flood the bathroom floor. However the reception staff were quick to find us another room and apologised profusely. Breakfast was very busy and staff were slow to replenish empty dishes and bread. The selection was good and the egg station was OK.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King Dynasty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Dynasty Hotel

Address: No.1 Daqing Road, Xi'an 710082, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#68 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — King Dynasty Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, HotelsClick, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your King Dynasty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Dynasty Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Dynasty Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.