We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Dynasty Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Agoda.com
and 6 more sites!
King Dynasty Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Daqing Road, Xi'an 710082, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 1,849 hotels in Xi'an
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“very good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

a very good hotel .. well .. kinda big hotel .. even I wasn't able to cover all places inside it during my stay .. with big rooms but the service is not as good as the place itself but still acceptable
food quality is good (choose all sea food you can find there)
the location is great and you can walk to alot of wonderful places on foot from there

Room Tip: choose rooms on higher floors (the street noise is not good) and choose the room on the street for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    148
    56
    21
    3
See reviews for
18
58
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

This was my second hotel I stayed in whilst in China. Again I have fairly similar comments to my other reviewed hotels. My bathroom was clean although the room itself was slightly unclean. The carpet needed a good clean! Whilst being on a non smoking floor, I could still smell stale smoke. From the three hotels this hotel was particularly bad.

Breakfast provided a good choice or cereal, pastries and fruit with good service from staff in providing tea and coffee and clearing tables.

This hotel was the only hotel which provided free wi-fi, which was great for getting in contact with people from home.

If I were to return to Xi'an I would stay in a more centrally located hotel, as it wasn't near any sites of interest.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This is probably the best local Chinese hotel I've stayed in. It is rated a local 5-star, which is supposed to be an international 4-star standard.

Room was clean with new shower provisions topped up everyday. Room was big but with most local hotels, are not very brightly lit. I liked the room and that I could finally get CNN on their cable tv.

Food in the cafe was pretty decent. Service quality, as with most local establishments, is poor. You do need to manage your expectations when it comes to service quality in China. It's just not quite there yet.

WiFi is only available in the hotel lobby. Free wired internet is provided in all rooms. No subway yet but expect it right below in a few years time. I think that will then make this hotel more convenient. Hotel made the effort to list the bus numbers to take to tourist attractions, which is good. But they could take the additional step to have the same listing in English.

There are several eating establishments as well as a supermarket about 10min walk away, so that's good as well.
.
Overall I did enjoy my stay in this hotel and will keep it in mind for subsequent trips.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The hotel looked ok from the outside but not so impressive on the inside, the first night the lifts broke down and we were on the 18 floor so had to use the stairs and took the hotel ages to sort this out. The rooms were tatty and needing modernization. The breakfast room was not big enough and lacked in tables. Another hotel with cold breakfasts and very little choice. I ran a bath on one of the nights there only to find i had a bath of brown dirty water, this happened twice before giving up. The location of the hotel is not to bad you do have a supermarket close buy and a few shops. If you are looking for the internet it works if you are lucky only in reception but if you want a UK website forget it. Staff do not speak English so difficult to get yourself understood

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The good: this hotel is strategically located on the north-western side of the city wall (across the road), which means it's close to the main roads out of the city, to the city's city-wall park (which goes around the old town, 13.4Km) and close to the city centre. There is a helpful concierge (especially when you have to take a taxi somewhere!). Two ATM machines next to the building (both sides);

The so-so: some rooms are better than others, so if you're not happy, let them change your floor. The restaurants is also so-so and a lazy staff. Breakfast usually overcrowded, try to be there on time. The lobby bar is pretty lame, but better than other places I've been.

the bad: there is a small swimming pool in the basement; there is a noisy KTV on the 5th floor and a pretty bad massage-SPA on the 6th.

tip: a good place nearby to eat: from the reception cross the street and walk southwards (right side) in the park, after 300m in the middle of the park a nice modern chinese restaurant with imported wine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilydale, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel was nice enough staff were friendly but the air con did not work,There is a made dash for breakfast, No where near enough tables for the number of guests. By the time we got to our seat our breakfast was cold, drink prices were a bit high,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Two thirds of the way through our tour so this was surprising to find the bed was not so hard.
good complimentaries, catered for Western & Eastern breakfasts, quiet, central shopping, supermarket 10 mins away, had trouble with the internet,lighting not the best. Had a nice view out to the pool and garden.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King Dynasty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Dynasty Hotel

Also Known As:
King Dynasty Hotel China/Shaanxi
Address: No.1 Daqing Road, Xi'an 710082, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#86 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — King Dynasty Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your King Dynasty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Dynasty Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added King Dynasty Hotel to your Saves list