We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sleep, quiet, well situated hotel, good English speaking polite staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Save Saved
You added Mercure Xian on Renmin Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 2,042 hotels in Xi'an
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Excellent sleep, quiet, well situated hotel, good English speaking polite staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I booked thru expedia. I pre-paid ~$160 US $ for 3 nights stay. It didnt not included breakfast.
I am a solo traveler and stayed from May 28 to May 31, 2013.

I dont remember anything but good things about this hotel.

Positives:
*Polite, English speaking staff. Very helpful with directions and maps. One of the best staff in general of all my trip to China. Knowledgeable and always polite. Great English.
*They asked you if you want a taxi or public transporation. I always used the buses, and metro. I basically walked out of the complex, made a right and waited for the # bus that the staff told me. That is how I got into the center of town every day. I believe it was like 1/2 a yuan one way. Then, I will get a bus back and just say "sofitel" and they knew...or show them the little name of the hotel. This is a big complex of 3 hotels with many restaurants. As mentioned before, this is the "cheapest" hotel of the 3.
*Comfortable bed.
*AC Worked fine, plenty of hot water
*Super clean, super nice bed sheets
*Bathroom/Room supplies: Soap, tootbrush, it has a hair dryer, iron, etc,
*Mini refrigerator ...very useful, i found a supermarket and purchased lots of fruits! =)

Tip:
I asked the front desk about the cheapest way to get to the airport. And they told me that in front of a hotel (sorry, I dont rember the name of the hotel, but is across the street from the Bell tower plaza....the same plaza that has the starkbucks and the Haagen Dazs) a bus departs every 20 min. And, it was very cheap. I am guessing less than $8US. Is one of those big "touristic" buses..and it gets busy quick...but they have 1 every 20min, so just leave with enough time that you will make it. Then, is a direct route to the airport.

Xian was one of my favorites cities in China. The Metro was being constructed and expanded. I dont speak any chinesse/etc and was able to travel alone and used the public transportation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    211
    67
    9
    7
See reviews for
70
177
42
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 6 nights during China golden week. The hotel is part of the Sofitel complex that is in a quiet and serene area whilst it is still easily access to the main train station and other famous landmark like Bell Tower. There is a fair bit of walk to very central downtown but the recently opened underground (line 1) is just 10 -15 mins walk from the hotel. Public buses are available but it will not be easy for foreigners. Other than that, the hotel is very much value for money, clean with modern shower, free and fast wifi, professional counter services. Taxi can be arranged in advance and the taxi driver arrived on time (despite he tried to overcharge, not the fault of the hotel). I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us.We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the facilities and services of the hotel lived up to your expectation.

Once again we thank you for sharing with us your experience, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel is great value for money and is ideally situated. We arrived late at night and the taxi driver did have trouble finding the place although we did have the name and address written in Chinese. We had booked a standard room however as they were fully booked we were upgraded to a suite, which we did not complain about. We found the staff very pleasant and helpful with sufficent English to make communication easy. During our stay my husband celebrated his birthday and the hotel sent a birthday cake to our room which was a very nice gesture. We did not realise that Renmin Square was an enclosed area containing two other hotels (Sofitel & Grand Mecure) and associated restaurants. This was a big bonus as the Mecure on Renmin, which is the poor cousin of the other two, is siutated further back in the complex and was very quiet with no traffic noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mercure Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At Mercure, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it..

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have stayed for 3 nights and got an upgrade to a deluxe suite. The beds are very comfortable. The bathroom is equipped with more than expected amenities. The reception staff is very friendly. The breakfast buffet is fine and also here they have very nice staff. Public bus stops near the hotel and the hotel is within walking distance of some shopping malls and the belltower.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the frontside of the building (courtyard) because of the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Room was fine, but average. No issues with it whatsoever. We were endlessly amused by the concierge, who helped up booking a private car for the Terracotta Warriors. They also booked overnight train tickets to Beijing...not easy to do from outside the country in the time period specified. One complaint is that it seems like they have a difficult time calling taxis between 5-8 pm, though that might be a general truth i the city of Xi'an. A bit far to walk anywhere, but this is a sprawling city!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mercure Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At Mercure, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it..

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

i was booked in mercure (not to be confused with grand mercure) at the renmin square. i would say it was a memorable experience. the rooms were very spacious and nicely set. the room service was remarkable

i would like to mention about one bell boy, Andy. he was exceptional and very helpful. he could speak pretty good english, better than the receptionist atleast. so it was easier to get some information out of it.

Room Tip: take the deluxe rooms with 2 separate beds if you are staying more than 1 per room its much better t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the facilities and services of the hotel lived up to your expectation.

I particularly appreciated your giving me the name of people who excelled and it was a great pleasure to share your compliments with Andy. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our ambassadors as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Your sincerely,

Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmen,
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed here for one night, booked on company rate

I had a late evening flight which was delayed. Called the hotel and they said will keep my reserved room; even told me they would upgrade me free to suite. Upon arrival 1:30am the check-in was quick and efficient.

Room was very spacious and OK. Sleeping quality of the bed Soft (I liked). Shower/bath-combination had powerful water supply; all amenities available. Internet fasts. Breakfast very wide assorted Westerner choice and Chinese choice. TV on suite and bedroom, but did not watch since was late arrive and wanted to go sleep on arrival.

This hotel actually is very well located in the city center, close to Bell towers. It is part of bigger complex with other hotels same group “Sofitel” and “Grand Mercure”. Stayed here 4 years ago in Sofitel. Would choose Mercure next time again… you can make use of all the facilities offered also to Sofitel and Grand Mercure guests; you only have to walk a little bit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us.We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the facilities and services of the hotel lived up to your expectation.

Once again we thank you for sharing with us your experience, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#14 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#45 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Xian on Renmin Square 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure on Renmin Square Xian is a comfortable, elegantly appointed hotel, featuring 113 rooms, as well as dining and meeting facilities. Located in the grounds of Renmin Square, in the heart of the commercial and government district, the hotel is minutes away from the major shopping centres and cultural sites and is ideal for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Mercure Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure On Renmin Square Xian Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Mercure Hotel Xi An
Mercure Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.